We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by issues with the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed here for a fortnight coming from the UK. We originally booked to stay at now larimar but asked to move to secrets as it was a bit of a zoo, our phone didn't work, shower leaked, screaming kids running round the buffet. The lobby staff said when they are overbooked they move people to secrets but as they were overbooked we would have to pay. We haggled and got a reasonable deal to stay in a pool view room.

Rooms are kept to a high standard and the maids do a good job at keeping it clean every day. The newsletter received at turn down is also a nice touch, although I found the turn down disappointing as in other resorts you get petit fours on the pillow or towel animals. But this is not a huge deal and I'm being a bit picky. Drinks are always restocked daily in the room and you can get a bottle of sparkling wine delivered for free to the room on request (no one tells you this but it's true).

The pools are beautiful and I really liked the lazy river concept and how it stretched around the resort, the pool staff work tirelessly and they are truly world class. Special shout out to Angel, who made our stay more enjoyable. There were many other staff but Angel served us the most. Entertainment staff were also very good.

Now the bad - food was varying degrees of quality, often warm and not hot and we made friends with 2 other couples and my husband and 2 others reported severe stomach upsets. One was treated at medical and it cost 650 dollars! My husband was sick for 4 days but wouldn't go to the pharmacy as he was worried about the cost. We self treated with Imodium and lots of water, no alcohol etc.

We tried to put it down to alcohol or the sun, new food etc but I caught the chef at the beach grill handling raw chicken with cooked chicken with the same one utensil, no gloves on either. We reported this to guest services and they were very good but I must admit this ruined our holiday with my husband being unwell and I wouldn't return or recommend to anyone else. It cost a lot to stay here and for the same price you could get better (and safer) quality in Mexico or elsewhere.

Staff need retraining on food handling, plates in the restaurant need to be hot! And buffet food needs to be hot and not luke warm.

Lastly the language barrier is an issue here especially with calling room service, often orders were wrong or didn't come at all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear amyelliex,

We are sorry your experience was not according your expectations. We have noted your comments related to the food, which have been transmitted to the involved team. Nonetheless, we would like to mention for your tranquility, that our Now Larimar Resort and all our hotels per policies have a very strict follow up of the HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point) and we have a Quality and Hygienic external control audit, for the correct handling of food and drinks we serve to our guests. We are certified by Cristal (Check Safety First) and we are randomly analyzed by inspections for food safety & hygiene.

It is important to remark that travelers are always going to be a little more vulnerable to getting sick due to the stress and excitement inherent in the traveling process. Once you add a change in time zone and climate, changes to their usual diet, and over-indulgence in drinking and sun; the likelihood for vulnerability to getting sick increases.

Related to the turndown service, we appreciate your observations, although, let us add that because of matter of brand attributes we don't tend to make a figure with towels.

We reiterate our apologies.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 9,876 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Leo (Leonibus or Barack) was the highlight of the resort. I chose this destination for a 40th anniversary surprise trip for my wife. Resort was OK but really nothing more. Rooms dated lots of small issues with room such as outlets not working. Service just OK but sensed a overall lack of caring except for a few like Leo and the little guy in the buffet. Had to request towels 3 times before actually getting them. Wait staff not bringing bread with bread items on table set -DUH. Lots of stuff like this. If this sounds petty I get it but it is a SECRETS? Food next door at NOW not good at all. Overall food quality not very good. Romantic Beachside meal very nice and worth the money-Spa also great. Best restaurant was Seaside with a great breeze and good food. Have been to a lot of beach destinations - this resort was one of my least favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Traderjohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Traderjohn57,

We are sad your experience was not according your expectations, during this special holiday. It is a shame to read your impressions about the inconsisteny in the service in some areas, as this is one of the aspects more highlited by our visitors, and also unusual situations, for that reason we have noted your comment in order to feedback the team in every department involved.

We reiterate our most sincere apologies.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This was my first all inclusive resort trip and enjoyed every bit of it. The check it was fast and our room was very spacious with two double beds, lounging area, and very spacious bathroom with double sinks. The rooms were very clean, and that was the whole impression of the resort, everything was very clean.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with a very noisy person next door from our room, so just mentioning this to the staff, they switch us to another room.
With the access to Now Larimar, it opens up options for more eating and fun. The food overall was surprisingly good, and could have not asked more for the service.
Modesto and Miguel T @ the International Buffet on Larimar's side were just outstanding! Starting the day breakfast and meeting M&M made our days.
We did a day extrusion to a Sanoa Island and would definitely recommend the VIP package with snorkeling, natural pool experience and lunch/drinks offered. The island itself is like a paradise. The beach is nice and clean, and the water is just beautiful. There're people by the beach offering massage services, and they're selling all kinds of things, but surprisingly enough after telling no a couple of times, they left you alone.
We also did zip lining at Ziplines adventures, and would recommend this one as well. It's fun and well organized.
Our time run short and miss it back already.
For Secrets itself, I can say it's a nice and calm resorts. Lots of couples, honeymooners and anniversaries. Not many single people there. If you're looking for more nightlife, this would not be the place. For calm and relaxing, easy going vacation, Yes.
Special thanks also to Carlos L and Jairo at the pool bar. You're amazing!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms. Humidity levels are much higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Helena I,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your first all inclusive experience. It makes us feel glad to know you enjoyed every part of this trip, and also our team looked after you, in order to make sure you stay comfortable. We hope this experience to be the first of many, as it would be a pleasure to host you again.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Room: Amazing & Private Balcony - always cleaned nicely and well kept up, very modern looking rooms
Food: INCREDIBLE! Buffet was always great with lots of fine dining options and usually a great selection for seafood! One night there was filet mignon at the buffet and we doubted..but WOW it was good! For Restaurants, we enjoyed them all but particularly enjoyed the Lamb & Lobster options at Mercure, Himitsu was fantastic (especially the appetizers and sushi lobster roll). Suggestion is to always go EARLY for dinner. We got the best food/service this way and never had to wait!
Resort: Gorgeous! Beach was lovely and the pools were always being cleaned and well kept up, the landscaping is gorgeous!
Entertainment Team: EXCELLENTE! They always were engaging, fun activities if you wanted to join in, and great friendly group! El Gupy, Spaghetti & Eddy Murphy really stood out to us and made the whole things hilarious and enjoyable! Superb job!
Servers: Super friendly and great! Elizabeth, Rhonda and all the others were wonderful and very friendly!
I would highly recommend this place to any couple on their anniversary/honeymoon or another romantic getaway! They spoil you if you are on your honeymoon!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmreadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear cmreadman,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach for your holidays. We are thrilled reading your stayed comfortable with your room, but also amazed about the dinning options, in addition to the outstanding service which characterizes our team. We will transmit your comments to the team, as for sure it will motivate them.

Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The hotel, staff and the entire ambiance was divine! I would definitely recommend upgrading to the preferred club. If you are looking for a place to relax and de-stress, this is the hotel for you. Although everyone single member of the hotel staff are beyond amazing and move over mountains to ensure your stay goes as smoothly as possible, there are a couple of people that really stood out for us:

Juan Carlos (manager at Seaside and Oceana)
Johana Alvarez
Henry (works at Himitsu)
Maribel (lady at the front entrance of Himitsu)
Alfredo (manager)
Elizabeth (trainee at preferred)
Martin (Butler at Preferred section)

(thank you all for a wonderful trip that I will surely not forget)

Usually, we are very active people, but this trip was meant to be relaxing and it was excellent. Also, the spa was wonderful (highly recommend)!!

Food:
The best dining is Oceana and Himitsu, and the service at both are beyond excellent.

Also, thank you so much for the fantastic birthday experience for my daughter!!

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View Rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehryziai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager D, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Mehryziai,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach for your relaxing getawa. We are thrilled that you found in our property the de-stress and quiet place you desired this time. Let us add it is a pleasure to ensure our guests stay comfortable and your comment confirm, but also works as motivation for us.

We look forward to be hosting you again soon.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
5.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
22.9 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
27.3 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.2 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
3.7 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: RM1,137 - RM2,515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing