We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #30 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 15 December 2017

We just came back after a week's stay - the resort is beautiful - we stayed in the monarch villa -the villa was literally right on the ocean - spectacular view - the staff at this resort was by far the best - friendliest staff that I have ever experienced. It is not often that you see guests hugging staff before they leave a resort. Food was good - buffets were excellent for breakfast and lunch (and we typically do not like buffets). Favorite restaurant was Fusion (which is just a fun experience) and the Wok -hibachi
I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 5,052 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

Very nice uncrowded pools. Bar staff was great. Food could be better. Room service took over 2 hours to come. The chicken and fish at the beach grill was my favorite. Loved the ambiance at night time. The foam party was a lot of fun for everyone.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank shelbyc265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

It's all about the Staff...We went for a friends Birthday party and this was our second time at this resort. We had over 100 people and I didn't hear one single complaint. One person said, "I've stayed at a better hotel, but the staff here is awesome so I'm coming back here, next time". We will be making this a 3-peat for the party. Next year we are doing it again! Great job Sanctuary....Now, let me give a thank you to some people.
Paola - didn't have to interact with you personally but I know that you got any problem that anyone was having fixed.
La Capa Yasmin - the breakfast and dinner were awesome. Your staff Valentina, Brilis and Yaris showed us their usual excellence.
Cesarin - The bell boy staff was awesome. Thanks to you, Javier and Francisco for the service and the laughs.
The staff in Carpaccio, thanks. We had a Vegan friend and they went out of the way to make his meal for him. Greatly appreciated!
To the most beautiful and helpful concierges....Nicole, Jasmin, and Carmen....your work was always excellent and appreciated.
Special thanks to the Pool Bar, Carlos, you kept us laughing and drinking. Welcome aboard Rubi we loved you....Kevin Hart, keep doing what you do.
New York, thanks for the love in the gym and the pool.

Facilities, love the rainfall shower and digital controls in my room in the castle....Can I have that in my room next year? Pretty please!

If I missed anyone, you are certainly in my heart. We will see you all again next December.

Room Tip: Castle is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kennyon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawana P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Kennyon S,
Taiguey!!

First and foremost allow me to thank you very much for choosing Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts as host to your holidays.

It is an honor to read such kind review that highlights important aspect of our Resort and we are happy!! to know that by being very attentive towards your needs providing you and excellent service we achieved making your stay as perfect and memorable as it could have possibly been.

Please know that the staff members you have mentioned will surely receive the kind words you expressed about how the excellent service they provided to you did exceed your expectations, allow me to let you know that they will be recognized for making your stay a truly Sanctuary experience.

I hope to welcome you once again in another paradisiacal getaway,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

The resort is immaculate. The staff is super friendly, the facility is very clean and the beach is amazing. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 circle (5 star) rating is because the food service could use some improvement. The food is extremely tasty but the availability needs to be enhanced. You do have the option of using room service, but the food choices through room service are limited and room service was pretty slow.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lorne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawana P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Lorne P,
Taiguey!!

Thank you very much for choosing Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts as host to your previous holidays.

I feel pleased to know how much you enjoyed our Resort and room facilities, as well as how we manage to exceed your expectations by providing you an outstanding service and by being very attentive and accomplish your every needs.

In the meantime, we value your detailed suggestions as our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and have noted your comments about food with the concerned department in order to ensure we maintain our usual high standards.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future in another Sanctuary experience.

Kind Regards,

 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

If your are looking for a place to cut loose and party until 3 am, this is not the place for your. If you want a quiet, relaxing, comfortable resort with excellent food and outstanding service then this is your place. The grounds were beautifully manicured and extremely well kept. Every bathroom I walked into was spotless and I did not once pass a staff member without being greeted with a smile. We stayed in one of the Junior Suites. It was very large and comfortable. The food was excellent with a good variety. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and were greeted in our room on arrival with a "Happy Anniversary" banner on the door, a bottle of champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries in the room. It made our celebration extra special. We were so impressed with this resort that we booked another trip for next year before we left....

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank prowicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawana P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear prowicki,
Taiguey!!

Thank you very much for choosing our Resort as host to your holidays.

On behalf of the staff at our Resort it is my pleasure to let you know how satisfied we are when receiving this kind words about how much you enjoyed your holidays and how we exceed your expectations by providing you the service you expect and deserve during your stay.

Thanks for the compliments to the hotel grounds and facilities, we are glad to see that you really enjoyed staying with us.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future and create a memorable Sanctuary experience.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
5.9 km away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
23.1 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
8.7 km away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#4 of 114 in Punta Cana
472 reviews
46.4 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts

Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic (Formerly Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM 1,367 - RM 3,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing