We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$305/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$193
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$250
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$305
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$293
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$252
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$342
US$226
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$392
US$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The MT Hotel(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (10,801)
Filter reviews
10,801 results
Traveller rating
7,535
2,076
824
232
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,535
2,076
824
232
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grilleddie murphyentertainment teamla rivieramilky waybaopreferred clubthe lazy river pooljuan manuelpool barbig papispaghettiour honeymoonsexy chocolateswim up roompreferred poolunlimited vacation club
Filter
Updating list...
7,704 - 7,709 of 10,801 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Secrets Royal Beach from March 19 to 28 and loved it. As others have said, at check in we were met with cold towels and champagne and no sales people (probably because we arrived at 7 pm). We booked a deluxe tropical view and loved our room (in the 5000 block) because it was so private (looked out towards Paradisus but totally treed) and, in the event of rain (which did happen), we didn’t have to go outside to the restaurants. We tried all three restaurants at Secrets and enjoyed them all; we also went to the beach grill for lunch which was really good. We did not go to Now Larimar as we prefer adults only (which is why we picked Secrets). We found the portions at both the Seaside Grill and Oceana to be too big for us, but no problem – we just ordered one dish and shared it. The beach – it’s Punta Cana, so it is beautiful white sand and great for walking off all the extra calories from the amazing ice cream we tended to eat at lunchtime. Drinks were good, bartenders excellent.

The resident manager is very much in evidence, a delight to talk to and interested in how guests are enjoying their stay, so from the two of us – Hi Clara! We should also mention that the resort is wheelchair friendly and for those of us who sometimes have difficulty walking, there are no long distances that have to be travelled from room to bar, room to restaurant or room to beach or pool.

We had an excellent time and look forward to returning in July!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My Husband and I were married at SRB March 31st, 2012. We had a group of 25 travel with us and we all had a great time! I had (like most of you) read these reviews religiously and the resort absolutely lived up to the reviews! The best part of the resort was the staff!!! Mickey Mouse and Akon kept us moving all day!!! Angel E, Carlos, Aneury, Oscar and Junior provided amazing service and our drinks were never empty!!! A HUGE HUGE thank you to Christina and Leonardo in the Wedding Department. They both made my big day sooo sooo easy and stress free!!! It was truely perfect and for a group of 25 ranging in ages from 25-65 can all have a great time you know it is a great resort!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevol33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

the staff and entertainment was amazing! speedy was always full of energy and went out of his way to make us feel included! the dance crew was fun!!! best vacation ever!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We travelled to Secrets Royal Beach, March 19th to 25th. We have travelled to Punta Cana many times before and return over again for the beaches. This however was our first time staying in a Secrets resort. We were pleasantly surprised at how smooth the week was.
Rather than join the bus transportation from the airport we chose to take a cab. Cost of the cab to the hotel was around $35.00. Check in was smooth, were given a nice glass of champagne and a rose. We received a beautiful room just down from the swim up bar and close to the beach. In all our trips we have never tried a swim up room. I doubt all are as nice as the Secrets swim up but we were pleasantly surprised that we enjoyed it more than we thought we would. One reason was that the hotel seemed to have the swim up bar pool enclosed and didn't seem to run into the lazy river. We are always astonished at most resorts as to how much time people can spend at the swim up bar without having to go to the washroom. It's truly amazing.
Another positive with the swim up room was enjoying it on the rainy days. If the sun came out for even a minute, it was easy to plop onto your lounger. We find it rains a least a bit, each time we travel to the Dominican so we expect it. We walk in it, swim in it, after all you are already wet. Of course when those winds pick up, it is a good idea to run for cover. One suggestion for the hotel is umbrellas in the rooms. The walk to dinners was wet a few times. We were surprised when we went into the closet to find no umbrellas. Our past trips we have always found them in the closet.
We are more sand/beach lovers than the pool but found ourselves enjoying the swim up each day. We didn't however enjoy the young woman who for some reason needed to change into a dry bathing suit each time she came out of the pool. Near and far got to watch this over and over. We saw too much, too many times. Not the hotels fault but we noticed it did stop after a few days so possibly the hotel addressed the show. By no means are we against going topless. It's the Dominican, enjoy it, but keep it to the beach. Just our personal opinion.
We found the palapas at the beach quite close to each other. I guess the hotel must have been full for a few days as the loungers at times, were every direction you stepped and it was a maze getting to the beach to go for a walk. Our only suggestion would be for the hotel to put a narrow path which people could use when trying to get to the beach or the bar. At times, we felt we were encroaching on people's space, just trying to get through for walks.
We didn't dine in the restaurants as we find the food in the restaurants is the same food as the buffet, just served a little fancier. We like the easiness of the buffet and don't go on our trips for the food so are easy to please. We found the buffet to be very good for all our meals. Salads always fresh and a wonderful bread section. You could eat big or light, your choice.
We really enjoyed the bbq grill on the beach for lunch. The chicken, burgers and ribs were all very good. Some days we grabbed some food from the grill and walked back to our room to eat at the loungers and pool. It was fantastic.
The service was great, we were lucky enough to have Angel E serve us most of the week. He was perfectly attentive and we appreciated it. We watched him walk that resort for days, up and down, serving drinks or offerring snacks, rain or shine. Always with a "my pleasure". One thing we saw very little of was tipping. All we can say is, please, tip these hard working people.
Junior as well checked on us when he was working our area, always smiling.
Carlos at the bar was great to us and always upbeat and smiling. We had recognized Carlos from a previous resort we had visited and he had worked at. His position was different then but who wouldn't recognize that tall walk and smile. Good, hard working young men and we wish them the best.
There was some confusion in regards to the gym. It was a great gym but had trouble opening on time. We called once, because we thought it opened at 6am but the person at the desk told us, no, it was 7am. No problem, went at 7am only to find out, yes, it is suppose to be 6am. Oh well, happened a couple more times but there was no rush in our days and just accepted it.
We thought the hotel was very smart in advising people using the equipment that there was a time limit for use, ensuring everyone would have a chance on that peice of equipment. Well that didn't seem to apply to some people. At times, you could see people were waiting for a machine but the person using it, continued to stay on it well over the 30 minutes. That is not the hotels fault. I guess they could monitor it but how sad is that. We think we should all do our part as well and just have some consideration for others.
We love to walk the beach and went for many very long walks. The vendors and sellers on the beach are aggressive but do accept no thanks and move on. The young men on the beach giving out cards and trying to bring you back to their shop get a commission or payment of some sort from the owner for bringing you into his shop. That's their job, once you are there, the shop owner or other workers will sell you stuff. If you walk down the beach far enough you will come to a shopping plaza tucked farther back from the water than the others. This is a more structured building and has larger and more shops. The thing is, it seems the people working in this plaza are not allowed to go to the beach and pull people in. Right before this shopping plaza, there are kids pulling you into smaller shops, pass this and go to the bigger stalls. The product is better in general.
We loved our stay at this resort and would recomment it to our family and friends. We would return to this Secrects resort as well as plan to visit a new Secrets resort. From the grounds, to the cleanliness, to the bedding, to the service, everything met our expectations. Thanks to everyone who served us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank funfishinandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The room was very nice, comfortable bed, air conditioning works. The beach is perfect! There were always chairs available, which was really nice. The buffet was good for an all inclusive. The service was not so great, definitely NOT 5 star. We went to the seaside grill the first night, waited over an hour for a shimp cabob and decided to leave for the buffet. We were the only 2 people in the restaurant, so not sure the problem. The second night we went to the French restaurant at the Larimar hotel next door. We waited 1 hr and 45 min for our dinner! The staff does not understand English. If was very frustrating throughout the stay. Went to the spa and gardeners were watching as we were in the hydro pool area. Throughout my treatment, the lights were very bright in the room, which was odd. I will return to Secrets Maroma Beach in Mexico, but not Punta Cana.

Room Tip: get a room closer to the beach/restaurants vs. close to reception. There is nothing by the reception area and it is a LONG walk to the beach/pools/food.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lettielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews