We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$180
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$427
US$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$250
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$293
US$188
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$273
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TRS Turquesa Hotel(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$459
US$359
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The MT Hotel(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (6,537)
Filter reviews
6,537 results
Traveller rating
3,562
1,835
702
244
194
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,562
1,835
702
244
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucacalifornia rollswim up barsister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
3,143 - 3,148 of 6,537 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have just come back from what I thought would be a wonderful vacation. We travel with friends and family every year and look forward to a great time in the D.R.. But NOT SO MUCH this year. Our Experience wasn't at all what we expected, or should I say promised. We did a lot of research on this resort, and felt we were getting a great deal with all they had to offer. Again, not so much. We also chose this resort because of the great golf package they had to offer, yeah, well after 2 days, were informed that the 18 hole golf course would be closing until November. (This was the main reason we chose Catalonia Royal). Very disappointed to say the least, one of the many disappointments we had. We did voice our complaints, and we surprised to say , they were not as important to the staff as they were to us. People, if you are advertising something on your website to get people to want to come and spend their $ to vacation at your resort, Then you should hold true to this. Not a good business move. Also the FOOD -was not as good as we have had in other resorts, and restaurants closing every day, sometimes 2 a day, leaving choices limited. PEOPLE-, some friendlier than others, we found you had to ask for what you wanted, not so in other resorts, they would go out of their way for you, Not Here... The ROOMS, - I must say , Very clean, fresh towels, the cleaning staff were GREAT, but the rooms did have a very musty smell. All in all , very disappointed in my stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. Won't return, when there is so much better other there . Sorry. I know there are Pro's and Con's to every resort, But we had more cons than pros.

Room Tip: More noise on the lower levels, people walking by the pool area Higher levels can see all the goings on across the pool area, the rooms with private pools , not so private.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

The resort and grounds were beautiful, the staff was very helpful and friendly. the beaches were very clean, beautiful white sand. the bluest water you've ever seen. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor!

We are enchanted to read you have decided to return to our Resort, we strive to make your stay unforgetable. thank you for the kind words!

Warmest regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have traveled to Punta Cana for 6 consecutive years and the Catolonia Royal Bavaro is the worse resort we have stayed in. We were attracted to the golf package so thought we'd give it a try. After our second day the 18 hole golf course closed until November. Also, the fruit basket and bottle of rum offered at time of arrival did not happen. When questioned about these ammenities, we were told you have to be a honeymooner to receive the fruit and rum and when booking through the website instead of a travel agent you will receive everything promosed on their website. Not true! The restaurants completely close on a daily basis so you may be buffeting it more than you want - and that is an experience in itself. If you plan on eating in these buffets get there right away because they do not replenish some of the food. The beef is awful!! They call some of it veal but it is so tough you cannot enjoy it. Most of the staff are not very friendly. We have stayed at the Melia Caribe Tropical and the Iberostar Bavaro and the staff there are execellent!! They willl do anything for you and you don't have to ask. Also, the food is much better quality and flavorful in those resorts. We will never return to the Catalonia. Please beware of what you're paying for. Royal Service?? We never received any!! Those private pools looking out to a lake - not so private. You do have your own pool with those suites but you are fully exposed to everyone walking by to go to the pool, beach and restaurant. The lake, well it wasn't a lake as we know it. It's a large pool with fountains spurting at night. You can stay at a lower priced suite and have the same view. On a positive note, our rooms were very nice, clean and received clean towels every day. We have no complaints about our rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CheriD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you taking your time to post on Trip Advisor.
We apologize for the inconvenience presented during your stay. We would like to clarify regarding the Golf, notifications had been sent for closure due to maintenance. We apologize for the discontent. About the restaurants, we provide a calendar with the restaurants schedules to make sure our guests can enjoy and plan their dinners. Your feedback is very valuable for our improvement. Please know we would be honored if you gave us the chance of a second visit to exceed your expectations.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent two wonderful weeks at the Royal from April 11th to april 25th. I really must say that it would be hard to find fault with this hotel, particularly with the service in all areas. The staff went the extra mile to accomodate you in any way they could. They approached you with big smiles many high fives and lots of hugs. I had the pleasure of getting to know a few of the food and beverage staff on a more personal level. It was very clear to me that these people truly loved their job working at the Royal. I was told that the Royal Aministration "took care of their staff." While we were there we were introduced to Luis, the food and beverage manager. Luis was at the hotel every day and was always on the go, but not so much that he couldn't stop and check in with us to make sure we were taken care of. I am including some photos of these fine staff: Roberto and Amarillis who work at the beach bar, Julio at the Thallasa and Sea Blue, and Anna who always greeted me by name with a big beautiful smile at the Thallasa for breakfast. It would not be fair if I did not nention Pablo the Cerveza hombre who was always ready to replenish our mini bar. We occupied room 3836 which was perfect. It was close to the beach and a short jont to the Thallasa for breakfast. The beach was beautiful and the very first we experienced to have service!! We met some great people who also had wonderful things to say about the Royal. The beach party was a real blast,.....so much fun! My huaband and I can't wait to return to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sun192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear guest,

We would to thank you for this wonderful comment!
At Catalonia Royal we go above and beyond to provide a personalized service for our guest, it was our staff pleasure to give a 100% for your stay.
We will pass on your kind congratulations to Luis, Julio, Anna and Pablo, they will be very happy.
We look forward to your next holidays with us!!

Kindest regards

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I visited Catalonia Royal from April 11 - April 25, 2012. It was our second stay at the Royal and it won't be our last. We have travelled south to D.R. and Cuba for the past ten years staying at various All Inclusive resorts each having their pros and cons. I have to say the Royal scored top marks in all catagories. I think we found a keeper!!
Although I rated all areas excellent or very good what makes The Royal stand out was the service and the people. The service was always friendly,prompt and efficient including check in maintenance, huosecleaning, mini bar service, room service and of course meal service. as for the staff they were wonderfull, always greetinng you with a smile, a high five, a handshake or even a hug. I feel this was not just 'Oh I have to do it it is my job" but a sincere expression of who they are as people , warm and welcoming. A few of the staff that stood out are:
Roberto - Beach bar, always had a smile, Julio - Sea Blue and Thallasa high fives, always took care of us and a hockey fan, Anna- Thallasa took the effort to learn and remember our names, Wandel - Sea Blue, "Numero Uno", Maria - Sea Blue, great smile and sense of humor.
We also had the good fortune of being introduced to Luis, the Food and Beverage Manager. Luis, was on the move constantly but he always took the the time to stop and have a brief chat and check to ensure everything was OK with us. The quality of service and his staff is a good testament to the job he is doing. Thanks Luis.
I have very little else to say but t thank you for a great two weeks and we will be back.
Oh yeah, not a little thing, the golf was great.

Room Tip: The room we were in was 3836, it was close to the beach and was a corner suite which gave us a partial view of the ocean. We had sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon, perfect.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear guest,

We are honored to receive your review on Trip Advisor!

We were delighted to welcome you for a second stay to our Resort, and do our best to exceed your expectations once again!

We are content to read you have choosen us as a keeper for your holidays! thank you very much, we appreciate your trust. please know we will congratulate our staff on your behalf.

Receive warm regards from the Catalonia Family!

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews