We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alisei(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Tropical Village(Las Galeras)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Albachiara(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$107
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Palms B&B(Las Galeras)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Isleta Apartment Hotel(Las Galeras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahona Hotel Bed and Breakfast(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,260)
Filter reviews
4,260 results
Traveller rating
2,164
1,413
461
138
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,164
1,413
461
138
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolsnack baranimation teammain buildinga la carte restaurantsbuffet restaurantseafoodjacuzzi poolbacardi islandevery hourtwo weekssmall beachdominican republicsamana towngrand bahiaspaghettifirst choice
Filter
Updating list...
2,142 - 2,147 of 4,260 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from this hotel. We were there from Nov. 25 to Dec. 2. Everything about the place was wonderful. All of the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. The hotel was extremely clean. I was honestly trying to find a spec of dust and I couldn't. The pool was nice and well-kept and the a-la-carte restaurants were great. We only made it to the Gourmet and the Italian. We wanted to go to the seafood one but it didn't work out. There were couples, families and groups of people at the resort all having fun. Each night there was entertainment in the disco. The shows were great. One night was Keraoke (no clue how to spell that). It was hilarious. One night was movie night. 2 nights were dance shows that were awesome and one night was a wonderful party on the beach. The animation team made sure everyone was having fun all the time. We would especially like to thank Fernando. He was so funny, friendly and personable. He is a great asset to the staff at the hotel. All in all... a great place. The only thing I could complain about is that our bathroom was really small.... but... totally minor. A wonderful place. I would go back for sure!

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor. Great view and no musty smell. We had to walk through the bottom floor to get to the restaurant and it smelled a bit musty. Nothing serious though.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Mrs. Megan,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen us as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your wedding anniversary and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you will probably be coming back.
We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I've stayed here with my boyfriend in October, and I can say that this hotel was heaven on earth. The 3,5hours between the airport and the hotel was worth. The room was big, the bed was enormous, our balcony faced the terrace, which was the only negative thing I could say about the room, because on friday/saturday night the music would prolong until early hours of the day, which for people who wants to sleep can be very frustrating. the beach was very quiet apart from weekends, when the locals would "invade" the beach. The animation team was great, always trying to keep us busy, even when during "Sandy", when the rain wouldn't stop. The food, was ok, there was always something that you would like to eat. The staff from the restaurant was excellent, always trying to makes fell at home. A special thank you to José (he is on the a la carte restaurants). The Mediterranean was amazing, we did return because the food was sooo good, the location was very pretty was well. We went to the spa, and they were very professional, and the massage was amazing. I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing the terrace, or you'll not be able to sleep during the weekend nights.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandocas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear TripAdvosor member:
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.
We are delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to Samana. Is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff, especially to Jose from Restaurants.
Once more, thank you for your comments,
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We Spent 7 nights in Samana, Cayacoa. There are 6 of us (3 couples) that love to travel together yearly, and we just got back from this resort a month ago, it was GREAT! The weather was Hot!
The rooms were comfortable and they had great food. We went to 3 a la carte's during our stay and they were fantastic! But most of all I want to comment on the staff: The reception desk upon arrival was very quick, friendly and accommodating. The dinning room was beautiful, well staffed and the employees were extremely friendly and always smiling (very inviting). In particular I'd like to mention a few employees that stand out in our memories: Dady's at the Buffet, was always making sure that guests were taken care of and content, he was very professional and so kind and caring and a very friendly man. Another staff member that stands out at the buffet was Vanessa, she had the brightest smile and genuinely looked like she was happy to see us every day. Then there was Claudio who worked at the A la carte's he was so funny and made us laugh each time we saw him, it was such a pleasure to be served by him.

I've saved the one of our favourite employee's for the end because he truly made our trip an absolute blast - Fernando who worked around the pool. Fernando always had a smile, made us laugh every time we went to the pool. He has a special way with people, he would walk by the guests sitting on their chairs and you could see them smiling and laughing as he passed by them each and every time. That is a special talent to be able to see the same people day after day and be able to remember certain comments that would make them laugh. When he wasn't working or around the pool, things were much duller and we missed him. He was the life of the party around the pool. I hope these employees are still there when we plan our next trip to this resort. All in all it was a great all inclusive experience :)

Room Tip: It depends what type of room you like, if you want extreme privacy they have superior suites that are close to the beach and private, but you do have to go up the hill to the main hotel The main hotel is better for those who do not want to climb the hill :)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaMary324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear LindaMary 234,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. It is clear that our customers are the most important, naturally so are their comments
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our front desk, animation and Food & Beverage departments and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Spent a week at this resort and I very much enjoyed my stay.

The hotel is nice and clean, the food was very good.

The best was the service from employees at the hotel. Dario and Angel from the Lobby bar were great, they kept us entertained and were good company over all. Carolin will try and make you dance with her, she is very nice. Those were the most noticeable to me, but pretty much everyone has a smile and is happy to help you.

Sadly, the most fun was the last night of the trip, which made it hard to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jonathan_J_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Mr. Jonathan_J_C,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, as this is the best way for us to continue to improve in all areas.
We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs and we are so happy to see that we did it with you and you have a memorable holiday with us. We will pass your comments to our staff, they will be more than happy
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I am an airline pilot and have had the pleasure of staying in some of the finest hotels around the world over the past 32 years.The hotel is very nice and the staff are great.The rooms however do have some issues.The beds in a lot of the rooms are well worn,if you don' mind rolling into the dip in the middle you won't care.Electrical,the lamps at the head of the beds were falling apart and our son got a shock.The sliding patio door wouldn't lock and was missing the outside handle so it made coming back in a little tricky.Check the room carefully upon initial entry and change it right away if you are not happy.Food and bars were good.Stay away from the cigar salesmen that come to the bar, if you don't know your prices you will be ripped off.The beaches at the hotel are not good.If you go into Samana you will be mobbed.Bargain for everything,if the asking price is 100 offer 10 and don't go over 15,trust me I've bargained from Beijing to Jeddha.The worst I've saved for last.I love snorkeling and have done it all over the world. Never anywhere have I encountered so much garbage.Plastic floats everywhere (including condoms)and the bottom is covered in just about everything that won't float.All of the garbage and sewage from Samana (pop. 25500) washes into the harbour around the point from the hotel and spreads out as far as Bacardi island,the site of another Gran Bahia hotel.I would not be surprised at if the water quality would not pass North American or Northern European fecal coloform tests.I would hope that the Portillo and Punta Cana are better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Larry767_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Larry767_12,
Thanks for write your impression regarding your last stay with us.
We appreciate the observations concerning the service and the staff, as it has helped us to reinforce the operational practices that are executed once a day.
Indeed, our Housekeeping manager had a meeting with the staff im order to correct and improve all your observations.
We are sorry that we were not able to impress you with our services. Please let this not be a motive to not stay with us in the future as I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality and promptness of our services. We hope that this one experience has not overshadowed your perception of Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews