We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very spacious condo in a beautiful development”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
2 reviews
Buffer Area
Dux Chivas Club
Dux Chivas Club @ Fishing Lodge
Dux Chivas Club @ Fishing Lodge
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue C
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very spacious condo in a beautiful development”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We chose the condo at Fishing Lodge as we were traveling with our 2 children and wanted more space than a hotel room. The condo was extremely spacious and exactly as shown in the photographs with 2 1/2 bathrooms, fully fitted kitchen (with washing machine), balcony off the main sitting room as well as a covered balcony off the master bedroom. We were not expecting it to have Internet as the info given suggested it would not so we were pleasantly surprised to find it had wifi. The view over the marina was beautiful to wake up to each morning. The condos are in a block attached to a hotel called Alsol Luxury Village. Checkin was straightforward and the hotel staff transported us from reception to the condo in a golf cart. The marina development is like a small village with gym, spa, mini market, hair salon and multiple restaurants to choose from. On the other side of the condos is another hotel called Alsol Tiara which is more modern. Each hotel has its own beautiful pool complex and restaurants for breakfast, dinner, etc and the beach which is on this side of the marina is just a few minutes walk from the condo at the Alsol Tiara. It is however VERY small! We were able to eat at any of the restaurants in both hotels although we found the food and drinks extremely expensive. We looked into buying an all inclusive meal plan but it would have restricted us to only a couple of restaurants (as they don't offer the same options as they do for hotel guests), so we decided not to. To give you an idea of prices - dinner every night was $200 for 4 people, including wine/beer), breakfast was $20 per person (no child discount), lunch/poolside drinks was around $80 -$100 for the 4 of us. The food in the restaurants was mixed considering the prices charged. The best beach by far was Juanillo Beach which is on the other side of the marina and accessible by car or free hotel shuttle (leaves from reception at 9,10 and 11am returning at 2,3 and 4pm (or you can easily take a taxi for $3) - it is too far to walk though! This is the beach that is shown in all the photos - beautiful white sand beach and clear blue sea, and not busy at all. There are a couple of restaurants on the beach - we liked Littlejohns best - great shade/seating/bed options and the food and drinks were all excellent and much better value for money than the hotels. Also great toilets and showers - everything you need!
We were a little disappointed that there were not more beach activities/water sports available. There are paddle boards and kayaks at the Scape Park private beach club (next to Littlejohns) but the food options are limited there to a set menu and it was expensive.

Other negatives: We had major problems with the key card to the condo for the first 3 days. When we arrived it did not work at all and we stood outside for half an hour while the hotel staff tried to fix it. Once fixed, it worked for 24 hours and then we were left standing outside once again waiting for someone to come and fix it. The battery was changed but it still did not work! Eventually we were given a metal key to use, although this too was temperamental! I noticed that a previous guest had had the same issues so I would suggest to the owner that the whole locking mechanism needs to be changed as we found it extremely frustrating! The hotel said it was the owners responsibility to sort out the problem.

Other than that, and the cost of eating out, we had a fabulous trip and would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The marina development
Liked least: Tiny beach accessible from the condo/cost of eating out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thanks for the review Sue.
Ricardo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlmiri...
new hope, pa
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful , Spacious and Upscale”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is spacious. Design details are very upscale.. Beautiful bathrooms. Large walk in closet in the master. Gorgeous marina views. Breathtaking sunsets. The grounds look like a Hollywood movie set with very few people. Ricardo was very reliable and responds immediately.
This apartment is in the Fishing village which has more activities than the other villages. We just came back from 3 weeks there. I have some suggestions as follows:
1-Do not take a food inclusive plan. It's expensive and food is mediocre
2-Instead rent a car and do it from Ricardo. Airport rentals are very unreliable.
3-Ask for a metal key. Plastic keys either do not work or do not work for long.
4-There are many great restaurants within a short drive. The Tripadvisor ratings are accurate
5-Have your plant boxes weeded and use raid on the terrace. The gnats that live in the weeds are viscious
6-If you like a few activities and some people around the Fishing Village is great. If you want total seclusion and no people other villages are better. For beach Aquamarina Beach is good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, design, master walk in closet
Liked least: plastic key that did not work
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks for the review Pearl.
Ricardo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$350
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing