We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tropical version of the Mediterranean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Sanctuary Cap Cana wowed us from beginning to end. Was expecting a typical beach resort and found this place to be so much more. Its actually like 4 resorts put together. The architecture and grounds look like something from ancient Greece or Italy....or maybe Spain because everyone speaks Spanish. We loved the old world feel of the place and the views of the pools (5 of them!) and the ocean are spectacular. The staff were very friendly and tried to accommodate all our wishes. Some areas will need renovation in the near future. but unless you're extremely fussy. I cant imagine most people not having a great time there.

Room Tip: We were in a beach view 2nd floor Junior suite,,,,,and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sailbode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 4,997 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

Only 15 min away from the airport this place is perfectly designed as a small south Mediterranean town with cute plazas, tiny caffe, amazing views of ocean and right from the fairy tale castle.
Service was great, amazing spa,great restaurants,nice entertainment.
We want to say special thank you to Maria and Conor at the Casa Mia, Ely at the stake house, Leonardo for running his restaurants to the highest level, Carlo at the pool bar.
We had few minor issues during the stay,but what impressed us mostly is the management response and attention to our comments.
I’ve never seen resorts are paying so much attention to the quality of their beach, but may be it was not the right seas, the water was not clear and corals and weeds were to stubborn to give up.
The other comment was no internet even after we paid for it. Yes, we got money back after we talk to the manager and the resort is planing on the major work done on this starting April 2018
Pool are great and we were pretty happy there. If you want complete privacy, stay in the castle.

Room Tip: Castle is amazing but pretty far from the main life of the resort.We were happy in our beach front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Annam1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We traveled the last week of Nov. 2017. Everything is so awesome there! The staff is super friendly all the time, the grounds are fantastic, the resort itself is huge, so you never feel crowded at all. The room was huge(junior suite ocean view), everything in it was working. We were hesitant about the food, because of other trip advisor reviews, but we don't know what they were talking about. The food was excellent, big portions(maybe too big!), fresh and plated nicely. Lots of choices on where and what to eat. Wait staff was always prompt and seemed to be having fun. Really don't understand all the negative reviews we read prior about the food...We did bring snorkeling equipment, but the water is too sandy to see anything of the resort, so take note of that, but it is an excellent beach for swimming and wading around. Also, you can walk the public beach next to it for a good 20 minutes one way which is nice. And, no vendors on the beach harassing you! Would definitely come back. Could be our forever resort!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpm832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

My husband and I stayed at Sanctuary from November 23-December 1, 2017. The resort is very peaceful, staff is amazing, and food and drinks were great. We have only been to 2 other resorts in the past so my comparisons are limited to my experiences at other resorts.
Staff:
The staff is amazing. They work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and will do their best to fulfill any requests you may have. Some of our favorite staff were JTY (butler at the Castel), Eloky (server at the pool), Wonder at the Disco and Wok, Carlos (both at Ocean bar and pool bar), Michael at the Love Bar, and many more.
Food/Drinks:
Food was good. Buffet for breakfast and lunch is small but you won't go hungry. As with any restaurant, there were dished we liked and some we didn't. Best meals were at the Wok (non hibachi table, just regular a la carte), Fusion (fun atmosphere), Steakhouse, and the Taco Truck at Sanctuary Town.
Drinks were good, a little better than other resorts. They always had infused water each day at the pool bar and the buffet which was a nice break from regular water. The Sanctuary Punch was my favorite drink.
Beach:
Small but very nice, plenty of chairs/beds and shade.
Pool:
Sanctuary says "5 pools" but there are really only 3 swimmable ones. The Castle Pool is nice and quiet, the main pool is great, and the lower level of the Cascade pool is also great. The other 2 pools are ok, the top level of the cascade pool is good but there are no chairs or loungers around it and the tile around it is VERY slippery when wet. The other pool is a small, shallow pool that I believe was a kid's pool when the resort was family-friendly. None of the pools ever felt crowded.
We stayed in the Castle, Room 2054. It was very quiet and the room was large with a great view.
Minor Things:
Compared to the other resorts, the things listed below are very minor and did not impact our stay at all:
No bottles of alcohol in the rooms: we are not big drinkers but were surprised that there were no bottles of vodka, rum, wine, etc. in the room like other resorts. The fridge was stocked with water, Coke, Diet Coke, and beer.
No ice: no ice machines or ice buckets. We had our butler bring us a bucket of ice to have with our drinks in the room.
Snacks: No snacks were provided in the room. After lunch but before dinner there is a limited selection of things to eat. The beach grill is open until 5:00 but there wasn't anywhere to get some crackers, chips, etc. unless you bought you own from the store ($5.99 for a bag of Cheetos)
Nightlife: there were some shows at night but nothing on the scale of other resorts. The nightlife at Sanctuary was pretty boring. Usually we just went to Sanctuary Town and had some ice cream after dinner. There is a nightclub that opens at 11:00 and we went there twice and had a fun time but we were the only ones in the club :)
Overall this is a great resort and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of going here. Not sure if we will return here, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
TIP FOR THE LADIES: The streets are uneven cobblestone so don't wear high heels. Wear flats or a short wedge sandal for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BlondieBoomBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and just got back a couple days ago. Overall the stay was ok but there were a lot of things that bothered us. The rooms were in much need of an update, the electrical wiring in the room was all jacked up. Most of the lights didn’t work and then at one point none of them work for 6 hours, including the air conditioning.
The staff was nice but super pushy always trying to up sale you something. A better room, wine, special dinners. And if you didn’t tip at the bar they wouldn’t come back to you. I don’t mind to tip but the point of an all inclusive is not to have to spend a bunch of money. We shouldn’t have to tip someone every time they bring us a drink.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
5.9 km away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
23.1 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
8.7 km away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#43 of 113 in Punta Cana
993 reviews
1.6 km away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#4 of 113 in Punta Cana
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts

Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic (Formerly Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM1,477 - RM3,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing