We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Caribe
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$412
US$180
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$395
US$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$427
US$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$293
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$345
US$266
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$459
US$359
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRS Turquesa Hotel(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$306
US$239
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The MT Hotel(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,229)
Filter reviews
10,229 results
Traveller rating
4,052
2,869
1,568
899
841
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,052
2,869
1,568
899
841
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgabriel chocolatequiet poolswim up barclub premiumrock climbing wallrenovated roomocean viewkids pooltex mexa la carte restaurantsbeautiful beachseafoodpalm treesgreat vacationpicky eaterfamily vacationrecommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 10,229 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I want to start by saying that everyone in my family, starting from my 2 year old, my 12, my 20 year old son and my wife and I had a great time out there. There were different activities for every one on each of the days we stayed. The variety of national and international dishes were great. Thanks so much for the buffet that was dedicated to the Peruvian community on one of your restaurants. I would like to say a special THANK YOU FOR YOUR EXCELLENT SERVICE TO MR ANGEL PEREZ AT THE "CENA DE GALA" ON THE BEACH. YOUR ATTENTION AND YOUR ATTITUDE WAS VERY WELCOMING. MIL GRACIAS POR SU EXCELENTE ATENCION Y SERVICIO DON ANGEL PEREZ.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit, they help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us, it is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Caribe was an enjoyable one.

We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I had a blast here, they had the best staff. Everyone was so friendly and they kept everything very clean and tidy. We had a beautiful ocean view and the beach was beautiful. One of the best parts about our vacation was being able to visit with the best bartender there, Santiago. We usually found him at the sportsbar or in the main lobby bar. He made the best drinks and was extremely friendly. We loved going to see him everyday and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hoperebecca14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

First the bad (which is not a lot) The rooms could definitely use some updating. The set up was nice, the balcony and view phenomenal but the bath room and furniture could use some updating. The staff kept it clean enough but would be nicer is a little updated. The buffet I'm afraid was not good. There was a large selection but a lot of unusual food, nothing tasted that great. The pasta station was good and the omelet and eggs station at breakfast was very good. The chocolate donuts were very good.The people who sell their goods at night are very pushy. Now the good. The resort is absolutely beautiful on the outside. The building exterior is very nice. (I think prettiest around) The beach is amazing. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Only ran out of pool towels once during our 10 day stay and were again available after about 15 minutes. Chairs by the pool and on the beach were always available. First resort we didn't have to wake up early to reserve a chair. Our kids 17 and 19 had a great time. Plenty to do from trapeze and rock climbing to pool games, beach volley ball, shows at night, foam party. They met some nice friends. The restaurants were great. We liked them all but I think my favorite was the French. My husband really liked the Mexican. The Japanese was really good but it was extremely hot in there and it made it uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend the upgrade to premium. The room becomes a suite, you get top shelf liquor, access to the premium lounge and easy to get reservations for dinner. You also avoid the long lines at check in and check out because you do that in the premium lounge. We absolutely loved the premium lounge. Went there several times a day. Angela helped us resolve several issues. She went way above and beyond. Always with a smile and lots of patience. Starlyn was an amazing bar tender. Makes the best pina coladas and mud slides. He made my husband a special going away drink on our last night. You can also get light snacks and cappuccino in the premium lounge. Overall we totally enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room with view of ocean. We stayed in building 5. Very quiet. Great location but tired rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tompam11727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

We lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

We are also grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our maids to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for us.

Children are always very welcome among us and are kept entertained by our professional Mini Club staff who organizes a wide array of activities for our little guests to take full advantage of their stay, with enriching games and fun sport activities designed to expand kids’ horizons and create new friendships in a multicultural environment.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights with family. It is a nice location, good for families with kids. The hotel has 3 swimming pools(one for childrens - supervisef all the time by 3 people). Rich breakfast but not with high quality products. Launch and dinner are assorted. Rooms are large and comfortable. As minuses I will mention: 1- the noise from the restaurant in the morning while breakfast was prepared (by the employees which were slaming the disheses and pots, shouting). Our rooms was just above the restaurant and all these thing are started at 6:00 every morning.
2 - we had three dinner reservations at dedicated restaurants. One of them was at Marenostrum - seafood. Not a good choise, the food came actually from the main restaurant - and seemed just reheared and not a fresh taste at all. Try the Jappanese instead - you will loce it.
3- the staff is not rude, but not very polite (professional speaking).

Overall the location is clean, but for 4 star, the cleaning (rooms and public spaces) should be better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ReisendeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our hotel, we always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We regret what you write about the location of your room, in a next occasion you can stop by our reception for a relocation of it.

We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Occidental Caribe we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotel.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I would've given it a 3* but can't complaint about the deal we got with Expedia compared to the other more expensive hotels. The good: drinks, food, and activities to do throughout the day. Cleaning ladies were always happy and willing to help. Front desk was a mixed bag, some were good, others not at all. Order your food with the chefs even if you have to wait a little. We figured it out the last 3 days of our staying. The bad: the buffet food needs to step it up. Their food doesn't have much flavor. Lots of variety but tasteless. Pool table must be replaced and put up some lights. The ugly: our room wasn't ready when we arrived. Shower wasn't working. Handle needed to be replaced, sliding door didn't lock, safe didn't work. It took me about 3 calls the night we arrived and 3 more next morning to have those things fix with the exception of the safe. Never fixed it and I didn't pursue it. Workers were surprised that the room was given to us in those conditions. All in all, good place to stay if you can get a good deal but in order for me to go back, I need to see better improvements. You can't expect a 5* resort when you pay for a 3*

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tonycal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest,

In Occidental Caribe we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics.

We regret what you write about your room upon arrival, this is definitely not linked to our standards of quality and service to the guest, we assure you that we will investigate.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Always at your disposal

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews