We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Honeymooners”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

It was my third time visiting Carribeans and I had mixed feelings before visiting this hotel, after reading the reviews, but I've decided to give it a try. It proved to be quite good, with some flaws.

The room:
+ We stayed in the villa nr. 54 and decided that the upper floor will be more private that the swim-up suite. The room was spacious, cleaned twice a day and the fridge was always full. We have asked the bulter few times to give us more soft drinks and it was sent right away. I found the idea of the room delivery through a hidden door very nice, as it gives you some privacy, however the delivered food could be better and the time of delivery (between 40 to 50 minutes) shorter.
- The villa was placed pretty close to the street, which was not a problem during the day. However there was a very loud disco going on during weekends until 4 AM. Unfortunately we had to realise that the first day we have arrived, after 12 hours flight, jet-lagged and desperately trying to fall asleep! If you are not a party person like me, prepare your ear plugs or stay away from the villa 54 during weekends (at least in august)!
+ There were renovations going on around the hotel, but it was not loud nor disturbing.

The beach:
+ For me it is the strongest feature of the hotel. The beach bar was closed under renovation, however drinks and snacks were delivered frequently by the staff to your sunbed. People selling stuff at the beach were not intrusive. The beach was kept clean and there was plenty of shade to hide from the burning sun.

The restaurants:
As TRS guest you have access to all the restaurants and bars around the Palladium resort, but at the end, in my opinion, the best ones are those reserved for the TRS guests - the Royal Gourmet and the Chanterelle.
For lunch, the Royal Gourmet has a quite limited selection of food at the buffet, but thanks to the a la carte menu, which is changing daily, you can have a lot of variety everyday.
From the a la carte restaurants we have tried the Japanese (sushi not recommended!), Brazilian (good if you eat a lot!) and the Mexican restaurant, which were good, but not amazing. I've found the a la carte food at the Mexican restaurant worse that the food at their buffet menu. It was a bit cold, however my husband really liked the food there, so it depends on a person.
The teppanyaki was entertaining. Good thing is that as a royal guest you can book the restaurants with your butler instead of waiting in a long queue, so it is good to do this the first day you arrive. And don't go to Les Torres - the food was horrible!

The staff:
+ Amazingly friendly and helpfull. You feel like they are your friends the moment you get there. It is good to know some Spanish, as a part of the staff does not speak English!. You tip them because you like their service, not because you have to pay them, to get a better one.
The level of service at the buffet restaurant varies depending on the time when you get the. It is better to go there right after they open, when the place is less busy and the staff seem to be more efficient than when the buffet is full.

The swimming pools:
The adults only swimming pool is very relaxing during the day with good drinks and few people around. However, it transforms into a noisy party pool at night, as it is open untill midnight and "party people" gather there to have fun.The swim-up pools placed further from the beach are more relaxing, with easy access to the bar and few people around - good if you want to relax.

Other:
As a TRS guest, you have free access to the water area of the SPA. It is good to give it a try if you want to relax. And the have good selection of fresh fruit and vegetables cocktails.The gym is very well equipped compared to the other Dominican hotels I have been to.

Room Tip: If you want to rest, watch out for villa 54 duing weekends - loud disco outside the resort late at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Izabela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachenca N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Izabela G,

Delighted to read such valuable comments. I believe that each one has the option to build their own experience and I applaud that you have decided to see the positives and enjoying to the fullest what TRS Turquesa Hotel has to offer.
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor aiming to share your perspective with thousands of future visitors. You may rest assured that we will follow up on your remarks.

We hope you'll return soon and often at this your home in Punta Cana. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.

Yours in hospitality,

Sachenca N.
Hopsitality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 6,685 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Excellent customer service "culture". Thanks so much.
Beautiful beaches, pools, Spa service.
They guide you trough your entire stay. Very good work. Happy people everywere.
Restaurants have everything and all you can eat.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank asolorzano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachenca N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Estimado ASolorzano12,

We appreciate that you choose TRS Turquesa Hotel in your first visit to Punta Cana.

Glad to hear that overall it was a good experience and your recommendation is greatly appreciated since it encourages future travelers to visit our destination.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Sachenca N.
Hospitality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited in July with friends and fell in love with this place! Our butler Jose became our friend by the end of the trip and really made the trip special. Request Jose if you can as he genuinely helped us with everything from suggesting the best trips and which companies were the best, to the best restaurants, what we had to see and do, etc. The guy was the best!

The landscaping was immaculate and the service was excellent around the board. Having someone that speaks Spanish is helpful but you can get by with English most of the time. The secrets pool was the place for late night drinks and a fun crowd. The hibachi and French (Baker was our waiter and was great!) restaurants are a must! Our favorite part was definitely the spa. You have to at least visit it but the massages were very reasonable and highly recommended. We also did a swim up suite which was worth every penny. We will definitely be coming back!!! This place is paradise!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarling F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Danny,

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your stay at our TRS Turquesa Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so proud that our gastronomy offer, our landscapes, our hidden jewel The Secret Pool, the recently renovated Zentropia Spa besides the wonderful weather and the excellent services provided by our dear Jose and our staff have surpassed all your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a not very distant future.

Kindest regards from Punta Cana,

Scarling Florian
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Fantastic all-inclusive resort, we had booked a honeymoon suite in the Royal Suites part of the Resort (Adults only), this was amazing, all the staff couldn't do enough for us. Buggys would take you where you wanted to go, so many restaurants to pick from, all wonderful (some restricted to the Royal Suites side - so no children, which is a bonus on a couples holiday) Beautiful beach, as much entertainment as you could handle all over the resort, but always had the tranquillity of the pools in Royal suites side to relax at. Would recommend that much that we are now booked in at the Palladium in Jamaica, so we are really hoping that is just as amazing

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachenca N, Guest Relations Manager at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Sue G,

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your stay at TRS Turquesa Hotel. We really appreciate kind remarks. In fact, we are proud of that our gastronomy offer, accommodation and excellent services provided by our staff have surpassed all your expectations.

We appreciate you have shared your wonderful Honeymoon experience with future travelers regarding our destination.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a not very distant future and thank you for your preference for Palladium Hotel group.

Kind regards,

Sachenca H.
Hospitality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

My partner and I arrived on 10/08/17 and were due to stay at the Palace resort. On arrival we were told we were being upgraded to the Royal Suites. The perks of which include a butler, butler service at the beach/pool, exclusive royal suites buggies, better wifi and exclusive access to the Royal Gourmet and French restaurants.
Our room included a whirlpool bath, free digital safety box, huge bed and sitting room area with access to a more secluded pool. We were in block 56 room 35. We were impressed by the size and standard of our room and our maid (Loly) was amazing, coming twice a day so the bed was always made up and we had fresh towels twice a day. The mini bar is restocked daily too and includes snacks as well as a selection of beers, water and soft drinks. You can also have Cava and wine but at an additional cost.
We took advantage of the royal concierge service and booked into all of the restaurants we wanted to try during our 2 week stay. This was a huge bonus as other guests are seated on a first come- first served basis, which can result in queuing for dinner (particularly at the steak house and Italian). We tried the Indian, Mexican, Japanese cooking show, Japanese, Chinese, Italian, Brazilian, Steak House, French, Gourmet and Palace Buffet and were impressed with the levels of service, choice and food in each. Our favourite was the French and Steak House yet we can honestly say we didn't have a bad meal in any. The buffet is nothing amazing and would quickly become boring if there were not other restaurants to try. However, we loved breakfast- particularly the waffles, pancakes and churros! Service was always prompt and we were always immediately seated.
The drinks are also premium quality and we had Grey Goose Vodka at the pool bar plus other brands. The bar staff at the pool are amazing and the waiters/waitresses work tirelessly to ensure you're never without a drink. In the lobby in the afternoons you can also get a variety of milkshakes which were amazing!
The resort itself is kept immaculately clean and there are always staff tending the gardens, lobbies and beach to keep them looking good and clean. Everyone greets you with a hola and seem genuinely happy to tend to customers needs.
The Royal Suites area is adults only and therefore more relaxed so entertainment can be lacking, although live music occurs around the poolside and you can go into other areas of the hotel to enjoy activities such as water sports and even a foam party. The guests here have exclusive access to a private beach area (although it is actually a public beach) but it was never busy and we always secured a sunbed at any time of day. People do approach you trying to sell trips here, however we found if you're polite and have a chat with them but say no they are friendly and quickly move on- we never found this an issue.
Entertainment in the evening however was a bit of a let down, but it depends what you're looking for. The theatre shows are in Spanish (understandably) which can make them difficult to follow for more international guests. The disco is open until 2 and again serves premium alcohol. The sports bar is 24hrs. There is a casino which hand out free $5 bets, however as we were informed you are allowed to smoke inside, we never visited being non & ex smokers.
The complex is huge but easy to navigate however you can use the train or buggy service to get around. There are shops on site but they are very expensive- wanting $35 for a soft beach ball!! However we didn't need to buy anything as everything we needed we had even brought or was included in our room/stay.
After reading some reviews we were worried that staff wouldn't speak English and that this could cause communication problems, however this is NOT the case. We found everyone to be friendly and always having banter and conversation with the guests- in Spanish, English, French and German! We can honestly say we did not have any issues with staff and over 2 weeks they get to know you and remember your drinks orders etc. Which is a lovely touch.
The only criticism we had was that my partner and I were both poorly during our stay. We both had upset stomachs and did have to visit the onsite doctor due to us both getting an ear infection. The doctor was amazing and sorted us out straight away, however we firmly believe we picked something up from the swimming pool. When we spoke to our Rep, he confirmed that they do not put chemicals in the pools (being too harsh on the skin). As this is not what we are used to in the U.K. It did have a negative effect on us. I don't believe it was the food or cleanliness of the hotel which effects our stomachs as everything is cooked properly and immaculate. As both of us were seen and treated by the doctor we had to pay $1900 dollars up front however that's what travel insurance is for! We were both giving an antibiotic injection, which took the earache away with 3 hours and then a course of antibiotics and anti inflammation tablets each. So I would proceed with caution if swimming underwater or putting your head under in the pool.
All in all we had a fantastic stay and thank you to all at the Palladium for making it so enjoyable. We would love to return one day and I would be eager to stay in other Palladium resorts around the world! The Royal Suites is definitely a 5* experience.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachenca N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Turquesa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Katie,

The family of our TRS Turquesa Hotel is honored in receiving your valuable remarks about your recent experience while with us. We are proud to hear about your satisfaction with our overall services. At TRS Hotels we strive to create unforgettable experiences and it is truly a pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal in your prior visit.

I also like to extend our gratitude for sharing your experience on this trip and let aware future travelers to our destination about our excellent services.

We love constructive criticism and will select those substantive points of your review, that help us improve; which is the purpose of our daily work.

Besides our guests, our personnel is one of our most important assets that never cease in their effort to go beyond your expectation in order to satisfy all our guests’ needs so we are glad to hear everything was very good as you have already expressed.

In relation to the pools, ours meet all international safety regulations and it has been verified by some of the largest tour operators in Europe. Also, Palladium Hotel Group is part of the international HS Consulting program, which monitors all standards and procedures regarding the quality of food, swimming pools, and other facilities. HS Consulting is a reputed international company that applies the highest international health standards. This program includes periodic audits.

We feel very regretful to learn that you became sick during your stay and hope that you have fully recovered. It is worthy to mention that certain risks involved when traveling to the tropics, there are various factors that may contribute to illness, such as climate, temperature variation, a combination of food and beverages, excessive sun exposure and personal reactions, etc.

You can be sure that Palladium Resorts takes these matters very seriously and that we do care for the well-being of all our guests.

We will be attentive to ensure that your next stay with us will be most enjoyable and fantastic than this one.

Best Regards,

Scarling Florian
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.9 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,212 reviews
21.0 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM955 - RM2,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing