We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #74 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We traveled here february 27th to march 5 2012.we paid 1050 dollars pp for this trip. the only complaint i have is the food. I have a friend who also traveled the same time as we did that stayed at the ocean blue who payed 1750 pp. the food at our place was beautifully presented, but we feasted on the cheapest of cheap food. i ate many salads because that was about all i could get down. pasta , which was served at lunch and dinner was over cooked and swollen, one night for dinner there was supposed to be filet mignon with bacon served, never saw it. one night lamb was supposed to be served, never saw that. only served bacon for breakfast twice in the week. mashed potatoes was an everyday option at breakfast. we ordered a pizza 3 days into our trip and it was the best thing we had all week. could not, would not of been able to eat the food one more day. meanwhile my friend at ocean blue feasted on grilled lobster, carving stations with ham and roastbeef. they also had acces to food 24 hours a day. we were told we had 24 access to food, i guess we did. i slept through dinner one night and woke up at 11 30 p.m. ventured out to find something to eat. the only option there was, was small sandwhiches with one thin slice of lunch meat and a tomatoe inside of a plastic to go box. they also had a piece of fruit in a to go box. all of this was stacked in a cooler. meanwhile my friend at ocean blue was able to order food from a menu 24 /7. food is awful at the riu bambu, i guess u really do get what u pay for

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 754candycane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,421 - 2,425 of 5,901 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was the first vacation my boyfriend and I have taken together, and we had heard that CheapCaribbean.com was a good way to go, and got a good price for the amount of time (7 nights). We also noticed fairly good reviews for the Riu Bambu. Never having stayed in a Caribbean resort before, we made the assumption that anywhere we went would be a good, quality vacation for the money spent. Unfortunately, we could not have been any more naive.
When we got to the airport and found our pre-arranged transportation to the resort, we were told that a representative from Olympus tours (the service CheapCaribbean.com uses) would meet us in the lobby at 2pm the next day, to discuss any excursions or activities we may be interested in. However, the next day we waited for him for about 30 minutes and he never showed. He finally called us in our room on the fifth day of our stay and insisted on meeting with us then, which at that point, served no purpose. He told us a representative would be in the lobby between 2-3pm the next day, and we were to meet with him to finalize our accommodations back to the airport. He didn’t show up, either. Thankfully the night before we were going home somebody finally had the good sense to leave us a note under the door telling us what time the van was coming for us. Our entire stay, we never saw ONE representative from Olympus Tours at our resort, among the many other company representatives we noticed.
The biggest problem was that THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE. I am a vegetarian and had a very limited selection to choose from, but my boyfriend, who eats almost anything, also had a difficult time finding anything decent to eat. The pasta alfredo, which was present at every meal, was basically pasta with cheese-water poured over it. There was tortellini and ravioli, and unfortunately for me, it contained meat. I found this out the hard way, as they were not labeled. My boyfriend said the meat was dry and rubbery. NOTHING seemed fresh. The selection was very limited for us both and it was the same thing day after day. Not to mention the chaos in the dining hall. Children were running amok, people cutting ahead of you in line, and workers taking your plate if you took your eyes off of it for two seconds. We had to go in shifts to get drinks and refills for fear somebody would clear the table.
Our second day we made reservations for the “Italian A-La-Carte” restaurant, thinking we would have better luck, but no. The three entrees offered all contained meat and the buffet beforehand was an insult to Italian food. There was something labeled “Eggplant parmesan” but looked like dehydrated sliced eggplant…with no cheese OR sauce. The tomato and mozzarella contained tomatoes that looked 4 months old with slices of cheese that appeared to crack upon pouring balsamic vinaigrette on it. The white wine tasted like bad beer. The meat in the entrée was bland, and not seasoned or marinated whatsoever. At this point, we knew we were in for a long, hungry week.
Breakfast was decent, despite the lack of bacon on most days. You had to plan a strategy if you wanted butter on your pancakes or French toast, as the butter was kept 500 feet away from the food and syrup. The syrup was in a jar with a spoon, and never got refilled, so you got quite sticky trying to tip the jar over, and it was a mess. We got excited one day when we saw a man approaching with a container, figuring he was finally there to refill the syrup, but for some reason he chose to refill the three-quarter full honey jar instead. The “juice” dispenser was a joke – I don’t think it contained so much as a seed’s worth of real fruit. It had a funny taste, and seven times out of ten only water came out, which happened to be the best thing in the dispenser to begin with. And the glasses are ridiculously small. I guess they figure if they’re giving you everything all-inclusive, you’re going to have to work for it and make six trips back to get drink refills, only adding to the aforementioned chaos.
Then there was Mamajuana’s, which was the more casual of the dining areas, next to the pool. They had continental breakfast from 10-12 and then lunch from 12 on. We stopped in to get a drink and noticed them putting the lunch items out after what was a sad display of breakfast, and silly me tried to take some French fries at 11:55 and was YELLED AT by a worker, telling me I had to wait 5 minutes until noon. And I had already put the food on my plate. They, too, had the same stuff every day. We were happy to see they had pizza, until we realized that they made about 3 pizzas with toppings to every plain pie they made… and of course the plain was the first to go leaving nothing but pizza with corn or chicken on it. Yes, I said corn. (We’re from New York, so this was a bit of a mystery to us).
There was no dress code at all in this dining area, and there were a lot of people who did not feel the need to cover up when they were going to eat. Including young female children with no bathing suit tops on. It just seemed a bit inappropriate for somewhere where people are eating.
In addition to all of this, we found the service was not very good. The people working there did not seem happy to help you and did not make ANY effort to understand what you were asking, even when we attempted to speak in our limited Spanish. Everywhere you go in the main part of the resort there are merchants hassling you. A few of them did it good-naturedly but some of them were really irritating, yelling things at you as you walked away. The pool situation was annoying at times, children splashing around at the swim up bar, jumping into the pool, and naked babies in the pool who were probably peeing. The room was comfortable and adequate with a few things worth mentioning. All of the outlets are recessed, which basically means if you have an AC adaptor or plug which is bulky (i.e. cell phone charger or hairdryer), you may as well leave those things at home. Also, it took them 4 days to refill our minibar which was supposed to be refilled every other day. The room phone didn’t work to call out and when we called the front desk for help, they did nothing. The alarm clock in the room kept resetting, as it was connected to the main power switch for the room, and the cleaning staff kept shutting it off. The stairs and walkways through the villas were really slippery and an elderly lady slipped and was on the ground moaning about her aching tailbone. If you’re staying at the Riu Bambu and want to gamble at the casino in the Palace Macao be prepared to pay for your drinks, which is nonsense. The one and only night club there also requires you to pay for your drinks and is open to the locals. If you don’t like hearing only Latin music all night or getting approached by aggressive prostitutes, once again you’re out of luck. Other than that, there is nothing to do at night, except watch the show that the resort puts on, which I believe is all in Spanish and didn’t appear too entertaining to people in the twenty to thirty-something age bracket. This resort may be more tolerable for families with children than couples and singles.
All in all, aside from the beautiful beach and fun swim-up bar, this resort needs SERIOUS improvement. Put out the extra money and enjoy your vacation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Flood-Mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just got back from a 2 week vacation at Riu Bambu in Punta Cana, from Feb. 24th to March 9, 2012. This resort has very well kept grounds, clean rooms, great food, friendly staff, animation team is great and the evening shows are among the best we've seen in 10 years of travel to DR, Cuba and Mexico. The beach is awesome, the weather excellent and we loved this resort. Go there to relax, enjoy the sun, the beach and good company.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher number are closer to reception and restaurants area; lower numbered rooms are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Ginette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The food is average not labeled no place to be in he shad the beds are Very Hard the doer is older it is an older hotel . If you want cheap great alcohol,wine and beer,then this is a place you won't mind . I will be going back to La Romana,this was not a good experience

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljtravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Check-in was so easy, they had all our room keys in envelopes with our names and room numbers on them on a table in the lobby for when we all arrived on the bus. Travelled with 2 adults and 2 / 21 year olds. We had rooms on the ground floor although not side by side (at opposite ends of block) we decided it didn't matter. Beautiful, comfortable room, bathroom a little small and sometimes no hot water. We had problems with the safe on one of the days but it was rectified. Pool was beautiful and we spent quite a bit of time there. Resort was quite busy but we were always able to find a lawn chair. Beach was beautiful and very long and large. The Riu resorts on this part of the beach had the most beautiful section of the varadero beach. All of the employees were fantastic! We took a trip and swam with the stingrays and sharks, it was amazing! The sports bar was always lots of fun and had snacks in the fridge late at night (sandwiches, hot dogs, etc). The food was great in all the ala carte restaurants as well as the buffet.

There are 3 other resorts on the same property side by side and they were all connected by a walkway, was great to walk along this walkway. The Riu Bavaro Palace was being built while we were there but the other 3 resorts were nice as well. However, the Riu Bambu pool and swim up bar was the busiest and the nicest pool of all the resorts!

Overall we would go back to the Riu Bambu and highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: we had ground floor rooms, sometimes was a little noisy because people walking to their rooms. there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank rhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#71 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,181 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#80 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,249 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#65 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#56 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,569 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,072 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM625 - RM1,617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing