We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
75 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$297
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Expedia.com
US$297
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Trip.com
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
TravelocityUS$297
HurbUS$297
Orbitz.comUS$297
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18,284)
Filter reviews
18,284 results
Traveller rating
12,791
3,479
1,177
489
348
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12,791
3,479
1,177
489
348
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cascade pool the grill lobster chez isabelle our honeymoon martini bar flavor market las olas sports bar sax player french restaurant garden view bug spray red flag greeted with champagne other resorts coco loco
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 18,284 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is no reason to look at any other resort!!
Excellence Punta Cana is the BEST!!!

Everyone was extremely friendly & over the top helpful!!! We loved every aspect of our stay!!

We arrived & we were greeted by Alejandro with Champagne - he was wonderful & our luggage was taken to our room!!
The check-in process was so quick!! Reynaldo at the front desk & his staff was beyond wonderful!!! After 5 days we decided that it was so refreshing to have such a beautiful resort with great food & staff we added 3 nights to our 7 night stay!!! We could’ve stayed another week honestly!!
Every day we were greeted by the Entertainment staff of
Bianny - she was amazing, so cute, friendly & always happy !!!
Darlys - he was awesome, so fun, laughing & making us want to dance 24/7!!
Yan Carlos - such fun, always being silly with crazy dance moves & joking!!
Jose Luis - such a good guy with funny dances & making us laugh!!
Denia aka Pinky - she was such a cutie, dancing, smiling & making us have fun!!
We loved this team of wonderful crew members for all the dancing, nightly shows & activities !!!
We could’ve stayed forever!! We absolutely loved loved loved them!!

Your friends from Tampa will be back in January & we will bring our family!!

We also loved the property amenities…..ping-pong, pool tables, archery, darts & beach stuff; we tried it all!!

As for the restaurants, we were pleasantly surprised with lunch & dinner - everyday was delicious & the staff went above & beyond!!
Raquel & all of the waiter/waitress were phenomenal!!

We absolutely love Excellence Punta Cana !!!
We can’t wait to go back !!
We plan to visit Excellence Punta Cana every year!!

Room tip: Make sure to pay for transfer to the resort to/from airport. Bring US dollars for tips. ATMs charge $6 Bring collared shirts for guys.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarieRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Excellence Collection, Guest Services / Front Office at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as host of your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community.
We are very glad to hear from you that we are able to exceed your expectations in all aspects, which are carefully taken care of, and you enjoyed your stay with us thank you to the outstanding service provided by our lovely colleagues, who went above and beyond to make you feel pampered since their attitude is intended to exceed the expectations of all our guests and provide them with a memorable guest experience. It is also lovely to know how memorable was your getaway due to the good food quality you encountered at any restaurant you attended, and amusing entertainment provided. We will pass your kind words along to the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Summary:
a good hotel for couples or a solo stay just to relax
with correctly set expectations or a good quantity of consumed alcohol you might want to come back again;
language barrier as well as short opening hours of the pool and lack of beach rules if they were available prior my visit would let me reconsider my decision of booking this hotel
a star assignment in Dominican Republic is similar to Cuba. 5-stars are not real 5-stars that some may see in the US/EU and in a few Asian's countries
personal is always nice and try to do their best to make your stay better
drinkers will be happy with liquor selection and overall quality of alcohol
food selection was mediocre, however few dishes were really good; Quality of ingredients and dishes were ok and there is more room for improvement
$180 is the cost of a medical appointment in the hotel
spa service and other activities for extra cost are super expensive
Safety was not a concern; Personal belongings can be left unattended at the pool or at the beach with no issues
The ocean is never calm so do not expect Laguna type swimming or view on the sunset; seagrass present in September
- in some occasions COVID protocol in the hotel did not make sense and caused only delays, created lines up without providing real protection to the guests and to the personal
- hotel is single use plastic free but no paper base alternatives for cocktail straws are available. Bars do not have proper equipment to wash glasses under hight temperature (only hand wash)
- it is hard to navigate in the hotel, signage must be improved

Room:
Many imperfections in build quality of the rooms and public areas which is noticeable and annoying when you stay in "5-stars hotel"
Get the highest floor, your neighbours upstair can drop something on the floor or start moving furniture nighttime
High floor will provide you a possibility to dry your swimsuits on the balcony deck fence in front of everyone even if a special racks is available in each room
Good that safes in the rooms have electrical outlets
Rooms do not have a rack to iron clothing with provided gourmet steamers
The entire floor in my room was made from ceramic and was cold and slippery when wet.
The AC could be hit or miss; it generates too much cold while it is hard to regulate temperature and fan speed. No extra blankets are available in the rooms by default. It is impossible to dry something inside the room
My bed had good stiffness which was a plus for me. Only “Finest hotel” can accommodate special requests related to bedding
No air exchanger was in the room that caused a moldy condition
Jacuzzi in a room located just under a TV. It takes much room and the TV is a hazard if it accidentally falls.

Public Beach:
Seagrass are not been removed on timely manners. The most efforts to clean up the beach put on the weekend's eve. The sand is not getting levelled or groomed everywhere after the cleaning
No bar service provided on the beach. One needs to go to a bar to place an order that can be delivered to your table by a bartender that creates a line up at a bar (staffing issue)
Beach is not perfectly cleaned. Some cigarettes/plastic cups stay in the sand
There are no lateral markers/buoys that indicate the edges of safe water areas in the ocean. As a result, safeguards every time signal you and try to pull you close to the beach if they think you were too far from it.
Also they discourage to swim after 5pm when they are not on duty but the beach is public and the hotel clearly states it is not responsible for any accident there
The flags used on the beach are confusing. When a red flag in place the lifeguards do not allow to enter in the water while a red flag with a white stripe on it must be used in this case
Beach Rules are not available in the hotel's app or elsewhere
I left with strong impression that the lifeguards take to much ownership on the public beach and they try to be more safe than sorry
Lifeguard do not speak English that creates confusion when you try to figure out why you were pulled out from the water
On the right and left side of the beach there are two souvenir shops with annoying personal that try to engage guests passing by. Also, 3-party sellers of excursions are allowed on the hotel premises.
Swimming pools get closed after 7pm for unreasonably long chemical treatment.
In two occasions I had to walk around to find some beach towels that were not restocked in timely manner in the hotel with less than 50% occupancy rate
No good view on the sunset is available due to the hotel location
Food:
sushi is not good (rice was too cold and it was too much in rolls). Rice as a side dish was uneatable in all restaurants
some restaurant serve dishes from the same ingredients available during breakfast or in other restaurants
breakfast to be avoided during peak hours. Employees do not speak English and it was not longer self-service buffet due to COVID. As a result, many lines up could be formed. Only regular coffee served.
Restaurants and the bars on the beach do not have coffee machines and do not make smoothie
bars do not serve snacks only beverages
avoid chicken wings at all cost. They cannot cook them
some dishes got from the kitchen pre-cooked that affected its temperature, textures and overall experience
in the most restaurants the waiters will never ask in which order do you want your order comes from the kitchen. They tend to bring everything together especially if pre-cooked items are available

Activities:
Fat-bikes are not safe to ride (breakers are not maintained). Helmets and safety jackets are not being disinfected and smell
Live Sax repertoire is repetitive during the week
The gym has only portable ACs that is not enough to cool down the entire space.
Water temperature in jacuzzi was not always constantly hot but the view is good. Jacuzzi jets on the seating side have never worked/activated which makes the jacuzzi useless.
Rules about dress code and Bluetooth sound bars are not reinforced

Room tip: Pick highest floor Bring suncream and mosquito spray Health/travel insurance is the must have
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Lyubeznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Excellence Collection, Guest Services / Front Office at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Excellence Punta Cana and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community.
We are very glad to hear from you that overall, you had such a great time with us and we were able to meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us because it allows us to find out the services our lovely guests enjoy the most and the least.
We can assure you that every constructive criticism you have shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards, expected by our guests on the highest level, ensuring your satisfaction in order to work accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our superb service. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort is highly recommended for anyone looking for the perfect resort in Punta Cana!

A huge thank you to the wonderful entertainment staff for making our vacation so fun!! They taught us to dance and were so kind and friendly! We loved the pool activities and their amazing energies!!
A special thank you to Bianny, Yan Carlos Bboy, Darlys and Darinel DJ Choky!!!

Also thank you to Jose Luis who greeted us at the reception so nicely and took care of all our needs with a huge smile! Thank you to Danya, housekeeping, for the cleanest room at the highest standards!!
Thank you Ledelkis who remembered our special order at the breakfast buffet and served us with a huge smile every morning!

Thank you to the bell boy, Alfanso, for a great welcome to the hotel!

Every member of this resort is friendly, caring and helpful. The entire resort including pools, beaches, restaurants and public areas are super clean and maintained at the highest standards. The suites are beautiful and so clean with housekeeping service twice a day!! The food is amazing with endless delicious options and 9 fabulous restaurants!! The bartender and waiter service is phenomenal, they all go above and beyond to make you happy and satisfy your requests.
In terms of Covid-19, this is the cleanest and most sanitary hotel! Staff wear masks, there is hand sanitizer everywhere, plastic dividers in the buffet and a free covid test at the hotel which is a super quick and conveniently smooth process.
We will definitely come back!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ahgfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Excellence Collection, Guest Services / Front Office at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to write and share your feedback with other travelers.
We are delighted to read that you were impressed by our health and safety protocols. We are passionate about paying attention to detail since our main goal is to provide high standards of cleanliness and hygiene, and unparalleled customer service and luxury to our guests. We assure you that we will continue working hard in this direction to have more guests satisfied with the outstanding service our guests expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is by far the BEST resort in Punta Cana!!!! Thank you to all the members at Excellence Punta Cana for a PERFECT vacation.
A special thank you to the wonderful entertainment staff for making our vacation so fun!! They taught us to dance bachata and salsa and were so kind and friendly! We loved the pool activities and dance lessons!!
Thank you Bianny, Yan Carlos Bboy, Darlys and Darinyl DJ Choky!!! Also thank you to Jose Luis who greeted us at the reception so nicely and took care of all our needs with a huge smile! Thank you to Danya for going above and beyond to provide us the cleanest room at the highest standards!!
Thank you Ledelkis who remembered our special order at the breakfast buffet and served us without even having to ask!
Every single aspect of this resort is perfect. Every member of this resort is friendly, caring and helpful. The entire resort including pools, beaches, restaurants and public areas are super clean and maintained at the highest standards. The suites are beautiful and so clean with housekeeping service twice a day!! The food is amazing with endless delicious options and 9 fabulous restaurants!! The bartender and waiter service is phenomenal, they all go above and beyond to make you happy and satisfy your requests.
In terms of Covid-19, rest assured this is the cleanest and most sanitary hotel! Staff wear masks, there is hand sanitizer everywhere, plastic dividers in the buffet and a free covid test at the hotel which is a super quick and conveniently smooth process. We felt so safe and secure here!!
We will definitely come back! This resort is highly recommended for anyone looking for the perfect resort in Punta Cana!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Excellence Collection, Guest Services / Front Office at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with other travelers.
We are pleased to hear from you that we were able to exceed your expectations due to our stunning and well-maintained grounds and facilities, and there are plenty of food options to choose from and so are the entertainment and pool choices.
As a luxurious all-inclusive resort, we take care of every single detail in order to provide an unforgettable guest experience and exceed its expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can not say enough about our housekeeper, her name is Evelyn, My husband and I have traveled all over and have always had not so great results as to the daily cleaning of our room. Evelyn has far exceeded our expectations , She is committed to her job and the welfare of the guests. She has demonstrated awesome management skills . Evelyn would make a wonderful supervisor. The Excellence company should invest education benefits in Evelyn, such as English and housekeeping management classes. This would be an awesome investment for your company and it would give a hard working individual the opportunity to advance and succeed. Thank you Evelyn. We stayed August 1 through August 10 2021. When I return I will be checking in on Evelyn. Hope she will be our housekeeping supervisor .

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 348billsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Excellence Collection, Guest Services / Front Office at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with other travelers.
We are very glad to hear from you that we are able to meet your expectations in all the areas, which are taken care of, and you enjoyed your stay with us mainly due to the outstanding service provided by Evelyn to make you feel extra pampered. We will pass your kind words along to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews