We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$337
US$153
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
US$128
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$184
Be Live Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$230
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$218
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$194
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$218
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
NH Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,470)
Filter reviews
6,470 results
Traveller rating
3,529
1,814
696
241
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,529
1,814
696
241
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanaswim up barsister resortsea grassmusty smellmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
3,345 - 3,350 of 6,470 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel last week of September and 1st week of October.
This is not an exclusive adult only resort, it is a shared resort, if you want exclusive adult only choose another hotel. All of the money seems to have been spent on the main 'family' side. On the adult side there is only one bar after 6pm and two restaurants, all of the entertaniment, choice of bars and restaurants are all on the 'family' side.
We had upgraded to a deluxe suite and this was fine, the only problem we had on the 1st night after being shown to the room was that the safe did not work. It took 2 hours till eventually it was replaced, not what you want on the 1st night after a trans-atlantic flight.The A/C worked fine apart from the last few days and the room was always cleaned daily with a turn down service in the evening.
Food was average in all the restaurants with limited choice for non fish eaters. Service in all of them was fine.
We had no problems with the language barrier, learn some phrases before you go, it helps a lot.
The beach is very nice, yes there is a problem with seaweed but that is cleared regularly, the sea is clear and calm. the sand soft & fine.
We mainly used the thalassa pool as there was not enough shaded cover at the infinity pool.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive, regardless of whether you tip or not.
What really made the trip was the people that we met, especially scooby doo who provided lots of laughs.
For us this hotel did not meet our expectations and we would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My girlfriend and I chose Royal Bavaro based partly on its popularity on Tripadvisor and numerous positive reviews-we were not disappointed. The review is broken down into sub-sections, so feel free to read the whole thing or scroll to what interests you.

Check-in:

No issues whatsoever, staff was very friendly and accommodated our request of a deluxe room on the 3rd floor...Speedy process and they ferried us over to Villa 38 with our bags.

Room:

Totally awesome! We were blown away with how perfect it was...Nice corner room with a clear view of the infinity pool and a bit of the beach from our balcony. It was no more than a 2 minute walk to either the main pool or the beach. The bed was super comfortable and while the AC wasn't ice cold, it did the job. The spacious shower was by far our favorite part, you can't go wrong with 2 shower heads.

Food:

Tapas was the best restaurant on the property, hands down; the grouper was unbelievable! As mentioned by some other reviewers, Thalassa, the restaurant off the lobby, tends to have poor airflow and got stuffy at times. But the food over there was good too and we went there for breakfast everyday. We tried Mexican on the Bavaro side one night and while it was pretty good, the presentation or service wasn't anywhere near that of Royal. The only disappointments from a food perspective was the buffet on the Bavaro side (just awful; very low quality, don't waste your time) and the Sea Blue Cafe for lunch. Very poor service there and below average food.

Service:

This was the only area that dropped Royal Bavaro down a star. While service was very prompt and attentive at Tapas, at all the other restaurants, including the formal Thalassa, we frequently had to ask for water refills, waited a long time for menus, bread or anyone to take our dessert order. The staff seemed to have trouble transitioning from one course to another. It got even more confusing because one person takes your order, another fills water, another brings the food and yet another brings any alcoholic drinks you order. It's hard to keep track of who to speak to! By far the worst service was at Sea Blue Cafe; the staff there just didn't seem to care and wandered around aimlessly restocking tables with napkins/silverware, clearing dishes etc, all while we sat at a table either waiting to order or staring at empty glasses. I think we waited close to 15 minutes for anyone to come over and ask us if we wanted dessert or more beers.

As for service in the room, we were overall pleased. We left the maid $5 the first day and asked her to leave us more bottled water and the fridge was always stocked with plenty, as well as beer. One day we never received new beach towels but it wasn't that big of a deal. They clean the rooms a bit late; most days it wasn't done until after 4pm.

Grounds:

Magnificent, always lots of staff manicuring all the plants etc...Just gorgeous. Beach was lots of fun; the fish are domesticated and will eat bread out of your hand. We never had any issue getting a seat at the beach or pool. Yes, it gets crowded in the morning but you can just drag chairs somewhere and then around 1pm, everyone goes to lunch and you have your pick of seats. The infinity pool was very relaxing and the bar service was very prompt and friendly. The swim up bar at the main pool was neat too but sometimes had to wait awhile for a drink.


Suggestions:

**Turn-down service should not be at 6:30pm. Most people are having some private time, napping, showering or getting ready for dinner during that time. 8:30-10 would have been more appropriate.

**Expand late-night room service menu or open a late night "munchie" type snack bar. After I've had numerous strong drinks, I want something like chicken fingers, wings or a cheeseburger. After 11pm, a ham and cheese sandwich doesn't sound all that appetizing.

**Create more smoke-free areas. It seemed like wherever we went, we were surrounded by smokers; it got old very fast. Thankfully, our 3rd night there 'No Smoking' signs magically appeared in the lobby, so we hung out there most nights and had drinks while playing cards. There should seating areas of each pool where smoking is prohibited.

Despite a few issues here and there, Royal Bavaro is still a great all-inclusive resort. Just ignore all these people writing 1-2 star, nasty reviews nitpicking every little thing. They will never be happy and just like to complain. Thanks for a great vacation Royal!

Room Tip: Upgrading to a 'Deluxe' vs the 'Superior' is worth it. They are updated and have a much better shower and location.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank evanbr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and suggestions on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very important for us.

We are glad you had a great vacation during your stay at Catalonia Royal. It’s our pleasure.
Thank you for choosing us, we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I returned to UK 3rd October after 2 wonderfully relaxing weeks at CRB!
Check-in quick and easy-had our first cocktails at the pool bar not much more than an hour after getting off the plane. Standard rooms are absolutely fine-a/c quiet and adequate (if only just)-large circular bath very relaxing, in addition to modern bathroom with good shower.
As it was our Anniversary and my Birthday we considered upgrading to one of the rooms with the small private pool but after viewing decided that the extra 220 USD per night was frankly not worth it!
Area around main lobby pool has plenty of sunloungers-a "good spot" could generally be obtained up to 9.00am. Beach another matter with great demand for comparatively few shady areas. Strenuous efforts made daily to clear seaweed from the beach-lovely clear water, if a tad shallow, but swimming nevertheless no problem and very relaxing. The Infinity Pool which backs right on to the beach was cool and refreshing after the salty sea-showering in between of course!
Food is always a very subjective issue, but in our opinion was generally very good! At breakfast orders for omellettes etc are supposed to be taken at your table-yet some guests insist on approaching egg cook directly causing unfair delays to those who do as they should! Will probably take my own tea bags next time! ALL the restaurants with the possible exception of the Tapas have inadequate A/C and get uncomfortably warm when busy. We tried them all-our favourite by far was the tapas-the mexican and japanese received only one visit-but as mentioned previously everybody's taste is different. Some dishes, particularly soups were not always served as warm as they might have been.
Tipping was an issue that caused us some anxiety prior to our arrival-it needn't have. In general we found service not to be influenced by whether we tipped or not, but without doubt a dollar or two here and there when service was good or at the end of a "session" was much appreciated. A previous reviewer who tipped her maid over 20USD per week was definitely OTT in my opinion and likely to do more long term harm than good in setting unrealistic expectations.
In the evening the Piano Bar is the only place to get a drink where the air can get pretty unpleasant due to the permitted smoking-was obliged to take our drinks in to the lobby on a couple of occassions when this became unbearable.
Overall-well pleased and would return which surely says it all!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear guest,

We are happy you had a wonderful and relaxing vacation at Catalonia Royal.
Thank you for your comment about your stay on Trip Advisor.

It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your anniversary and birthday with the accommodations our Resort offers.

We will be waiting for your return.

Best regards,

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed first two weeks in September. Punta Cana airport a bit of nightmare with bottle neck queue through immigration as three fights landed together and coach park a problem as masses trying to locate thier coach. About half hour transfer to hotel with speedy check in and a fruit punch!
Ground floor room as requested overlooking the putting green. Celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and had lovely banner on the door saying HONEYMOONERS!! what a laugh!
Nice beach but seaweed a probelm but staff work all day clearing it, plenty of nice sunbeds.
men need long trousers to wear to the restauarants in the evening, so be prepared
Room was ok but nothing special and complimentary toiletries consisted of shampoo conditioner and bath gel only.
Food was more nouveau cuisine and menu did not change either lunch or dinner during our stay.
Very attentive friendly staff and manager always around

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank needsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comment.

We apologize for inconvenience during your stay.
Please know we take your feedback seriously to improve our guest service.

We are glad you received a good and friendly service from our staff.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Had a great time at this hotel from check in to check out, we loved the food the drinks & the staff,stayed in room 4441 the room was kept clean & always had well stocked fridge, the maids do a great job & deserve there tips as do the all the bar & restaraunt staff,we loved the steakhouse & Italian the most. We spent most of our time at the pool nearest the lobby & met some very nice friendly people,the wait staff made sure we had plenty to dirink without having to leave your lounger or pool! the beach was nice as is the infinity pool,we enjoyed the piano bar for a nightcap, it is a very quiet hotel but you could use the livlier hotel next door if so required! the ground staff keep gardens looking good,the bottle of rum & plate of fresh fruit in room on arrival was a nice touch, I also requested 3rd floor & got it, would def go back .

Room Tip: Choose room facing the pools as they are quieter + nice sun rise!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shugster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to read your comment on trip advisor.

Thank you for choosing us. We are delighted you enjoyed to the fullest . Thanks to our facilities and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcome you in the future.

Kindest regards,

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews