We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time to DR. Wonderful People and Resort!”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium May 12 - 19th and had a wonderful time! It was our first visit to Punta Cana and booked though Apple and AAA. The reviews are right on for this resort. I don't normally write reviews, but this was exceptional. The staff was fantastic and very friendly! Thomas was always available to take us accross the resort and very helpful! David, our Butler, was very attentive to our needs and made us feel at home in our new surroundings. Theodore, Delores and Denny were very nice at the bar and got us whatever we needed. Morguson with the caffee de leche was there every morning to be sure the coffee didn't go empty and made sure our needs were met at the buffet. The Grand Buffet was a great breakfast for us and Bohio became a favorite for lunch with the patio overlooking the beach. We enjoyed the Steak House, Hibachi, and the French Restaurant. The service at this resort is a perfect compliment to the beauty of the resort.

We stayed in the newer area, building 53. If we were to go back we have decided we would ask for a swim-up or a honeymoon suite up front. We enjoyed the activity of the resort area closer to the beach with the swim-up bar. But if you are looking for quiet the back section is a great choice.

Be sure to take or buy bug spray, I did have quite a few sand flee bites. We bought our tourist card online so that saved us buying at the airport in Punta Cana. And note if you have a connection in the US after customs, you will go though TSA again, so anything over 3 oz will have to go in checked baggage. Even if it is purchased in the duty free stores in Punta Cana.

Would recommend this resort - especially for the staff that makes you feel very special the moment you say hello until you wave goodbye:-) Hope you enjoy your trip and this review helps with your decision!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LizandRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,998 - 3,002 of 6,677 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed from May 12 to May 20. When I originally booked this trip through Jet Blue Vacations I upgraded to a suite, but after reading all the reviews I upgraded to a swim out suite which was well worth the extra $16 dollars a day! We stayed in building 53 and had a corner room which was a room and a half compared to the other rooms. All the employees were very friendly and the butlers for our building were especially helpful ( Juan, Sachenca,Melkey and David ). The waiter service around the pool was also exceptional, refilling drinks, serving pizza,fresh fruit. We ate at the Japanese, Brazilian,Mexican which were all excellent but the Italian was not so great. We stayed on the beach for 3 days, had to get up early to get a palapa 6-7 but no problem finding one that early. I'm an early riser anyway. The only problem with the beach is the the topless European women, i'm no prude but sometimes I just don't want to see them so close:-o. Here's the breakdown...Last year my wife and I stayed at Sandals Whitehouse for our 25th Anniversary and payed twice the price for half the service,so no more Sandals for us due to their tiered service. We liked the Palladium service so they will be our next favorite resort.

Room Tip: Pick a corner swim-out room in building 53 more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank joejewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

After going to sandals, Jamaica last year - my expectations were set very high for this holiday. I am pleased to advise that this hotel fully surpassed my expectations - rooms were brilliant! Pool great, food very good (they made the best paella ever on the beach each lunchtime), beach and sea fabulous - only minor complaint was the Italian restaurant was poor and the room service man was grumpy! Other than that - excellent all round

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was our second time to Punta Cana. The first time we stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana. We have also travelled to All Inclusive’s in Mexico as well. We travelled as a couple between April 26 and May 10 2011. Stayed in room 5310 (Junior Deluxe Swim-up Suite).

Service- Above average compared to other All Inclusive resorts. I think this may partially be due to the fact that the Royal Suites is Adults Only and the most expensive part of the Palladium complex. Travelling to the other hotels on the complex (Punta Cana, Bavaro, Palace) we noticed that the service was not as personal or prompt, but it was still good.

The service at both of the Royal Suites restaurants (Royal Gourmet and Le Chanterelle) was generally very good. There were a couple days where it took a while to get a drink, but otherwise no major problems and excellent service. However, at the a la cartes that were on the other hotel complexes, the service was not as efficient. One disappointment was that when we were at the Italian restaurant, our server took 10 minutes to take our drink order, and when he finally did come with our drinks, he also brought a beer for himself and drank it in front of us. Later in the meal, he asked us if we wanted to purchase marijuana from him. We were not very impressed with the service at this a la carte, but this was really the only instance of bad service that we experienced.

The staff at the front desk are very organized and eager to please. Before our trip, I sent an email to the resort to request a room on the 3rd floor, but received no reply to this email. When we arrived, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a swim-up suite free of charge! The swim-up suites are definitely worth it. Even if you have to pay for it, I would definitely recommend it. NOTE: It is cheaper to upgrade at the resort than to upgrade through your travel company. It is $16 per night to upgrade at the resort, while it is usually hundreds of dollars more to upgrade through a travel agency. However, swim-up suites are very popular, so there is a chance you may not get one if you wait until you arrive to upgrade.

Value- This was the first time we have ever been to an All Inclusive for two weeks. We only paid $800 more for this trip (for two weeks) than we paid to go to the Iberostar for one week last year. For all the amenities and services that you receive at the Royal Suites, the price we paid was definitely worth it.

Sleep Quality- All the beds in the Royal Suites are California King Size beds. They’re massive! We read a lot of reviews that commented that the beds were hard, but we found it perfect. There is also a pillow menu which you can order from a selection of pillows to have on your bed (we tried one of each).

Cleanliness- The housekeeping staff was amazing! They would thoroughly clean our room every day whether we left a tip or not. We were always greeted with fresh flowers on the bed and a full mini-fridge, towels etc. Our maid would not only clean our room, but mop the floors and our patio every day. Very hard working housekeeping staff at this resort.

One issue we did have with cleanliness was the main pool. While our swim-up pool was always pretty clean, the main pool was not. I believe there is something wrong with their filter system, as there was usually debris floating in the pool. However, the pool was not so dirty that you wouldn’t want to swim in it. We still spent many afternoons around the swim-up bar.

Location- You can never go wrong with being located on a beach in Punta Cana. The sand and water were beautiful, although there was a lot of seaweed while we were there, but the staff was out every morning cleaning it up, so it wasn’t a problem.

One note about the beach, is that you must be up SUPER early to be able to get a prime spot on the beach. There is no control of the amount of towels you can take, so people would wake up at 6am, get towels, and reserve chairs (whether or not they intended on using them). Many times we would see reserved chairs that sat empty for an entire day. Since the towels are not controlled, people would leave the towels on the chairs, but other people had no idea if the chairs were reserved or available.

The gardens throughout the resort are AMAZING. Very well-kept and very lush.
The resort is very large, however not too large to get around. There is a trolley that runs throughout the resort. Also, as a Royal Suites guest, you can ask one of the Royal Suites golf carts to take you wherever you want to go if you don’t want to wait for the trolley.

Rooms- Our room was the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed at. The floors were solid marble, gorgeous bed, whirlpool tub. What more could you ask for? The room also comes with 4 bottles of alcohol (vodka, whiskey, gin, rum) for you to enjoy. Just make sure you don’t throw out or take the bottles home with you, or they will charge you for them.

The lobby has free Wi-Fi, as well as computers for you to use free of charge. Also, we brought a laptop and an Ethernet cable, and were able to use the internet in our room as well.

Food- The best food I have ever experienced at an All Inclusive. We mainly stuck to the Royal Gourmet and Le Chanterelle for breakfast and dinner, and had lunch at one of the buffets around the resort complex. The menu at the Royal Gourmet and Le Chanterelle was amazing. Very wide selection of food, all cooked perfectly and presented well.

One perk about being a Royal Suites guest is that you can enjoy Cava and lobster free of charge! The lobster is definitely different if you are used to North Eastern lobster, I didn’t really enjoy it. However I definitely drank my fair share of cava.

If you visit Le Chanterelle, make sure you order the Chateaubriand at least once (we had it 4 or 5 times)!

All in all, I had no major problems or complaints with our trip, which was a first. We will definitely be back at some point in the future (hopefully sooner rather than later).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Zak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

we visited turquesa in April of this yr 2012.overall i felt it was a nice place,had issues with room key and at two in the morning not fun to walk back to lobby.which was a not a short walk from our building then to have it happen three other times gets ya alittle mad..also room service had the worst attitude when ordering and one day never recieved our breakfast..found the staff was not overly friendly which was a huge issue with me .i have traveled and must say this resort got the lowest for that .which is a huge part of ur business,i would say.the rooms were wonderful, sorta clean, mop the floors once in awhile.clean the fridge.our maid got a 5 dollar tip daily all 7 days we stayed.i got no flowers by my tub which saddened me:( was looking for the 5 star resort i signed up for and just didnt get it .sorry to say but true .i loved the majestic elegance FYI adult only section rocks and staff there were so very friendly and helpful. didnt have that experience here .i have stayed at other pallidiums before felt this one lacked .if u wanna fish see bobby has fishing charter right there he was one of the friendiest we met.would not return here though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank densch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
24.6 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM956 - RM2,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing