We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,736)
Filter reviews
6,736 results
Traveller rating
3,641
1,887
732
261
215
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,641
1,887
732
261
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal side infinity pool piano bar cata tapa thalassa restaurant tapas restaurant the sea blue restaurant tao cat rodeo steak house juice bar royal guests la toscana yuca swim up bar deluxe junior suite sister resort sea grass
Filter
Updating list...
3,130 - 3,135 of 6,736 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and I went on our honeymoon here several weeks ago. Overall we had a good time. Some food was really good, some sub-par. Italian restaurant was our favorite. Very relaxing on the royal side. Nice, quite beach. Make sure you catch the beach parties that are on two nights during the week.

Now, to the reason I wanted to post on this site. Our trip was made by several staff members at Catalonia. One of the few reasons that I would come back to this resort was because of these gentlemen. Elias Omey and Juan Roberto Yan that work in the Creperie restaurant were responsible for some of the best nights on our trip. My wife and I ended up going to the Creperie every night (11 nights total) to eat Juan's crepes and enjoy he and Elias' company. The first few nights we went just because of the crepes, but as our trip went on, we found ourselves going to speak to Elias and Juan, and eating the crepes was big plus!! They both made me look at my life as an American in a different light. I never thought I would have such a life changing experience while on my honeymoon. We as Americans are very fortunate to live in a society that has so many great options to earn a living to support our families. These guys work very hard for what they have, and it is inspiring to see two people in a third world country working as hard as they do to support their families.

I know a long post about a two staff members may seem silly, but these guys deserve so much credit for what they do, and what kind of people they are. I hope that if you visit this resort you will go to the Creperie and support both Elias and Juan. I tipped them as much as I could. I know they will make your visit as awesome as they did ours.

Two others that impacted our trip were Juan, a waiter at two of the restaurants on the Royal side, and a bartender named Miguel at the Royal beach. Two great guys with great attitudes. Always enjoyed being around these two folks.

If you visit this resort please look for these guys. You are missing out if you do not.

Best of luck.
Chad

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChadWNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for choosing us, we were enchanted to welcome you for your honeymoon holidays. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff; they will be congratulated on your behalf for the excellent service provided. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My boyfriend and I took our first trip (with sister & finance, mother & father- late 20's and up) to the DR and stayed here, the last week of March 2012.

Immediate perks:
Adults only
Clean
Quiet
Not far from Airport

Each couple very much did their own thing, and enjoyed it to the fullest. There were ACTIVITIES off the resort that were easily facilitated on-site (scuba diving and buggy tour)

the BEACH was impeccable for a full day of lounging:
pristine ocean maintained as such by dividing wall (appreciated by some)
beach bar steps away
full waiter service
lounge chairs and umbrellas
daily meals served on the beach (DR style paella, made fresh over huge open fire)

The GROUNDS were in great shape, POOLS were clean:
infinity pool usually occupied by full day loungers
Pool with swim-up bar was more lively, always a good time

FOOD was decent quality, no one sick and few complaints aside form maybe having the same thing twice! A few notable meals in the main restaurant on this side of the resort, Japanese restaurant was fun on family-side

SPA was lovely and enjoyable, should you wish to spend a few extra $'s
nice way to spend a morning...pampered

Short walk over to the family resort- more partying, more lively- nice to have the option to come back and retreat.

While I am always hesitant to endorse a place (as one man's paradise is one man's hell!) I can state that we all had a marvellous time. If you are looking to relax for a change, this is it. No samba lines dancing through the pool chairs, no beer-chugging contests.

Should you be on your way to Royal Catalonia Bavaro, we hope that your experience is an equally lovely one, and that you feel like a high roller for your 7 days too- you deserve that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank lindsay416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor!
First of all we are enchanted to receive your comments about our services; always a pleasure to know you had a successful holiday at Catalonia Royal. Our staff was more than pleased to provide the excellent service you deserve for your holidays. Thank you for recommending us, we look forward to your next holidays!

Kind regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Our first trip to DR and the Catalonia Royal Bavaro exceeded our expectations! Our room was stunning, service was excellent and food was varied and plentyful. Staff are very helpful and polite and always had a friendly "buenos dias" with a smile when passing. I loved the waiter service on the beach, the swim up bar at the main pool and the tapas restaurant was excellent quality food. I would have no hesitation on reccommending this adult only hotel, they strive to keep standards high and do a great job of achieving it. We are a couple in our 50's and will definately be returning. Thank you Royal Bavaro we had a wonderful holiday!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are not as private as 1st or 2nd floors as some of paths are right outside your balcony/terrace. Ask for pool view as rooms on other side seemed darker.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SamanthaJayne06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal for your first visit to the Dominican Republic! Also we appreciate receiving your great review on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for your excellent recommendation and comments, we will pass on your kind words to our staff they will be most encouraged. It’s an honor to read you will be choosing us again in the future; we look forward to your next holidays!

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Catalonia Royal is a nice resort and we enjoyed the Adults Only concept but it was not fantastic. We did like our large, nicely furnished Deluxe Suite overlooking the gardens and Villas with private pool. We liked that there was untouched jungle to look at behind the resort grounds. The shower was really nice with 2 shower heads (1 was a rain shower) and the cute Glass with Reef and Fish dividing the shower from the large round bath tub in the room. Our king bed had a good mattress and was comfortable but pillows were very lumpy. We did ask for a different kind type of pillow from the pillow menu which we promptly received but it was hard. Everything with the Suite was very good and our maid was great. Very sweet and did a fantastic job cleaning. We tipped her every day and she made cute towel swans and there were flowers and leaves for decoration everywhere. Good turn down service as well. The resort does very well with at least the Deluxe Suites. The food and drinks were mostly only so so. The Italian Restaurant over on the family side was very good, Mikado Japanese Restaurant also on the family side was pretty good and fun and Cata Tapas on the adult side had a very nice atmosphere and the ribs were very good. Service at this restaurant was great. Breakfast & lunch at Thalasso Restaurant in the lobby building was good and the service mostly friendly. We did not like the Blue Grill at the beach for lunch. Our meal was not good and the service was indifferent. Some of the people working at the resort were very nice and helpful others seemed bored and just going through the motions. The Infinity pool next to the beach was very nice. Sometimes a waiter would come and take drink orders but other times not. You had to get out of the pool and walk wet over to the restaurant stand there until the bartender has time to make a drink. The other pool is at the back of the resort and the service at the swim up bar was good and the drinks were better there as well. But we did not find that pool or area as beautiful as the Infinity pool area where you could see the ocean from the pool. The overall cleanliness and upkeep of the resort was very good and the landscaping was pretty and well taken care of. The beach is very nice with tall coco palms, soft sand and a long stretch of beach. The ocean here is a green color (not the bright turquoise as in other areas along the coast) but still pretty and very clear visibility on most days. The sea grass was a non issue for us as it is natural and due to it there were tons of fish around the artificial reef. We saw a few smaller stingrays in the sand while snorkeling and 3 flat flounders so watch were you step. So in that regard we did like the beach and ocean here. The beach and pool area never felt too crowded and the beach waiter was a very nice gentleman that made the rounds. The beach bar under a Palapa Roof with nice chairs was cute and we loved the Maloo Fruit Juice Bar. Our best drinks at the resort were freshly made fruit juices from Maloo and a bit of rum from the bottle we received on arrival to our Suite. The other drinks were too sweet for our taste and the Margaritas and Mojito's where not good. We never had a problem finding 2 lounges in the shade at the beach or a free lounge bed around the Infinity pool. There was never a shortage of beach towels. One day they made fresh Seafood Paella at the beach for lunch which was good and one evening was a fun Beach Party with lots of BBQ food, a DJ, dancing and nice camaraderie with other guest. This resort did attract some really nice people and we made friends easy here. The resort was about 90% full and so was the family side. The family side landscaping and pool looked nice but it was way more crowded over there on the beach as well. It had that Mass-tourism feel which we don't prefer. At the Adult Only Royal side. The majority of guest came from Germany, Russia, a few other European countries and a smaller percentage from the US. We really enjoyed this mixture. And lots of cute honeymoon couples. There was even a marriage proposal in the Infinity pool.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend booking a Deluxe Suite as the other Suites don't have the nicly refurbished bathrooms and tile. Ask for 3rd floor as they have high vaulted sealing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.
We are content to receive your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Royal.
We are delighted overall you had a successful holidays with us, and appreciated our resorts ground and services, we will of course take note of your important suggestions and comments to improve in this areas.
It will be an honor to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

While the resort was breathtakingly gorgeous and our exclusive room with a private pool was the highlight of our vacay, the food was not good at all. When I say not good, I mean bordering on disgusting. The pizza was average and so we lived off of pizza for 5 days. My fiance and I loved the place, all the rooms are big and beautiful, clean, spacious and perfect. The grounds are of course well kept, the staff extremely friendly as well but the food was just bad. The breakfast at Thalassa restaurant was edible and so we filled ourselves to the brim in preparation to most likely starve for the rest of the day. The Tapas restaurant wasn't terrible but its only open for dinner and the portions are tiny- its a tapas restaurant so I guess I cannot complain about portion size. All in all I give Royal Catalonia a 3.5 overall, if the food were at all edible it would be a 4.5, most definitely.

Room Tip: Definitely shell out the extra dough to get the exclusive suite with the private swimming pool, it was sooooo worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gingerbeer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time invested in this comment.

First of all we appreciate your comments about our resort grounds and rooms; also it’s a delight to know you received always a friendly service from our staff. We are sorry to read about the discontent with the food service, it would have been a pleasure to be aware at the moment to do our best in assisting you. It would be an honor to welcome you back, to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews