We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Everything was great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NEWFOUNDLAND, CANADA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I was at this resort with my sister- in-law the first week of nov.2011. For a relaxing vacation , and that it was. We enjoyed the restaurants very much and did take advantage of the restaurants on the other side. (Catalonia bavaro).The food was delicious.
The beach was still nice but further up is the more familiar long walking bavaro beach where you can walk for miles without interruption...
Overall we had a wonderful trip and stay here.... No issues at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PAM4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to receive your excellent comment on TripAdvisor.

It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed a relaxing vacation at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank to our accommodations and services. Again thank you for giving us a five star score.

It would be an honor to welcome you in the future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,748
    1,465
    569
    192
    170
See reviews for
351
3,810
79
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our first trip to the DR, after trips to all-inclusives in Jamaica, Nassua, and Puerto Rico. Catalionia Royal is beautifully maintained, right from the drive in past the golf course all the way to the beach! Our room in Villa 42 was large and lovely. We always had hot water, clean towels, and replenished toiletries. Our bed was very hard, but after we asked, a pillow top mattress pad was provided, which made all the difference! We enjoyed eating at Thalassa, Cata Tapas, and Sea Blue (yummy grilled lobster) on the Royal side, and the Italian and Japanese on the Bavarro side. The beach is expansive, with many palm trees and huts. We never had problems getting chairs at the beach or pool.. Yes, there is seaweed, but the beach is always being raked, and after the first steps into the water, you are past it. The water is calm and gentle, the coral reefs keep the breakers far out. The infinity pool is gorgeous, and the main pool and pool bar are a lot of fun. We found most of the staff to be very friendly and it was fun to try speaking our limited Spanish! We could always communicate in English without problems. We enjoyed two excursions, Dolphin World and FunBuggy. Both were excellent and we would highly recommend them. Our week went too fast and we seriously thought of extending, until we realized we had commitments at home. This resort is a great deal for your money! Gracious, amigos!!!! We will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal for your first visit to Punta Cana and for posting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

Your comments proves us we have achieved to exceed your expectations. It’s a joy to know you found our services excellent, and all the accommodations to make your stay unforgettable.

Thank you for recommending us, we will be waiting for your return to our Paradise.

Warmest regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have been to catalonia royal about 3 years ago and totally loved it. The adult only side (catalonia royal vs just catalonia) was more serene and very pleasant. We are going back there in the next couple of weeks and i am soooo loking forward for my midafternoon creps. Please someone tell me the creps are still available in Catalonia side! Last summer I went to Paris and I am telling you the many creps i tried there were not nearly as good as at Catalonia!! Service at catalonia royal is no better and no worse than any 4 an 41/2 star hotel in Punta cana, and i have been to about 16 or 17 of them. Twice next door at Globalia (formerly punta cana Grand) twice two doors down to your left as you face the ocean at Natura park which is about 1 hour walk on the beach passing through the village. I think it is hard to be pleased if you overpay for the tickets so keep your eyes open and buy smart.
Pls swomeone tell me about the creps. It will be the deciding factor in buying the tickets... (just kidding!)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to return to Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

We are delighted to receive your comment, and to welcome you back again.

We hope to exceed your expectations once again, please know the crepes are still available for your enjoyment.

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Been to the CRB from February 4th to the 11th, 2012. My request by email was taken into consideration, however my spouse being a smoker was surprised when they gave us a non smoking room without even advising us at the Reception desk, so I suggest that you mention if you are a smoker, in order not to have to wait a day to have a smoker's room.

My general opinion of this hotel is that the site is nice but not as beautiful as the Catalonia Bavaro side, which is quite surprising since this is supposed to be the Royal.

I have been to other Royal facilities and here are the things that I missed:
- there was no welcome gift (fruit basket or local liquor bottle) there was a publicity DVD given to us on our departure;
- no champagne other then on the Royal side, even when going to the A la carte restaurants, the only special service was that no reservations were required, but that is the extent of it;
- I always look forward to listening the Dominican music and the only place I could listen to it was at the first pool near the lobby but we prefered being at the Infinity pool because easier for me to get in (I need a cane to get around) - A good thing I had some saved in my Playbook.
- No fruit brochettes, nor pizzas served at the pool or the beach;
- the way the breakfast works at the Royal is that you order your eggs a la carte if you do not wish for the scrambled but you must go to the buffet to get the rest of your plate, so that means you either eat your eggs cold or the rest of your plate cold... We ate at the Bavaro buffet 3 or 4 breakfasts.
- this area of the beach is not as beautiful as other areas I've been to, because of the seaweeds and the way the sand is at the bottom (pretty wavy), it was difficult for me to walk there;

OK my trip was not that bad, I missed the perks but enjoyed:

- the beautiful bali-beds at the Infinity pool;
- the great service from the staff;
- the food was good (ps if you have a lobster at the Ocean Blue, do not expect an overweight one!!! - I think they are on a strick diet!!!);
- the beach party was fun - was held on the Catalonia Bavaro side;
- the quietness of the royal side was superb for a second trip in a 4 week period;
- the beauty of the Catalonia Bavaro site, with all the different trees, the ponds, the little bridges and the ducks.

Would I go back, not really.

Room Tip: Mention when you make your reservations if you are a smoker or a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to accommodate you for your stay, thank you for posting your vacation experience on TripAdvisor.

Receive our apologies for your discontent mentioned; please know we take your opinion and suggestions very seriously.

Also we are glad you received a great service from our staff, and enjoyed the relaxing ambiance, restaurants and activities we have to offer.

We would be honor is you choose to visit us once again; it will be our main goal to exceed your expectations.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Very relaxing vacation. Beautiful grounds and excellent service. A bit too much sea weed on the beach. Did not get the room as pictured when we booked so I was a little disappointed. The entertainment is only on the other side of the resosrt which was too crowded, tons of kids and noisy. Would have like some activities on adult side. There was only a beach party one night and a piano bar. A little live music in the lobby would have been nice and maybe some aqua aerobics or yoga on the adults only side. The food was average but everyone there tried to make you as happy as possible.

Room Tip: Facing the pool of adult hotel not near the pool of the family resort. It's very noisy even at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VivianinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.

Its great no know you had a very relaxing vacations at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

We appreciate your comments and important feedback. We apologize for setbacks. We take your comments in considerations, for our services. We are glad overall you received a special treat and hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
15.7 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
20.4 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#41 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.9 km away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
92.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
9.9 km away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): RM946 - RM1,892
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing