We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$311
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$266
US$156
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$346
US$230
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$475
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$284
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$255
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$220
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Med Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$417
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,426)
Filter reviews
6,426 results
Traveller rating
1,856
2,200
1,278
631
461
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,856
2,200
1,278
631
461
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial restaurantdeluxe roomswim up barpalm treescaribbean streetevery other daythomson repssteakmain restaurantmama juanamini bardominican republicsmaller poolentertainment staffoutback safaribeautiful beachmain pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,855 - 2,860 of 6,426 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I travelled here 2 weeks ago with my partner, mam & dad. We all loved this hotel and holiday. The beach is paradise ... especially from the sky parasailing. The hotel is extremely clean and the people extremely friendly. Be warned this hoteli s PARTY CENTRAL. If you like the quiet life book into the palace next door. But if you like a good time you will not be disappointed. PIP (Party in Pool) thanks to Victor, Freddie & Darwin was immense along with all of the drinks. Try the lemon slush with smirnoff, also the mai tai slush with alcohol. You wont be disappointed with the Saona trip and lagoon (be aware some rocks in sea at saona) but it is beautiful. However the lagoon with the star fish is a memory you will never forget. We had fab weather - no rain!! DONT FORGET factor 50. Food was gr8 in main restaurant, we all really enjoyed the asia house and italian. Brilliant Sushi in the asia and Fantastic steaks in the italian. Sports bar very cool and excellent when you have had enough of the humidity. 24 hour hotdogs, burgers and fruit boxes available in here. Optics in room great touch - remember its a perk not a challange!! Although there is enough drink outside room to be had! Tips are not expected at this hotel but staff always grateful to receive them. It does not alter the service. I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

TIP: Beware my dad bought Davidoff Cigars in the Palace Macao for $100 and they were fakes!! If you're going to buy ... buy in your own hotel so the manager can help if you have a problem!!

Enjoy ... so jealous!

Room Tip: E-mail hotel in advance with room requests ... we were in room 2510 - 2 blocks from action. No noise but plenty people watching.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank craignfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We got a last minute booking for the Riu Bambu so got a very good deal. We have been to the Dominican Republic a few times but only once to Punta Cana when we stayed at one of the Iberostars. We were very happy with most things at the Bambu, the room was pleasant with excellent airconditioning, it even had optics in the mini bar. The location of our room (no 2608) was close to the reception and dining room and the bar and theatre at night. Just a short walk to the pool and beach too. The beach is amazing and the sea lovely for swimming in. There was a great choice of food at the buffet every day and we enjoyed the outside dining area for breakfast and dinner. The wine was poor though but you could buy better wine at $20 if you wished. At the bars you could ask for branded spirits such as Smirnoff and it was no problem. We did tip but that wasn't necessary to get the better brands. There were sunbeds on the beach but no parasols/palapas as there were at the Iberostars, however there were so many palm trees to lie under for shade that it did not matter. I enjoyed the beach and pool aerobics, the animation team works so hard. I also really enjoyed the theatre shows, I thought the dancers were excellent and my husband enjoyed the circus act. We did find it very hard to get a booking for the steak house though as you could only book at breakfast time on the day you wanted to dine. On previous all inclusives we have been able to book 3 different restaurants in advance. We gave up and just used the steak house once and it was very nice but we were happy with the buffet and our outside dining area. We didn't do excursions this time having done them before but there was lots of choice. To sum up, we had a lovely relaxing and lazy holiday in very nice surroundings and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank forestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Grounds: well tended and lush
Food: one of the best buffets of any AI hotel. There was caviar twice, lobster bisque, loads of choices and very fresh. The speciality restaurants are ok, but the Chinese is the better of the 2 we tried.
Drinks: good selection of international brands, lager a bit weak, local spirits dire. Tip the staff and drink Gordons, Stolly etc instead. Wine was ghastly..all of it.
Rooms: strong point with minibar and optics in one of the cupboards. Good ac and tv with several English language channels.
Beach: wow! Nearly white sand and a shipwreck a few hundred yards offshore. Kids will love it!
Staff: 9 out of 10 were nice people and helped make the holiday
Weird: landcrabs climbing up the wall near the speciality restaurants.

Room Tip: Tip the staff!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CliffMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We traveled to this all-inclusive with a group of 8 adults. It was a beautiful property, and a good value for what we spent. Should we return we will probably upgrade a bit, as it would have been nice to have beach service. Food was okay, nothing bad but nothing spectacular. The Italian restaurant was definitely our favorite, but didn't get to try the Japanese steakhouse as it is only open a couple of nights and we didn't realize that and didn't grab a reservation when it was available early in our stay. Biggest complaint, no coffee available anywhere before the dining room opening for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamR2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Hot,hot ,hot.The hotel was great-good size rooms,close to in house activities with liquor dispencer in room.Beach as beautiful as the topless women there,but nothing to see u nderwater@ their beach,must go out to reef.There were small ants in the room& the staff would spray if you asked for it.Going out on excursions are the BIG adventure!Their roads suck,even on the Riu properties& one of our drivers was texting as he drove us downtown to the Carribean Festival.I recommend personal fans if you go there.No AC@the Festival but Great-could be on Broadway!Expect to be approached by vendors& haggle@50% off.PS expect 18 year olds drinking &partying.You cannot get drinks at the 2 Rius on eather side of this hotel,The staff was great& entertaining would recommend this to young couple,except a pregnant couple,roads are SO BAD!!!Bring Dramamine& use it!All meals are Buffets.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor-less ants
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dirtydave6929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews