We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,240)
Filter reviews
5,240 results
Traveller rating
3,697
959
346
141
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,697
959
346
141
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue marlin love bar casa bella juanillo beach ocean bar monarch villa taco truck wok restaurant castle pool castle suite royalty villa main pool room service punta espada baby face our honeymoon ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 5,240 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Only 15 min away from the airport this place is perfectly designed as a small south Mediterranean town with cute plazas, tiny caffe, amazing views of ocean and right from the fairy tale castle.
Service was great, amazing spa,great restaurants,nice entertainment.
We want to say special thank you to Maria and Conor at the Casa Mia, Ely at the stake house, Leonardo for running his restaurants to the highest level, Carlo at the pool bar.
We had few minor issues during the stay,but what impressed us mostly is the management response and attention to our comments.
I’ve never seen resorts are paying so much attention to the quality of their beach, but may be it was not the right seas, the water was not clear and corals and weeds were to stubborn to give up.
The other comment was no internet even after we paid for it. Yes, we got money back after we talk to the manager and the resort is planing on the major work done on this starting April 2018
Pool are great and we were pretty happy there. If you want complete privacy, stay in the castle.

Room Tip: Castle is amazing but pretty far from the main life of the resort.We were happy in our beach front rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Annam1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, Gerente at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Annam1957,

Taiguey!

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We traveled the last week of Nov. 2017. Everything is so awesome there! The staff is super friendly all the time, the grounds are fantastic, the resort itself is huge, so you never feel crowded at all. The room was huge(junior suite ocean view), everything in it was working. We were hesitant about the food, because of other trip advisor reviews, but we don't know what they were talking about. The food was excellent, big portions(maybe too big!), fresh and plated nicely. Lots of choices on where and what to eat. Wait staff was always prompt and seemed to be having fun. Really don't understand all the negative reviews we read prior about the food...We did bring snorkeling equipment, but the water is too sandy to see anything of the resort, so take note of that, but it is an excellent beach for swimming and wading around. Also, you can walk the public beach next to it for a good 20 minutes one way which is nice. And, no vendors on the beach harassing you! Would definitely come back. Could be our forever resort!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpm832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, Gerente at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear jpm832,

Taiguey!

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

My husband and I stayed at Sanctuary from November 23-December 1, 2017. The resort is very peaceful, staff is amazing, and food and drinks were great. We have only been to 2 other resorts in the past so my comparisons are limited to my experiences at other resorts.
Staff:
The staff is amazing. They work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and will do their best to fulfill any requests you may have. Some of our favorite staff were JTY (butler at the Castel), Eloky (server at the pool), Wonder at the Disco and Wok, Carlos (both at Ocean bar and pool bar), Michael at the Love Bar, and many more.
Food/Drinks:
Food was good. Buffet for breakfast and lunch is small but you won't go hungry. As with any restaurant, there were dished we liked and some we didn't. Best meals were at the Wok (non hibachi table, just regular a la carte), Fusion (fun atmosphere), Steakhouse, and the Taco Truck at Sanctuary Town.
Drinks were good, a little better than other resorts. They always had infused water each day at the pool bar and the buffet which was a nice break from regular water. The Sanctuary Punch was my favorite drink.
Beach:
Small but very nice, plenty of chairs/beds and shade.
Pool:
Sanctuary says "5 pools" but there are really only 3 swimmable ones. The Castle Pool is nice and quiet, the main pool is great, and the lower level of the Cascade pool is also great. The other 2 pools are ok, the top level of the cascade pool is good but there are no chairs or loungers around it and the tile around it is VERY slippery when wet. The other pool is a small, shallow pool that I believe was a kid's pool when the resort was family-friendly. None of the pools ever felt crowded.
We stayed in the Castle, Room 2054. It was very quiet and the room was large with a great view.
Minor Things:
Compared to the other resorts, the things listed below are very minor and did not impact our stay at all:
No bottles of alcohol in the rooms: we are not big drinkers but were surprised that there were no bottles of vodka, rum, wine, etc. in the room like other resorts. The fridge was stocked with water, Coke, Diet Coke, and beer.
No ice: no ice machines or ice buckets. We had our butler bring us a bucket of ice to have with our drinks in the room.
Snacks: No snacks were provided in the room. After lunch but before dinner there is a limited selection of things to eat. The beach grill is open until 5:00 but there wasn't anywhere to get some crackers, chips, etc. unless you bought you own from the store ($5.99 for a bag of Cheetos)
Nightlife: there were some shows at night but nothing on the scale of other resorts. The nightlife at Sanctuary was pretty boring. Usually we just went to Sanctuary Town and had some ice cream after dinner. There is a nightclub that opens at 11:00 and we went there twice and had a fun time but we were the only ones in the club :)
Overall this is a great resort and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of going here. Not sure if we will return here, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
TIP FOR THE LADIES: The streets are uneven cobblestone so don't wear high heels. Wear flats or a short wedge sandal for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank BlondieBoomBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, Gerente at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear BlondieBoomBoom,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and just got back a couple days ago. Overall the stay was ok but there were a lot of things that bothered us. The rooms were in much need of an update, the electrical wiring in the room was all jacked up. Most of the lights didn’t work and then at one point none of them work for 6 hours, including the air conditioning.
The staff was nice but super pushy always trying to up sale you something. A better room, wine, special dinners. And if you didn’t tip at the bar they wouldn’t come back to you. I don’t mind to tip but the point of an all inclusive is not to have to spend a bunch of money. We shouldn’t have to tip someone every time they bring us a drink.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, Gerente at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Catherine H,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Hubby and I had an absolutely fabulous week at Sanctuary Cap Cana. The food was great, the room (Oceanfront Junior Suite), and the grounds were fantastic, but the staff was exceptional. They not only serve you with perfection, but they actually become part of your vacation. If there are friendlier, funnier, warmer people in the world than the staff of SCC, I'd be surprised!

I hate high rise resorts and the lay out of this with its villas and spread out design was perfect. We went during a low travel week, but what we liked best was the quiet. If you are looking for a crazy nightlife, this is not it. If you are looking for a relaxing, stress free vacation with fun activities during the day and night, but not loud, obnoxious blasting music and people, this is the place for you!

There are many opportunities to try different foods, and the resort's "Sanctuary Town" - a mini village just steps away from the main entrance is just precious, and lots of fun. The laid back atmosphere and the staff friendliness somehow makes its visitors feel at home, and we met so many wonderful people whose company we enjoyed all week long - everybody talks to everybody.

I would not call the beach the quintessential blue green Caribbean beach like Grand Cayman or Turks & Caicos, but its fine, and everything else is so great, you just don't care. I don't usually care for pools because they are loud and noisy, but this pool was wonderful! Again, great service, beautiful ambience and a homey feel.

We have spent three times as much at Sandals Resorts, and didn't feel we had three times a better time than here. We rarely go back to a Caribbean resort twice just because there are just so many different places to try, but we would definitely return to Sanctuary Cap Cana.

Room Tip: In 3020 Oceanfront Junior Suite and loved the HUGE lanai. The Castle swim out suites are also gorgeous. You can't go wrong with either.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kerri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryByPlaya, Gerente at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Kerri T,

Taiguey!

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews