We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Kyle W

Would not return due to major bug problem.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Rooms are old and out dated, WiFi is weak at best. Beware of the fire ants that are everywhere, including your room biting you while you sleep. Our whole group was eaten alive. The resort is more than aware of the problem and has done nothing to fix it. Look at my pictures, my legs are probably scarred.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Don't go or bring an exterminator.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 1,558
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Melia.com
  • travelup.com
7.0 km from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,935
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,935
1.2 km from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
RM 2,696
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,696
  • Hotels.com
7.2 km from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 785
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,863
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,190
1.0 km from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Free parking
Pool
Hyatt.com
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 3,228
  • Priceline
27.7 km from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Barcelo.com
    RM 1,196
  • travelup.com
9.7 km from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Punta Cana
Reviews (9,815)
Filter reviews
9,815 results
Traveller rating
4,177
2,576
1,473
712
877
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,177
2,576
1,473
712
877
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden grill a la carte privilege club huge resort closer to the beach air transat main buffet lobby bar dominican republic japanese restaurant recommend this resort great resort buffet food main pool language barrier beach chairs water park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 9,815 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to several resorts in DR, Punta Cana so I am basing my review as an overall experience. I would say this is just an OK resort. Price was fairly reasonable and I would say for the resort it was somewhat accurate. The food was ok, good variety of options but repetitive. Food was often luke warm at best, unless you used one of the special stations that made food for you( egg station). There was also a foul smell on one side of the buffet building that personally I couldn't stomach, I suggest sitting on the left side of the restaurant when you walk in to avoid this. The actual food itself was decent tasting and like I said there were options. The a la carte restaurants were good and a nice option. Try the buffet down by the beach it's a great location!
The room was dated, but clean. There was water that seem to leak from the sink several times during out stay but it was limited to the washroom. Bedding was not changed unless requested, and the comforter on top was dirty. The mini fridge was stocked well each day.
The pool was clean and well kept. The bartenders at the main pool were great and helpful, however the ones at the pool by the beach, not so much. We waited a long time for a drink on our first day, and there was only 2 other couples at the bar. It was like he purposely walked by us many times until I eventually raised my voice to ask for a drink... Beach is great, clean and plenty of chairs, however they fill up quickly so you might need to walk around a bit but you can find one if you look.
Entertainment was decent, some good shows offered.
Staff don't seem to try and speak any language except their own, other resorts I have been to there is some English spoken or attempts at least. We had arranged with guest services to have late check out, they offered us to have the room until 2pm at no charge due to some issues that we brought up to them at their request to discuss. The day of check out we went to the front desk to confirm and there was no record of this being done for us. We ended up having to pay for the late check out, which wasn't a huge $ but still the principle of it. Our transport to and from the airport had issues, we were to be picked up on our last day at 3:20pm for the airport (7:30pm flight), the bus didn't arrive until 4pm and then had other stops. We got to the airport quite a bit later then normal, long lines at the airport. We had just enough time to go to the washroom and grab a quick bite then it was time to board.
This resort is very large yes, but they do a great job at having trolley's constantly running to take you where you want to go.
I wouldn't say don't go here, it has some decent things to offer, but if you are looking for a higher end vacation this is not the place.

Room tip: Beach gets very busy, the main pool bar closes 1 day a week but they don't post about it pool is open but no bar.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinebD3773BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved this hotel, specially the food and drinks were very delicious. I loved the rooms they were big and clean and all the supplies that were provided. I loved the pool and specially the animacion and yoga activity with Genesis. Also, the bartender Nelson was very friendly and attentive, the service provided by him was excelent.

They need to give some maintenance to the beach because it was dirty. Everything else was good. 🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 980g_nesisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed a wonderful vacation in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, especially for the spectacular attention of our staff.

Finally we hope to welcome you back and thank you in person for your comments.

Greetings from the Dominican Republic!

Guest Relations
Bahia Principe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were pretty good! The pools were always filthy and closed some of the days because they were that bad. The pool and beach are nice and close to one another so we loved that. The little bowling alley is fun. The drinks were okay! The food was worse than I expected. We travel to Dominican a lot and this was by far the worst food experience. All in all if it’s cheap go but if it’s not choose another resort. We paid $3000 for 3 of us to go for a week flights included so that was worth it. Had I paid more I would be a lot more disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As Privilege Club Members we have enjoyed our stays throughout the years. The staff, and Entertainment always comes through. But this time Turquesa was not the best. The Buffets are always sure to satisfy, but I did get sick at Palmyra or Aquario. Issues because of the switch over, with the Privilege Club Office. But eventually got them settled. If you want peace, Relaxation, and Quiet, Turquesa is NOT the one to stay at. We were trying to book in the Ambar, or AquaMarine but they were way over priced. The Fire show was AMAZING. The Entertainment Staff for the Fire show were AMAZING. Juany Santana Rijo and her Staff at the Aqurio made my Birthday AMAZING. Even though I did over do it. We ALWAYS enjoy visiting with Juany Santana Rijo and her Staff. The, by far best experience has ALWAYS been the Gifted Healing hands of the Spa. We always save one day for the Spa. Danienlly, Elizabeth, and Maria Sembe, and the Rest of the Gifted Hands of Healing Staff there. We ALWAYS look forward to visiting with them, and have our Mindy, Body, and Soul HEALED. The Spa is a HUGE reason we continue to stay.

Room tip: For peace, and quiet, and relaxation I would NOT pick the Turquesa. The Spa is worth the whole stay.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2024

This is our fourth time here. Place is currently having a lot of upgrades so expect noise (which isn’t that bad). The new rooms are so nice. Beds are really hard and they could use nicer pillows. The trolleys are always running with the nicest drivers! All staff are very friendly and helpful overall. The pool bars are just so busy so be nice and patient. There are plenty of lounge chairs by the pools with shade. My husband is an early riser so was able to get them easily. Other people who showed up later still were able to get some seats. Food in the buffet had a lot of different varieties with daily themes. We did the steak and Mexican dinners and were good overall. The Mexican has open air so expect it to be windy and put on your bug spray for mosquitoes. We did not do the shows as we have seen them over the years. They do some entertainment outside the main lobby with is fun, especially the karaoke. My husband Steve loved it. The beach is beautiful but huge downside is the sand fleas! We have never had this here before as like I said we have been here 4 times! So bring the proper spray. We used Off which helped after the first day but we all had bites that were so itchy. Bring Benadryl cream, Benadryl pills, after bite or whatever helps you. Mosquitoes were really bad too as we all had bites. Yes they look similar but the fleas mainly stay on lower legs, feet and ankles.
Overall this place is a nice place to visit and would recommend

Room tip: Bring bug stray for mosquitoes and sand fleas. Be respectful to everyone! We are all on vacation and be nice to the hard working staff!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Barbara


Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you have chosen to visit us for the fourth time and that you found the new rooms very pleasant.

We note your comment about the beds and pillows and will take it into consideration for future improvements. We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the variety of our cuisine served in our buffet restaurant.

We appreciate your patience and understanding regarding the crowds at the pool bar and are pleased that you were able to find shaded loungers by the pool. Likewise, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment options, including karaoke, and that you found the beach beautiful despite the presence of sand fleas.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this and the mosquitoes and appreciate your understanding.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bahia Principe Punta Cana for another enjoyable stay.


Kind regards

Annie Rijo
Guest relations Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews