We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sixth time back to this resort four times at Ambar and second time at this one.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“sixth time back to this resort four times at Ambar and second time at this one.”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I was very happy with the fact that all my requests I had sent via e-mail were met. When we arrived at the airport it was very fast getting our luggage, got on our waiting bus and there was a hotel worker with everything in an envelope for each guest. They had our room our bracelet in white for repeat guests and all my dinner reservations that I had done on line before we went. I was very pleased because they had made sure we got everything we asked for.

When we arrived at the resort they had a welcome drink waiting for us right outside the bus and trolleys waiting to take us to our rooms. There was no waiting around and no wasting our time.When we arrived in our room they had our welcome gift a bottle of rum and two t-shirts along with beautiful towel art and a fruit basket. Our beach towels were also in our room along with two bath robes and slippers, very nice!

The resort is huge and the beach is very crowded, not the best. If you wanted a spot by the pool you would have to reserve your chairs by 8:00 am and no later than 8:30 because they would all be gone! I noticed that on more than one occasion that some ignorant people would reserve several chairs by the pool and not use them all day long because they also had chairs on the beach shame on you people who do that!

We had amazing service at all the restaurants and most of the bars. I say this because on one night we ordered an after dinner drink called Porto and we were told that they had run out, I couldn't believe this as it was very early in the evening and there was no way that they should be out, so we left and went to another lobby bar and requested the same drink and we were served. So they did not run out of this drink in the resort as we were told by the person in charge of the other lobby bar, they were just too lazy or didn't care enough to make sure such a popular drink was available, not impressed!

Entertainment was good but much better in the past years that I've been there. The Michael Jackson show that I just love because they have had amazing performers in the past, was very disappointing. Unfortunately the Michael Jackson imitator was so poor, they need to bring back that original staff.

Would I go back, only if the price was amazing otherwise I'd like to see some other places.

Room Tip: I always go for the higher floors, just because it's a whole lot quieter and no critters. I emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJP1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,233
    1,986
    974
    381
    282
See reviews for
2,375
2,664
97
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,470)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

First off, I don't mean to sound like such a complainer; however, I stayed at the Bahia Principe in Mexico and it was a completely different experience.

Bahia Punta Cana is a beautiful facility. The lobby bar, the grounds and common areas are gorgeous. The beach is incredible and the rooms are adequate and spacious. With an on-site casino, non stop day time activities, a karaoke bar, piano bar and disco, there are a lot of things to do all day long.

It does fall short on a few things, most notably the cuisine. In an effort to Americanize the food for North American patrons, something went horribly wrong. There is a large selection of items on the massive buffets but we found that things were either very undercooked or very overcooked. Breakfast is the best meal of the day and the a la carte restaurants are a step up. We spoke to others who had no complaints about the food, but honestly, we stopped eating by day four. Not worth the calories.

Customer service is not fantastic, unlike other places I've stayed in the Caribbean or Mexico. Even though many patrons are English speaking, there were only a handful of employees who spoke English. However, when your room is full of mosquitoes upon check in, they will spray it for you. Just mime it out; they'll catch your drift.

Thumbs up: Activities, nightlife, grounds, beach
Thumbs down: food, customer service, lack of beach chairs/towels
Tips: Upgrade to Esmeralda or Ambar if you can. If you haven't reserved a lounger by the pool or beach before 7am, you are not getting one. There are more guests than beach chairs.

Room Tip: If you like the nightlife, choose rooms closer to the lobby. They are very loud though, so if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mellymacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Unfortunatly this hotel lacks very much customer service. The hotel needs a major make over such as buying new towels beach and room towels have seen better days. We stayed at the golden part of the hotel thinking we would have extra perks, but there is no difference from golden or any other package! The king size bed was the most unconfortable bed I ever slept on. I sat on the edge to watch the 19 inch tv and the bed felt as if it was going to fold like a sandwich. Our mini bar fridge was more warm than cold, called the desk to ask to get it fixed and on the second time that I called I was told that they came by to fix it and responded that was still warm and I was told that it the fridge had too much stuff in it and that was why it didn't work! To that I was amazed that 4 beer and 1 water bottle was loading up a fridge! Staff is overall happy go lucky except for the bartenders which seem to have a chip on their shoulder and smile only when they see $$ in your hands. Golden reception is a joke when we arrived we were greeted with a way as if we needed to get processed as quickly has possible, when I asked the person with a smile was everything okay and if they were okay ? I was told that they had the flu! No chairs on the beach as people would get up at the break of dawn to put their towels and reserve the chairs, my wife had skin cancer in the past and one of the big reasons we chose ths hotel was for the palapa on the beach but in a week stay we were never able to get one. I lived in this country for 11 years my wife and I travel very often for work and stay ay many hotels this is a below average hotel which has seen better days! It's a spanish owed resort which I would strongly recommend that they sent some Spanish management from their head office to put the resort as it once was! The amber part is an excellent choice and the whole resort should be as the amber is! Small piece of free advise to anyone from this hotel reading this a smile and service goes a long way to people that work very hard threw the year to have a week of R&R.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sacs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We travelled with our 4 yr old son in first week of March from Calgary, Canada.
The resort is very well kept, clean, hyginic, lots of trees, nice beach, nice pools and good activities. Everning kids shows and theater shows for adults were good too. Food quality and number of items on buffet were good. Although some days we felt it was same menu but still something for everyone. The resort is HUGE though therefore hard to find seat/chair on beach and pools if you go late in the day. Internal shuttle service is handy as the resort is very spread out especially the beach. but shuttle service is 5 mins so no issues for us. I'd rate the room as 4 out of 5 in terms of quality of bed and other things but acceptable quality. Everything else i'd rate 4.5 or 5 out of 5. Had really good time overall. not sure about the bad reviews we saw before leaving but we went with open mind and had an excellent time. We definitely go back.

Room Tip: if you dont like to walk or get shuttle service then get something closer to the beach BEFORE you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RSCalgary_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed 2 weeks and paid a lot for just average services, food, booze and accomodation.
Some foods were good but that was it. 4 Fruit types for 2 weeks gets to be not enough.
The drinks at the restaurant were watered down or something, wine looks good but has no taste...rum was ok but only at the bar. It was similar to Mexico only 3 times more expensive.
Very crowded 7.00am had to go on the beach to reserve chairs...nah..not for me.
The pool you could hardly walk around.
Never again for me in February when it is expensive and full of people, line-ups everywhere.
The a la carte are a joke! Buffet was better then a ala carte. Value for money was poor. The ROyal golden package is a joke too...no pediatrician in the hotel either :( ...our friends had to go in town and lost a day at the doctor. Time-share sellers are as ussual annoying....too bad they see us as milking cows only and not really respect us. From now on chepest last minute will be the best value for money ...forget the pics ...they all look good. One week is also better since you have no time to wake-up and see them for who they are. When kids slept at noon the maids were yelling on the hallways to each other numerous times in all buildings. They can try to cook but that is it. Beer was garbage too. Cigarete butts in the sand from the lovely low quality guests :). Oh the kids activities - I would not let my kids with an uninterested young lady who does not love kids and does not speak english :)
Where were the BBQ on charcoal or propane? Only fried meat as bbq!
Where were the nice towels on the beds? And yes we tipped every meal and night.
Mass produced low quality tourism.... not 5 stars! More like 2.5-3 stars

Room Tip: They all are average...my toilet leaked, lost water and refilled the tank every 15min. You think an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gabriel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
29.4 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
956 reviews
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,789 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,383 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#53 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,410 reviews
83.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): RM583 - RM1,716
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing