We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday & still enjoying it! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #75 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently on holiday here & have been here for just over a week so far. I honestly have no idea what people find to moan about regarding food etc. There is the main buffet restaurant and for breakfast there is a choice of various hot foods, continental cold choices like meats, cheese, bread etc. They also have things like chocolate croissants, omelettes, waffles & pancakes along with loads of other stuff. Lunch time there is a lot of choice in the main restaurant and the Mama Juana lunch restaurant where they have pizzas, pasta, burgers, fries, salad bar, fruit, desserts amongs other things. Evening meal you can choose from the buffet restaurant again with lots of choices, Spanish restaurant, A la carte restaurant, Steakhouse restaurant, Italian Restaurant & a Oriental themed restaurant so plenty to choose from and you do not need to reserve the restaurants you can just go as you please and sometimes they may have to put you on a waiting list if they have no spare tables but we haven’t had to wait too long for a table. The room is lovely and cleaned every day with new towels no cost for the air con or tv like some hotels. Mini bar is stocked up every couple of days which is great. Plenty of space within the room & lots of storage too. The safe is free to use & you can choose the combination yourself to lock it.
Majority of staff are very helpful and cheerful but some of them are not inclined to help the Spanish speaking guests but we have just ignored that as I have visited places in Spain before and know that they can sometimes come across as rude.
We have booked a few trips through our Thomson/TUI Rep who gave us 10% discount for being thomson customers. Would definitely recommend Saona Island as it was fantastic. The Boogie adventure is also a good fun trip & we’ve yet to go on our other two trips to Coco Bongos & Dolphin Explorer. The prices are reasonable for all trips & even better if you get discount from your rep. Plenty of activities going on in the hotel through the daytime into the night including water games, beach games & evening entertainment on the main stage. I definitely would recommend this hotel and would advise to take bad reviews on the chin as so far me and my boyfriend have had an excellent time & can’t fault anything. Any questions feel free to ask!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 5,857 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit to a Riu resort and to Dominican Republic, the hotel was set around a beautiful beach and lovely garden which couldn’t be faulted considering the recent damage from the hurricane which had passed through two weeks before arriving.

Upon arrival we were given our keys and pointed in the direction of our room, which was fine, we had paid a upgrade fee which meant our block was as far away from the main resort as it could possibly be ( again thou wasn’t a problem as were only in our 20s). However we had a issue with the upgrade as the only reason we booked a upgraded room was because when I booked it didn’t state that all the rooms had been upgraded so therefore they pictures a old fashioned run down room which I didn’t want to stay in. This was a fault with Thomson and first choices website as they failed to up date the pictures even though the hotel had been renevated back in June ready for the summer. Wouldn’t have been a issue if I had booked the hotel months in advance but I only booked 3 weeks prior to our visit so website should have been updated! I would suggest not bothering with the upgrade as all you get is a larger bed and a shower and sink area in the bedroom rather than separate. The worst of it was that our ‘upgraded room’ had broken air con and a broken safe (however the staff were great and did fix this with a few hours of us informing them)

On a positive though the rooms were lovely, excellent space, safe, air-con, hair Dryer, iron and ironing board provided in rooms. Excellent views from the balcony we had and rooms were cleaned every day without fail. The staff at Riu we’re all pleasant and everyone was happy to help!

The all inclusive side of the Riu was fab with optics in the rooms to drink from and a mini bar refilled every other day included within the price! Big variety on the All inclusive drinks with choices of cocktails, wines, procesco, beers and spirts to chose from as well as hot drinks and soft drinks!

Excellent variety of places to eat:
Steak house
Mexican
Italian
Spanish
Chinese
Buffet
And a couple of others which we didn’t get around to trying on our visit! But wished we had! The food was great!

There are several swimming pools to sit around we always visited the pool at the back of the resort and it was less full on but had a pool bar which was perfect! Maria and pascal who work at the pool bar offered a great service we’re always singing, smiling and happy to be of assistance! Only issue was the the local children seemed to come into the resort of a weekend meaning that they would take over the pool. (The picture on Thomson and first choices websites for the pools isn’t the correct ones your best to look on TripAdvisor)

The entertainment wasn’t anything to write home about however the staff work very hard though the day trying to keep everyone happy so you’ve got to give it to them for try! The beach party they put on once a week was very good though.

I would suggest not bothering with the shops on site in Caribbean street as they charge 30 dollars for suncream and 1 dollar for a single plaster not worth the money!

AVOID scuba carbi (the beach hub for trips) as they tend to cancel everything you book with them! Seems to be a waste of time when your on holiday especially if your only there for a week!

Over all lovely resort, beautiful beach, friendly helpful staff and great food/Drink :)

Only a few teething problems but they wouldn’t stop us from returning in the future!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely perfect holiday! Every single member of staff worked so hard to provide an excellent customer service! Food was gorgeous, clean room cleaned every day! Only downside was our room was on lower floor no view from balcony. Beach was gorgeous. So many restraunts bars all lovely, pool area fab and always got a sunbed no problem!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank livyoung1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was our first time in DR and our second Riu (First was in Mexico). I think it would be a miss to compare the two because we only paid $1015/each direct flight from Toronto, so it was not overly expensive. We did choose it because we loved the Riu in Mexico. It was hurricane season so one would expect a discount.

First off this hotel has been totally renovated as of Summer 2017. So if you are watching you tube video's etc I would stick to recent video's within the last 6 weeks or so.

Grounds: this is a very large resort with 20+ multiunit villas. Walking paths are very good and well lit and if you want quiet opt for the back in the center of the resort. Grounds and pools are pretty clean. They are doing construction of a building close to the beach. Before you book ask you're travel agent about this. It may be something to consider because beside this construction is (in my opinion) the best bar and view of the sea at the resort. But having the noise of cranes etc really does spoil the mood slightly. There are two large pools near the sea, one with the swim up bar and one without and there is also a smaller pool near the sea beside the kiddie area. This was a lovely spot with very nice shade all around. The newest pool is at the back of the resort also with a swim up bar and loungers. Plenty of spots to sit and shade as required. The pools are very well thought out for those that want sun or shade. The beach is stunning and you can walk for miles either side.

Rooms: rooms are spacious and renovated. We did email in advance asking for a quiet room instead we were beside the parking lot in block 33. I would not recommend being near the roads. Our room's air con never did get lower than 26c which was fine for us but seniors and those traveling with infants may find this too warm. Perhaps the first floor rooms have better air con. There was a fridge and mini bar in our room but we didn't make much use of it (staff did though - more to come on that). There is annoying flashing light from the smoke alarm, but we put two bandaids over the lights and that worked great! Beds were hard and pillows mushy with clean white linen, perfect for us! We would have liked a king bed.

Food: The food was fantastic in our opinion. A million times better than any Cuban resort we had been to, maybe not as 5* as Mexico but we enjoyed almost every meal. There are a lot of places to eat at night but check the schedules. Some places are not open on some days. The Italian was our favorite evening meal. At breakfast there is a chocolate cinnamon drink in the soup area that is to die for!

Gym and Spa: the gym in this resort is excellent, good air con and equipment to get a serious work out in. The spa at the palace had steam room, dry sauna and cold plunge pools. I had a massage here that was nice. At the rui bavaro they have the warm baths and steam room and another excellent gym and massage areas.

Staff: staff were fine but not overly friendly and I think that's because it seemed the guests were very demanding and there were not a lot of smiles all around. I can't really put my finger on the vibe but it was in the patrons as well. There was a lack of pleasantry that one would expect in a vacation area. Rosa made our room up very nicely everyday.

Final note: The day after we arrived we took the $6 bus into "town" (town was a very western mall). The only thing it had going for it was a grocery store and a decent Italian place that made a mean pesto pasta. We bought decent wine from Australia, Champagne and Whiskey and Spanish Sangria to enjoy throughout the week in our room (yes it is all inclusive but we have a picky pallet when it comes to wine and the local variety was not the greatest). The day before we were leaving we came back to our room in the evening to have a Sangria before dinner and the bottle was gone. This is not a money issue, the Sangria was under $10, it was the principle of it. We suspect the people who refill the mini bar took our one bottle of Sangria thinking we would not notice (our mini bar was also tapped into every day and we didn't drink any of the voldka, gin, rum or whiskey that was in our room.) We wrote a note in Spanish and brought it to the front desk (again, nothing to do with the actual cost of the product just as a point of principle and the management of a Riu should be aware of this) and my husband delivered it to the front desk and they offered to replace the bottle but didn't have any Sangria. Which was fine, again it was the principle of the matter. We go on vacation to enjoy ourselves and just relax for a week a year - and yes, we lock up our passports and extra money etc. But if we go to a resort and have to lock up everything in our room for fear of being robbed, then this is not a resort we would ever go back to.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks holiday. It was a last minute holiday due to a cancellation. I am so glad my original holiday was cancelled because this holiday was fabulous. We stayed in room 5025 was right next to one of the quieter pools but got busy some days it had a lovely swim up bar with lovely bar staff. The food wasn't spectacular but we didn't go hungry. The Mexican restaurant was a favourite of ours. A question that will be asked would I go to the same hotel most definitely. Rooms were always kept clean and clean bedding and towels daily. Coco bongo is worth a visit. But try and book with some one outsode the hotel they $20 cheaper then the reps..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#69 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,151 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#78 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,236 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#67 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#55 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,543 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#42 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,039 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM653 - RM1,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing