We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vacation”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just returned from a 7 day vacation at Royal Suites Turquesa (2/5-2/12). This is my 5th time to the Dominican and first time at Royal Suites. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite as it turned out to be our engagement vacation! The suite was nothing over the top and honestly I don't believe we received many of the perks we should have. The concept of a butler is non existent. We had 3 over the course of 1 week and unless we needed them, we never saw them.

Overall, glad we came, would not come back due to lack of personal attention and the enormity of the resort (Trolley everywhere)

Pros:
-Royal Suites patrons have a private area that the rest of the resort cannot use.
-Royal Suites has 2 private restaurants that do not need reservations (still can be a wait and still need long pants for men)
-Restaurant 1: Royal Gourmet - HORRIBLE! Ate there for breakfast and dinner the first day and never went back
-Restaurant 2: Le Chanterelle - Our favorite in the resort overall. Definitely order the Chateaubriand for 2. We went 2 times - delicious!
-The property is very well maintained, beautiful beach and pool is clean. If you are not out by the pool or beach by 9am, latest, you will not get a desirable chair location.
-Best place for lunch is a quick walk down the beach to the Bohia Buffet.. not part of Royal Suites, but not as many kids as the other buffets and still good food.
-Couples massages on the beach were well worth it at a good deal of $139USD/couple. Fantastic! We did this twice

Cons:
- Room Service is beyond anything even edible.. do not order it (only the pizza is decent)
- Breakfast on the resort is not very good
- The resort is very very very large. You need to take a trolley anywhere you want to go other than a few things in Royal Suites
- Only 1 ATM machine in the entire Palladium resort and it only dispenses Pesos...
- Very loud obnoxious Russian groups invaded the Royal Suites the week we were there and truly ruined several beach days (and upon reading other reviews, this seems to be an ongoing issue)
- If your looking for nightlife or anything exciting to do after dinner, do not count on it. However, after a day in the sun and drinking, a night out isn't very necessary
- Book dinner reservations ahead of time. The day we arrived, we were told all restaurants were sold out. Half way thru our trip, we realized we didn't always need reservations because we were Royal Suites patrons, but still had to wait about 20 min.

Restaurants on resort that we tried were: (need pants for all, except buffets)
- Rodizio - pretty good meat selection and tasty food
- Arrecife - Steak/Seafood: not very good - would not go back. If you are from the Northeast, do not get the lobsters as they are spiny lobsters and not what you would expect.
- Le Chanterelle - Royal Suites only - fantastic.. get the fondue and Chateaubriand.
- Royal Gourmet - Not good
- El Torres - our favorite breakfast buffet
- Bohio - our favorite lunch buffet

Random others :
Saona Island excursion - 3 hour bus ride, 2 hour catamaran, and a nice beach.. then the same ride back.. not worth $180 USD.
Photography session at Royal Suites - very well worth it! We had fantastic shots taken for our engagement and would suggest it to anyone who wants great pictures taken of themselves.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the older section of Royal Suites.. the swim ups seemed to be very overrated and those wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,060 - 3,064 of 6,617 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

this trip was awsome. It was our honeymoon and every thing was perfect.We were at the newest part room 5536 the room was so beautiful clean nothing to say. The service was perfect, the food, the drink, the place wow! nothing negative to say. The 2 restaurants à la carte Le gourmet and Le Chanterelle are very good Châteaubriand and langouste miam miam! Champagna everyday the place is very quiet no animation, it,s very peaceful.what else to say that we enjoy every moment we had over there. we will go back for sure.
The beach is so beautiful , the sea is bleu-green and the sand is white. the weather was always 28 C every day.

Room Tip: choose the new section very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simocam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

A bit late with my review. I stayed at the Royal Turquesa in November 2011. This was a girls trip only and my first time to Punta Cana.
The resort is very beautiful and big, but I knew that going in. We were lucky enough to get a swim up suite. We really enjoyed having the swim-up but I think next time I would rather be closer to the beach in the older section. The beach there is just beautiful..pure white sand. I could walk on the beach all day. The food was pretty good except for the Mexican restaurant it was terrible, don't waste your time.
The drinks were very good through out the entire resort. The weather could have been better but that is no ones fault. It was always warm just a lot of rain on this trip. We found the staff to be very nice not overly friendly but not terrible either.
I do hope to return to the resort sometime in the future. While Punta Cana is very nice I think I still like Riviera Maya area better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beachlover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

It would appear the majority of the negative comments are due to the Spanish speaking Dominicans not being totally fluent in American. Not many Canadians or Americans at this resort mostly Europeans. Food was very good at the Royal Suites resturants the swim up rooms are some of the nicest rooms anywhere in the world. Lobster was avialable to Royal suite guests at any of the other resturants and was very good and would be grilled anyway you asked for it. The resort is adults only and there were never any issues with children the beach is private with security guards. Nice touches were the personal pizzas and fruits brought to you on the beach. The only time I had to get a drink in two weeks there was when I wanted to get up and get one pool and beach service was the best I have seen. Service for us was mostly good however we do have limited knowledge of Spanish and that help quite a bit. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Went with 2 other couples - each of us had different rooms, us new section standard king room, the others in new section swim up - Very Nice! and the other couple in a king room in the old section by the pool. The new section is quiet and hotter during the day as it gets less wind off the ocean. The swim up room is a great upgrade - same as ours inside but a lovely deck off the back right into the pool.

So this place is hard to pin down rating wise... The rooms are modern and large, nice furniture, nice modern lobby and the grounds are gorgeous. The beach area is outstanding, especially compared to the other resorts within the palladium complex. Lots of palm trees and tiki umbrellas, loungers and beds - one of the best beaches I've seen at any resort. Usually I lay by the pool, but the beach was the place to be. As for the pool - it was on the cold side. Weather was good, mid 80's sunny everyday, and standing in the pool at the swim up bar was way too cold for me. The Palace pool next door was warmer, but dilapidated in spots.

The staff service was good and bad. Max who checked us in was fantastic and a few other servers were great other than that, rough! Huge language barrier. I called to use the pillow menu 3 times, I was hung up on, then transferred to the wrong person, then I think transferred again to the wrong person because when I tired to order a pillow the man replied " No, pizza, hamburger, fries." I think he thought I wanted room service?? This went on for quite a while. So we never took advantage of the pillows, but my friends said the down pillow was great!
The butlers are non existent. Very tough to make a reservation, as they make them for you. They are only at the desk for a couple hours in the morning to do this, yet ours was rarely seen. We called the extension as the note on the desk advised, only to be hung up on. Another time they spoke some quiet low gibberish and hung up. We called another time and the woman said they were having a "briefing" and to call back in 10 minutes, meanwhile we could hear them watching tv in their little room. We stood around in the boiling heat, called back no answer. We eventually abandoned all hope of using the building 53 service so we'd track down a building that had a butler. Make all your reservations the first morning, as they do fill up. The Mexican Restaurant was good, and the Royal Gourmet was pretty good too. Otherwise I wasn't very impressed with the food. Everything kind of tastes the same, they must put the same seasoning spice in everything?? Veggies were low quality, and surprisingly the fruit wasn't that great either. I lived on bread and meat essentially.
All six of us agreed it wasn't the best food compared to other resorts, with the exception of some good meals of course!
The Japanese show dinner is great too.

The spa is gorgeous - worth going to!

So it was an average experience, the look of the place and beach is 5 star but the service and food is not 5 star. Between the 3 of us there were inconsistencies, margarita pizza from room service was different every night, sometimes delicious, other times gross. Once it never arrived at all. Our breakfast from room service was utterly terrible, our friends had a decent one, so who knows!

I guess for the price of an all inclusive you can't expect the world, but compared to other all inclusive resorts this isn't the ultimate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatdivide11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
25.3 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
21.5 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,936 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
85.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
21.2 km away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM943 - RM2,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing