We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Presidential Suites by Lifestyle(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$170
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$173
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$330
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$268
US$242
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VH Atmosphere - Adults Only - All Inclusive(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$217
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,653)
Filter reviews
3,653 results
Traveller rating
1,317
1,124
647
318
247
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
1,124
647
318
247
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya doradablack pantherentertainment staffsnack barbeach vendorsdominican republicchickena la cartenightly entertainmentorange marketrecommend this resortresort staffpicky eaterlobstergreat triphave a good timerum factory
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 3,653 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We went as big group of 17 thinking we were going to a real paradise, unfortunately was completely the opposite. We booked for 7 days thinking we wouldn't have enough time to enjoy our vacation, however by the third day we all were ready to leave, bored, had horrible service. Phone line was not working in our rooms, TV was not working, food was old and repetitive each meal got everyone sick. Entertainment was very poor same entertainment each day, shows were cancelled, unorganized activities. on the website it is advertised free WiFi which is not the case it cost $38 us/7 days. The drinks were too sweet can't taste the alcohol. Whatever they advertise is not what you get. Children services were only for couple of hours not the whole day, and nothing planned there, kids were not engaged. will never go there again...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angelica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear guest,
Grand Paradise sincerely appreciates your comments because our priority is to provide the best possible services to all our visitors. We apologize for not satisfying your expectation during your recent vacation, but we are certain that we would be able to so in the future, because the general consensus of all visitors is a very high level of satisfaction.
Thank you again for your comments, and we assure you that we will work very hard to improve on the observations you made.
Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

After staying at this resort for a number of years for vacation,We arrived to find the shady area of the beach transformed into the Select Club section. This section is an extra cost and like a private members club. If you wanted any shadewhile on the beach you had to go to the other side of the resort where the beach is winder. This was a big disapointment for our group. As for the rest of the resort and services, these were good and We had no problems.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear guest,
Grand Paradise sincerely appreciates your comments because our priority is to provide the best possible services to all our visitors. We apologize for not satisfying your expectation during your recent vacation, but we are certain that we would be able to so in the future, because the general consensus of all visitors is a very high level of satisfaction.
Thank you again for your comments, and we assure you that we will work very hard to improve on the observations you made.
Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I must say that this resort is probably in the top two best places I've been to. Very clean, the food was great, and the service was top notch. Best bargain and everyone was very nice to us. Especially Francis at the reception desk. He was very courteous and made sure we were taken care of. Definitely will make another stay at Grand Paradise.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Charlie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

It is very gratifying to received acknowledgments from visitors like you that highlight the wonderful time they spent on their vacation at the Grand Paradise.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

First time in DR and honestly I love it!! The people are great, respectful and professional. The pool/beach view is very relaxing including the environment. If it wasn't for the "entertainment team" the place would be a down low. Thanks to them and their professional activities for making my girlfriend & I feeling comfortable and at home. This is the place to be a next vacation here will be for sure.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

It is very gratifying to received acknowledgments from visitors like you that highlight the wonderful time they spent on their vacation at the Grand Paradise.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Here it is the last week of September with us into autumn and we are getting July type weather with temperature of 31 degrees Celcius and it feels higher thanks to the humidity.

Now if only we could have this type weather for another month or so then I could go from summer like temperatures here in Canada to summer type weather at Grand Paradise, Dominican Republic, for 3 months before returning to Canada.

This will be my 12th winter spending most of the winter at Grand Paradise, away from the cold Canadian weather.

As you can guess I like it at Grand Paradise, not only because of the warm weather, but because it has become like a second home for me but also because of the friendly and helpful staff, good food and the relaxed atmosphere.

I am looking forward to my next trip come the first week of January, 2018.

Room Tip: Take U.S. one dollar bills for tiping or get local currency as coins from other countries are no good as local banks will not accept coins.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank bobrjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis I, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

The Grand Paradise appreciate very much when the clients takes the time from their busy schedule to write to us expressing their satisfaction. Our staff works very hard to insure that our clients are satisfied with the services of the hotel, and for them this is very gratifying.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews