We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$293
US$210
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$331
US$230
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$387
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$361
US$263
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$395
US$288
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$412
US$310
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRS Turquesa Hotel(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$306
US$227
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Del Mar by Joy Resorts(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11,096)
Filter reviews
11,096 results
Traveller rating
5,174
3,187
1,464
692
579
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,174
3,187
1,464
692
579
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden grillclub diamonda la carte restaurantsmain buffetkaraoke barbbq restaurantcloser to the beachmain poolguest servicesseafoodthomas cooklarge resortdominican republicsteakbeach poolother resortsel pescador
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 11,096 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

My partner, little girl (6) and myself were looking forward to our family holiday to this hotel. Thinking it was going to be a tropical paradise and an extremely relaxing holiday.
No. Nothing of the sort.
My little girl fell ill with sickness and diarrhea. Had a high temperature of 39.5 and became delirious. We had to take her to the on site doctor. (the only good thing about the hotel) she was put on an IV with fluids and medicine. We also met a couple of other families who's children fell ill around the same time and were diagnosed with hand foot and mouth. This came from the contaminated pools. At least 5 children had fallen ill and were taken to hospital. None of the pools were closed in the meantime, even when we confronted the hotel staff they just played dumb. When my little girl was poorly we needed new sheets, new towels and a new bed as you can imagine I wanted them fast. We rang reception and 3 hours later we were finally relieved of the dirty laundry, when my partner told reception of our predicament he proceeded to laugh. I did not find this funny. Not one bit. In addition to this there are never any towels when you need to change them, the garden grills food is shocking. It is basically like a cattle market. We left this hotel after 9 days after we found out the pools were contaminated and we wished we had left much sooner. Think twice before booking this place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank sallytee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We cannot tell you how sorry we are for the inconvenient that you mentioned, and that situation has tarnished the image that you have about us. However, allow us to inform you, that the disease hand, foot, and mouth is a viral disease that is acquired not only in the pools, as well as the contact between people and also by high summer temperature.

On the other hand, we would like to inform you that our pools are cleaned several times a day. In fact, the health and welfare of our guests are our priority and we follow a strict program of cleaning and constant monitoring of all quality standards in our hotel.

Furthermore, it is very important to inform you that, until today we do not have an outbreak of this virus.

Always at your disposal,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Last minute vacation booking with my best friend as we were celebrating our 40th birthdays! Both our first times to DR and Punta Cana! We stayed from Oct 1-8 and travelled with West Jet Vacations.

Location: Short drive from the airport, transported in a mini van. Driver was friendly and efficient. Some confusion waiting for other guests from other resorts...not an issue.

Resort: OMG...where to begin. We had a beautiful room in Bungalow 79 (79203)...our room was decorated for our birthday as was our room with balloons and champagne. Our room was cleaned daily and I cannot give a name for our housekeeper but the floor was swept each day, towels replaced and beds were fresh and bug free! On one occasion our toilet overflowed (our fault...should not have flushed toilet paper), called the front desk. Within 5 minutes the maintenance men were there and fixed the problem. They then called housekeeping to clean the water from the floor as we were going for supper. Everything was clean and back to normal when we arrived.

The resort itself is huge...but there is transportation that runs every 10 minutes and there are little huts to wait in out of the weather! I also wanted to mention not only how clean the housekeeping staff was throughout the resort but the guys who constantly clean the walk ways are awesome! Everything was so well taken care of and the pride of the workers was evident!

Beach: beach was beautiful. Yes there was seaweed...big deal! There are also vendors on the beach but they wear shirts with their names and license # on them. We were not hassled or bothered. Security is present on the beach as are employees who spend the day raking seaweed! We always found a place to sit/lounge.

Pool: Amazing! Pools did have lifeguard presence! Again lots of seating and lots of pools to choose from. One day a child pooped in the pool...I say this because the pool was shut down but the lifeguard and security for 3-4 hours. Person came out with lab coat and chemical kit...safety for guests was evident. Parents...please wear pull-ups on your kids! This happened x 2 during our visit! Pool side bars were fantastic. Bartenders at all the bars very professional...no preference given to those with smallest bikini, etc. First come, first served! Very much appreciated! Would also like to mention one of the excursion reps from Coco Bongo, Gustove. We talked with him at length pool side about DR. He was so friendly, didn't push his excursion even though they all work on commission. Say hi to him if you get a chance! He speaks great english!

Entertainment crew: Each night the entertainment crew for our resort was amazing. The in-house band singer was great! So much energy and enthusiasm. A shout out to Mr. Chocolate (Nathaniel) and Carlos as well as the two female entertainers! You work hard and should be acknowledged! The Michael Jackson show is AMAZING!!!

Buffet: The main buffet is wonderful. I may go into a little to much detail but lets face it food is important when you are on vacation. Firstly, linen table clothes on each table, changed after each guest. Salt and pepper on each table and no shortage of utensils. Themed nights are beautiful...the chef's are artists! Food is not mass produced or sitting for hours. It was fresh and hot and ++ selection. Lots of salad ingredients, fresh fruit (all peeled), desserts, breads and even microwaves to heat up whatever (its the small things). And if you like pop it is a Pepsi resort! Bottled pepsi in the mini bar and at all other bars/meal places. Also should note all the ice is brought in bagged. Very impressed. I travel every year "down south"...I am always very careful about what I eat and drink but after a few days was able to relax and enjoy! Japanese restaurant was amazing (I believe our chef was Domingo)...he did a great job! Overall, food was fantastic!! Did not do a lot of a la carte's as the buffet was awesome! Dining room is air conditioned and little to no flies present. Again, very clean!

Overall, this was a wonderful last minute vacation (we were originally booked for Cuba). My family and I are already planning a return trip for March 2018! Thanks for the great memories!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank StephanieNL-1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Stephanie,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for mentioning our clean Resort, friendly staff, and nice facilities.

We hope to welcome you once again for more days to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities

Best regards,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived to a very impressive reception area, quick check-in to room 36103. It seemed ok abit dated, noted stains on walls from people hitting annoying insects etc. Went out had our first evening meal in buffet, it was good but noticed some food was luke warm. Woke up during night to find our room covered in black flies and mosquitoes. My husband noticed apart from the ceiling fan we had no air con working. Walked into bathroom, it was infested with black flies, the walls, towels, bath, incl toothbrushes covered. Outside bathroom our sheets were also covered so an early morning visit to Thomson Rep only to find it was there Day off. So a trip to reception, as phone in room didn't work and I got an electric shock from lamp stand. They did not seem surprised offered us another room in same block but we refused. So at 3pm we had to move to top floor to 38304 block. The cleaner had obviously been in and cleaned up flies and made bed in old room but when porters helped us move our suitcases the infestation was back and the porters were abit dubious about coming into room. This room seemed ok we had to shake all the clothes off before re-hanging them up, however we did have a few little crawling visitors living behind the fridge that barely worked, but we were abit sick at this point so the flip flop came in handy. Don't expect pool drinks service, she only ever made it to approx 4 sunloungers past bar. you have to go to bar yourself, the top pool bar was well kept, water clean and beautifully warm. Bar staff fast and friendly. No snack bar, you have to get on minibus and travel down to beach bar!!!! The beach is not what is shown in brochure pic. It's covered in seaweed which they try to clear everyday. You are crammed into a small space as the area is sectioned off for different VIP areas. There are pools at beach but it's like club 18-30s so we used to visit beach after 5pm when quite. The A La Carte are poor, BBQ is just that a self service buffet with a BBQ, Garden Grill was disappointing we asked for well done steaks, got med rare, asked to have it cooked further but also got the original food also left on plate while waiting for steaks so it was cold. The Med was also good, you have to book when got get there or you will be left with rubbish times. You will also find a lot of the meats are not well cooked including chicken and beef. All got abit tired after a week. Gala night is very good especially if you like seafood. Shows worth seeing is Lion King and Michael Jackson, get your seat early. The poolside BP tours are good lads Joseph n junior, we did the dune buggies, went back n did it on Quads and safari, but was totally upset at poor state of horses, we told the guys n hopefully they are changing this itinerary. In all this complex is huge, understaffed, dated, but garden areas beautifully kept. Definitely not worth the money.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank mamijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We are really sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations with our services. Your observations have been taken in the highest consideration and shared with the General Manager of our Resort to analyze the points you mentioned.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention, especially our Gala night, beautiful premise and good shows at evening especially Lion King and Michael Jackson.

Always at your disposal,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We stayed here the last week in july the first week in august. The complex is HUGE split into different sections of apartments. we were next to the adult section with our daughter But never really heard any overpowering noise coming from the section. The food is never to everyones taste, there was always and ample choice for even the fussiest person.. we tried the steak house, the italian, the Japanese show cooking, the bbq, dominican style, and the mexican al a carte restaurants. they were all fantastic the Japanese show cooking was our favorite, the bar service gets a little hectic at times all over the complex ( where we visited anyway) just pick your moment. Theirs waiters and waitresses offering a bar service in the lobby area. The entertainment was not the greatest weve seen nor by far the worst. We normally just sat in the lobby on an evening where there is wifi. The wifi isnt great but it works.. The closer you sit to reception the stronger the signal. The pools we visited their was people picking up used plastic cups keeping the area clean but like everything else hundreds leaving empty cups and 1 or 2 collecting theres going to be a few blown about. There is golf buggys constantly runnning around the complex if you get tired just hop on one.. The beach area and that big pool at the beach are the busiest.. they play games and music for the adults and kids. the restaurant at the beach are open from 10am till 5pm. the beach combers are constantly picking up the sea weed that comes in from the ocean, you see trucks daily taking tons away..all in all we had a fantastic hoilday here at the gran bahia principe bavaro and would return 9/10

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Kevin,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed of a wonderful holiday thanks to our rich gastronomy as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahía Príncipe our goal to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and, it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!!

Kind regards,

Carlos Rondon
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We were here for our wedding and on arrival during the first night we were given what can only be described as a hostile reception by a receptionist by the name of Hilda.
We then arrived at our room and this was not the room we expected. We then had to move rooms again, and on the new room we had limited air conditioning and were not given our VIP bracelets until 1 week in.

Our wedding was well organised and went well however the photograph price was nothing short of rediculous.

We would recommend that anyone holding a wedding on this resort gets all prices agreed up front.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank CelticCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration.

Thank you for your recent review with us.

Always at your disposal,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews