We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding expectations on all levels.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. The location was wonderful and very close to the Punta Cana airport. Having visited Punta Cana 2 years ago, I had known what to expect based on a previous visit to a different non Secrets property. I couldn't have been more wrong! The food and selection at this hotel is great. Service was over-the-top as we didn't want for anything. Our butler Arcenio was a gracious host that made sure that all our needs were taken care of and if we wanted for anything, he was on the run. Overall a wonderful place and wonderful people. If there is a negative, it would have to be housekeeping. They did clean everyday. However, a bit inconsistent on how well the room was cleaned and restocked. Nothing that can't be overlooked or remedied by placing a call to Arcenio or whoever your assigned butler is. Thanks again for the wonderful vacation. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skwasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,036 - 7,040 of 9,871 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have just returned from a week at Secrets Royal Beach. Our family has been traveling to AM Resort properties since their beginning and we found SRB lived up to the excellent quality we have come to expect from this company. Have we visited more luxurious properties within the company? Yes, but we knew from their website that this would be a more laid back, beach resort so we did not go with the expectation of grandeur.
We received exceptional service from check in to check out. The staff could not have been more accommodating and they always greeted you with a smile. Our butler, Alexis, was fabulous and took very good care of us. Alexis went above and beyond our expectations in the service and attention to detail he provided us.
The accommodations were just as depicted on their website, clean and spacious, as were the grounds and pools. The restaurants we choose to try were great with top notch food and wait service. We found the entertainment to be fun and enjoyed all the shows we attended.
We will definitely return and we will definitely recommend SRB to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roseann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Had a wonderful time! The food and the people were just excellent! Especially, Laura Sanchez, Guest Service Manager, Junior, Edward, Winnie, Ms. Blondie, Gregory, Yolanni, Romon and his co-worker! I have already recommended Secrets to my son for a fabulous get away! Can't wait to return to the sunshine and hospitality of Punta Cana Secrets!
Christy

Room Tip: All were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just returned on January 14, 2012 from Secrets. We are very seasoned travelers and have been to many all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean as well as traveling Europe but this is the first time we went to the Dominican and were really excited. Booked through Delta Vacations. Presentation of website is very misleading. They do have everything they say on the website however you must go to the resort next door to get most of it.

After arrival we went to the Delta check in desk and had previously arranged a private transfer. We were on their list however they were not prepared for us. We were never given the paperwork that we needed thus posing a problem for the rest of the week and our return trip. The transfer to the hotel was short and good.

Check in was horrendous. Upon arrival we were told our room was not ready and as it would be 20 minutes and we were to talk to someone at another desk to go over orientation of the resort. We were swept away to a private table and met with Dio. We were given a drink and really enjoying ourselves until we realized that we were not being orientated but rather set up for a sales pitch for their time share! Our arrival gift was only given if you attended the 90 minute presentation that they set up for you for the next day. Encouraged to go if you brought your credit card you get a free Tshirt! We were to receive 200.00 in hotel credit coupons but these were held hostage unless we went to the presentation. Which we never went to and we never received our Delta coupons, which we had be entitled too. After 20 minutes we went back to the desk to get our room key but were told that it was not ready so they would give us a better room. That was fine with us so the bellman took us to our room. Upon walking in I said no. I had paid for an Ocean view room with a King size bed. This room overlooked the pool/garden and we were told by the bellman that if you have a few drinks and look very far off the balcony you might think you see the ocean. We were brought back to the front desk. Ramos at the front desk promptly told us that he did not have a room ready for us and because we did not want our room it would be another hour and a half! We tried to explain that is not what we paid for and he gave us this room because ours wasn't ready but he said no. He finally agreed to another room and went from an hour and a half to 45 minutes. Check in at this resort is supposed to be a 3pm and it was now 3:45 pm. We told him we would wait until 4:30 and we hoped a room would be ready at that time. He said it would be. They send our Delta Rep. Michael over to talk with us. Michael was very nice and tried what he could and waited the whole time trying to help. At 4:30 we went back and no room. Ramos said that we didn't want the first room and had to wait and it would be a while yet. We were not happy. We finally asked for a General Manager and a woman appeared and told us we didn't want our room so we had to wait but hang on and she would check on it. We never got her name. To her credit we believe she ran to the room and tried to get it ready for us. We were in our room shortly after 5 pm. We waited over 2 hours after check in time for our room in our winter clothes with no offer to change, use a hospitality room or anything while inducing endless sales pitches. What really got us upset was being told it was our fault by Ramos and than the other staff. By the time we got a room I was crying and my husband was upset We were told Delta needs to fix their policy and booking as getting a King size bed and Ocean view is only if they are available. I am sorry but that is what we booked and paid for! Just a tip, ocean view is just that, you can see a sliver of the ocean. There is NO ocean front. I will say that our final room (room 5363) was much better than the first they tried to stick us in.

The room was nice. We have stayed in better and worse. Jacuzzi on the patio was weird. You can see into everyone's rooms as is the set up of the hotel how would you ever use the jacuzzi that everyone can see into? Beds were pretty good and nice sized room. The service oh my! Some days we had clean towels and nice turn down. Some days towels were thrown on the counter and some days you just got nothing. Mini bar service was the same. Some days yes, some days no. Lights went out in the room and we finally gave up trying to get it changed and lived in the dark. The staff is very quick to take the tips left on the bed though. One day room service was done at 5 pm (as we were trying to get ready for the evening) and turn down service was an hour later!!!!

Beach had great sand. Lots of people and crowded. Water is rough and no real water sports to do as to rough and water is to busy with all types of party boats and different boats. If you walked to far you were constantly fending off vendors selling their wares of services. This got really old. Pool was just ok. Small swim up bar and a lazy river type thing. Not enough chairs as you needed to get up at 7am to reserve a chair. They say you cannot do this but there is no way not to or you have no where to sit. This goes for pool or ocean. They have a few floats for the pool but guests were allowed to keep these on their patios so unless you wanted to take one off someones patio you had none. The pool bar was nice but by 4 pm the male bartenders at the pool bar were drunk!!!! I had never seen staff drink so much! They were doing shot after shot and of the good whiskeys and such! No wonder this resort is so expensive. At least the female bartender was just doing tequila. It was crazy!!!! Entertainment at the pool was pathetic and this is where they try to sell you more trinkets and things too. Yes, they have drink service but don't wait for it or it will be time to get ready for dinner.

They do have the amount of restaurants as listed on the website however you need to go next door for most. Buffet was ok. Hot was hot. Cold was hot. Not much variety and food used over and over. Lunch had items from breakfast cut up and put on top of them. No variety. Very limited outside seating. Seafood restaurant was the best out of all of them. Food was good, service was good. Seaside grill was ok and only ok because we finally got to eat dinner outside. Mariachi style band was allowed to wander, interrupt everyone's meals and solicit for money! Be prepared you need LOTS of money to tip at this resort. All inclusive, far from it. If you wanted lobster it cost 36.00 more per person. Even the Wednesday evening beach dinner cost 36.00 per person. Seriously! Not many people went. If you went to the NOW side you could eat there. They had one buffet, same as Secrets. Italian was horrible. French was ok, service poor, food good but not actually French. Reservation needed to eat at Spice (Habachi style) so had to eat very early if you wanted to sit at the Habachi table. Food was good though and good service.

Nightly entertainment was horrible. Elevator music on the secrets side in the "plaza". If you went to the NOW side there was more do to but a meeting room is not the setting for what entertainment they are trying to have. There is very poor attempts at nightly entertainment. Shopping every few nights so make sure to have your money again. The ladies that serve you on the Secrets side at night are wonderful! The best thing of the resort. We were able to sit, listen to music and have fantastic service! Thank you ladies!!!! There was only one small bar open on Secrets after 6 pm and other than the ladies it was difficult to get a cocktail.

Off site trips were nice. We went on Bravaro Runners trip and had Sammy Carwash and Fabio and they were fabulous!!! Also did the Dune Buggy trip and had a blast. Definitely recommend Sammy Carwash for an putting. Make sure to ask for him! Thanks Sammy!!! We ended up using our Delta rep. Michael but went to the NOW resort to book excursions and the staff there was good as was the staff of the Preferred Club on the NOW side. Staff there just was so much more friendly. We didn't feel comfortable in the lobby of our resort as they treated us poorly after the check in process. We received a letter from Dio the second day apologizing and said he would talk to the "big boss" and never heard another thing from him.

To make this short and simple:
Pool- just ok, small, no chairs, no floats
Availability of drinks- poor, slow, service providers drunk, closed at 6 pm. Lady servers at Secrets wonderful.
Restaurants- Not enough outdoor dining, tipping expected, long waits
Staff - Some friendly most just don't care
Stores - Do Not shop on the resort. Hugely expensive. Cheaper in town. You cannot charge to your room so you need to pay cash or credit in the store.
Check in process - Horrible! We had huge issues but also saw so many people complaining about it.
Beach - crowded, not enough chairs, can't walk to far without getting solicited or stopped, no water sports
Entertainment - Don't bother
Solicitation - Unbelievable! I do not go on vacation to an all inclusive to be actively solicited for their vacation time shares every time you turn around! This is unacceptable and when you don't go your credits are withheld and you are treated poorly! I expect this going off resort. When you are on resort you should be "safe" from these sales pitches.
Tipping and all inclusive - Tipping is expected and yes you get better treatment if you do. This resort is definitely NOT all inclusive.

I would hope that somehow Secrets Corporate reads some of these. We have been to many all inclusives and I think they need to send their management to some others to see what they should be run like. We lost part of our vacation just trying to get a room, fending off sales pitches and are just plain disappointed.

We were going to take the kids to a sister resort for spring break and will definitely not be doing that now. The people at AMresorts need to revamp how this resort is run and implement a customer service program.

Room Tip: Nothing is guaranteed and check in is first come first serve no matter what you pay for. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Mrsmmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Mgr_Asst, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear Secrets Royal Beach Valued Guest,

First of all, we are very sorry to learn, that you did not enjoy your vacation as expected. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that happened during your vacation here at the beautiful Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

With respect to your review we would like to comment on some of your accusations.
Please understand that when we are fully booked the check in time might be postponed. We would like to apologize for the fact, that you were not informed about the possibility of using our hospitality room with showers and changing possibilities.

Regarding the request of a King size bed, we would like to inform you, that we try our best to comply the wish of our guests, but as it is subject to availability requests are not guaranteed. On the other hand according to your room number I could verify, that coresponding to your reservation you received a Junior Suite Ocean view, which is not an Ocean Front view.

As far as the Unlimited Vacation Club is concerned you have the option to tell the clerk at any time, that you are not interested in the Club.

If we would have know on-site about your unhappiness of the Housekeeping service you have received, we were able to change the cleaning time and would adjust the service to your needs. Unfortunately we were not informed.

Our Resort is operated under the unlimited luxury concept and this means, that tipping is included and it is optional to tip extra.

We have floats for everyone; you just need to ask our concierge department.

As far as the drunk staff members are concerned it is prohibited for every staff member, to consume alcohol during being on duty and therefore we would like you to contact me through email to verify the person, who is violating against this contractual clause.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies and I am looking forward to your email.

Respectfully,

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bávaro Beach
Provincia La Altagracia
Republica Dominicana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay where you will be able to relax and find some silence, this is not the place! At the beach, starting at 9:00 am aquatic sport industry starts and provides a symphony of diesel motors all day! The mini delta planes and a helicopter even make the sky noisy! If it's windy, you won't smell the burnt diesel. The sand was cleaned from ocean debris only once while we were there. If you like flowers and gardens, you will be disapointed. There is a lot of traffic in the hall ways, on the fisrt floor, leading to the bar - beach- food area and the buildings are very poorly insonorised. We lost half a day with a smart marketing outfit trying to get us to buy a VIP membership of 75 000$ . We felt very pressured and they had accumulated so much information about us that it affected our sence of security for the next 6 days!

Room Tip: In the first floor rooms we can clearly hear the trafiic from other visitors, janitors and employees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
5.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
22.9 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
27.3 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
3.7 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,126 reviews
9.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM1,133 - RM2,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing