We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,203)
Filter reviews
9,203 results
Traveller rating
5,311
2,426
837
316
313
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,311
2,426
837
316
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews selections buffet splash bar diamond club ramon fuego bellini bar bubbles pool royalton restaurants bella cucina royalton buffet beans cafe sea restaurant kids club sister hotel premium room family vacation quiet pool great family resort
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 9,203 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

General: We stayed as a family of four from March 22-29th in a Premium Jacuzzi Family Suite in building 7. We put in a request at the time of booking for bunk beds for our two kids but were warned that there was no guarantee (by our agent). Unfortunately, there are only about 15 rooms total in the family suites that have them and we did not get the bunks. We had 2 double beds which wasn't terrible, just maybe not ideal as our boy (10) and girl(8) really wanted their own beds. Beds and linens were clean with lots of comfy pillows. Mattresses felt a little hard/firm for our personal tastes, however. Bathroom was well stocked with toiletries as was the enormous oversized shower. Could have used a 2nd garbage can for the room. One very small one for a family of 4 filled up quickly.
A well stocked fridge was in the room as well. Stocked with sodas, beers, water and a bottle of champagne! Personal coffemaker with lots of sugar, creamers and tea bags, refilled daily.
Nice sized balcony that overlooked a roadway that wasn't too noisy and a great little spot to enjoy your morning coffee.
There is a concierge down in main lobby of each building should you need anything. Be aware that they are going to offer a "free breakfast or lunch" over at the Royalton. This is to have you over there and entice you to buy into a vacation plan that they have set up (something like a time share). You are under no obligation to attend or to purchase. Be firm if you are not interested and they will understand.
Grounds: We were very close to the main/party pool area. Very lively pool and most popular. Lots of activities daily, swim up bar and regular bar. Poolside BBQs almost daily. Amazing staff. Ramon at the bar was always there greeting you with a smile, a hello and often with a bartending trick or two up his sleeve!
Restaurants: We attempted to try all of the a la cartes (3 on Memories side) but as they do not require reservations, its very busy each night by 6pm-7:30pm with a wait time of 45 mins-1hr (not ideal for younger kids). We only tried the seafood restaurant which we all enjoyed. Good service, decent selection and fresh.
We frequented the buffet mostly. Typical buffet foods with some nice additions like tasty black beans and rice, red snapper, crab legs and more. Quite a few people who could use a lesson in manners, especially when it came to there being a very obvious line up for something and them stepping in front of everyone ;)
The staff working in the restaurants are constantly moving, clearing plates, refilling waters and serving beverages. They were smiling and attentive, even when the place was packed. They even put up with extremely demanding guests who would snap their fingers to grab their attention...
Snack bar: we tried the little snack bar near the kids club. Simple burgers, dogs and fries. Tasty and quick.
Quaint little coffee shop next door serving pastries and hot drinks all day long. Wonderful service in there. Always greeted with a smile.
Water park: what a fun place for the kids! We tried all of the slides and the mini wave pool. Lots of spots to lay out in the sun. Non-alcoholic drinks bar on site. Open from 9am-5pm.
Beach: a short train ride to the Royalton side that takes you to the beach. Beautiful, soft, white sand and gorgeous water. The Memories beach was a smaller, condensed area which made it hard to find even one chair by itself. Its a shared beach and you can't sit on the Royalton or Hideaway sides...
Entertainment: This staff is always on. They start their days early making sure you are smiling, enjoying yourself and trying to get people to participate. Memories side had terrific staff including Jay Bird, Pablo (my son's 2 favourite guys) and Spaghetti (my daughters' fave). They entertained kids and adults alike everyday. Amazing.
Grounds: Lots to see and do on site. Beautiful and maintained all the time. Lovely peacocks, ducks, chickens, other birds, turtles and tiny fish all around the resort.
I would go back here in an instant. Good value for our money and they made us feel like family.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Before I start I want to say that the service from Tui was great. No problems. The service however from the hotel was shocking. I had booked this hotel as a birthday present and had looked at hundreds of reviews for different hotels and thought this hotel was the perfect option.

Arrival: Got given the wrong room. Went back to reception and was forced to pay extra to get the correct room even though I was showing them the email clearly stating the room I had booked. Reception did not follow the correct procedures which was confirmed by Tui themselves. I had to call first choice 24/7 number who rectified the issue. Without doing this I would have most definitely have had to pay extra for the room I had originally booked. They cancelled the transaction the next day. This was probably because my complaint went all the way back to the U.K. Travellers travelling for over 13 hours should not be treated this way.
Tui reps are only allowed on the resort for a maximum of 2 hours a day during the morning so if you have a late flight and arrive in the evening they will not be there to sort out any problems.

Room: When finally given the correct room.. bed, sofa, t.v’s and overall space was lovely. The taps were broken. Shower in bath wouldn’t work, balcony door didn’t lock and a plug in the bathroom was unsafe to use as it had melted. These issues were reported but never truly fixed. They tried to glue the tap back on but the sealant didn’t work and the tap would come off in our hands. Fridge sounded like a jumbo jet taking off all throughout the night.
Housekeeping: This was okay. Would be nice if they stocked the fridge the same time as cleaning the room. Housekeeping staff are very noisy outside your room. No consideration for others.

Food: Buffet was the same buffet you get everywhere when you go all inclusive. Stick to the omelettes and pasta that can be freshly made for you otherwise you may end up with an icky tummy.
Selections buffet can not handle torrential downpour and rains and floods inside. Food had to be removed off of the counter because of where it was flooding. Not very hygienic really.
Found a hair in our roof st the al a carte, staff were rude and insulting. Tried to pretend it wasn’t a hair.

Activities: Didnt really take part in the activities so can’t comment but the Vibe team seem to work day and night and everyone else seemed to enjoy it. There’s a quiet pool for people who just want to relax.

Grounds. Kept very clean, gardeners always out. Lots of wildlife to look at.

Splash park: Very good. Slides definitely get your adrenaline working! Wave pool was good. Always manage to get loungers.

Next door at the Royalton: Seemed to be a bit more upmarket but more chaotic at the same time. Good shops and has a better coffee shop than the one at Memories.

Beach: lovely white sand, can struggle to get a lounger.

Complained and got compensation from the hotel for all of our problems we had.
Hotel did try to offer us other alternatives such as a moonlit dinner on the beach and a special meal specifically for us at one of the al a cartes but we politely declined as we felt it was too many problems to be fixed just by food.
Would we go again? No.
Could we have just been very unlucky? Possibly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comunity1puj, Manager at Memories Splash Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your important time to provide us your review of your recent stay in our property.

In our Front Desk we strive to provide a high level of service and help our valued guest with all their requests; we would like to apologize for the bad experience you had at the moment of your check in and your perception about our service, I can assure you that in Royalton Punta Cana we are characterize for providing the highest level of service to our very estimate guests, we will forward your constructive information to our Rooms Manager in order to make a deep investigation and find out what caused this particular incident, please receive our most sincere apologies.

Our food is characterizes and recognized for being a high quality of gourmet that our estimate guests tend to highlight, we feel very glad to learn you enjoyed our Mexican and Under the sea Restaurant, we are going to make sure and share your amazing comments with the staff, nevertheless your constructive observations are going to be addressed to our Executive Chef In order to make improvements in the situation.

The beach and pool we have in our property are full of brightness and well maintained for our guest to enjoy from a refreshing swim to an awesome sunbath, thank you so much for highlighting them.

We invite you to Escape to Punta Cana, one of the most beautiful destinations in the Caribbean, situated on the tropical island of the Dominican Republic. Memories Splash Punta Cana Resort and Spa is an all-inclusive hotel that offers the perfect vacation haven for all, from families to couples, sports enthusiasts to business executives, honeymooners and more.

We really appreciate your constructive observation as they help us to improve in all aspects, we would love to have the chance of welcoming you back in our property in the near future for us to try our best and create an unforgettable experience for you.


Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
Resorts Manager Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Memories Splash Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Some highs and some lows--- the food in the buffet was plentiful and overall was pretty good. You have to get to the specialty restaurants early or be prepared to wait in line but the quality of the food seems to be better than the buffet overall. The employees here are all extremely friendly and it seems genuine. The grounds are wonderfully maintained and there are plenty of employees everywhere to help with just about anything. All the pools are lovely; one is louder and more of a party. The beach is a 10 minute walk and it's crowded but there are lots of amenities and the sand is white powder. Having said all that we did have some issues including the hairdryer in our room did not work and even after asking several different employees over two days it was never fixed. We ended up going without it. We had no hot water one day. We had to ask for several hours on our first day here to get the rollaway bed that we were promised and got it finally at 10:30pm. On multiple occasions hotel staff, concierge, guest services and front desk tried to upsell us or give us sales presentations which infuriates me.

Overall a nice place but I'd probably see what else we could find if we come back to Punta Cana.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comunity1puj, Manager at Memories Splash Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your important time to provide us your review of your recent stay in our property.

We invite you to Escape to Punta Cana, one of the most beautiful destinations in the Caribbean, situated on the tropical island of the Dominican Republic. Memories Splash Punta Cana Resort and Spa is an all-inclusive hotel that offers the perfect vacation haven for all, from families to couples, sports enthusiasts to business executives, honeymooners and more.

Our staffs are our biggest asset as they are very professional and really hardworking people always striving to create amazing experiences for our very valued guests; it really makes us proud you highlighted our staff, we are going to make sure and share your positive comments with them.

In our restaurants we invite our valued guests to treat their taste buds to a flavor sensation as they feast on eclectic cuisines from around the world. Enjoy local and international delights in buffet-style or a la carte dining venues, then grab a signature cocktail, and mingle with other guests at the many on site bars. Treat yourself to a mid-afternoon coffee and exquisite dessert at the café; In our restaurants we offer the best International Gourmet Cuisine for our valuable guests to embark in a journey of delicious experiences; it makes us so glad you could fully enjoy our variety of food and highlighted it as great.

Through a world of luxury and endless possibilities within paradisiacal resorts and destinations, TravelSmart VIP offers you unique experiences for all tastes: relaxing, recreational, adventurous, refreshing and always enjoyable; we regret your opinion about it.
Concierge service only strives to help our valued guests with all the requests they have and so make their stay good and pleasant, we would like to extremely apologize for the perception you got of them, you can rest assured this constructive observation will be address to our Guest Service Manager for him to make a deep investigation and make improvements about it.

In general, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay in our property, we are going to make sure and share your observations with our whole management in order to make improvements if applies.

We would love to have the chance of welcoming you back in the near future for us to try our best and create the best experience for you.


Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
Resorts Manager Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Memories Splash Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

My son and I had a great time. Clean hotel, great restaurants, pool was fun. Enjoyed the beach. Great waterpark. Loved the entertainment both at Memories splash and Royalton

Special thanks to Rigo for entertaining my son at the teen club

Thx to Ramon for his special delivery drinks

Thx to the entertainment staff. Spaghetti Lola Juan and the rest of the vibe team

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank bells272018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Paid extra for the Diamond Club. Room service is supposed to come with. Called last night. They wanted to charge me based on my room number. When I challenged them and said I had a Diamond Club they backed off. Guess my room overlooking the loud pool isn’t really Diamond Club!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank BmacSpringfield_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comunity1puj, Manager at Memories Splash Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018


Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your important time to provide us your review of your recent stay in our property.

Our staff are characterizes for being charming, helpful and they are always trying their best to create amazing experiences for our very valued guests, we really regret your perception of our Staff we are going to make sure and share your constructive observation with our Guest Service Manager in order to make an investigation and find out what happened in this particular situation.

We encourage all our guests to try our Diamond Club which I s a premium level of service features the comfort of anticipatory service, exclusive à la carte restaurants and bar areas, as well as the shimmering pool and pristine beach areas for the sole use of Diamond Club™ guests. Highly trained butlers help fulfill your every request, including dinner reservations and the organizing of special occasions; we sincerely regret your opinion of our diamond club, we are going to make sure we share this information with our Diamond Club Manager in order to make an investigation and find out what made you get this perception, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences this incident might have caused you.

In general, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay in our property, we are going to make sure and share your observations with our whole management in order to make improvements if applies.

We would love to have the chance of welcoming you back in the near future for us to try our best and create the best experience for you.


Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
Resorts Manager Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Memories Splash Resort.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews