We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely must come back place seven days not...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Llannefydd, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ilbe_ande...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Adequate but not 5 star”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

As a family we were all very excited about what this cottaged promised however once arrived it really didn't match our expectation. The cottage itself has a lot of potential but it felt tired and that the owner probably hadn't stayed there themselves. With a little bit of work it really could be the 5 stars we were expecting.

The positives: the hot tub- warm and inviting. The children loved it and really was the bit of luxury we were looking for. The children's activity area was adored by our 3 year old and he loved going up and down the hills! The option of feeding the sheep was also really welcomed and a lovely welcome with milk, eggs and welshcakes!

The negatives: the games room had uneven floor and we spent most of the time chasing the pingpong ball rather than playing. A lack of hot water. The entire time no one had a shower warmer than lukewarm and the bath was really too cold for the children without filling up with hot water from the kettle -this may have just been a boiler fault but it really did upset the flow of the holiday. The smaller or the ensuites (and it is small!) shower kept going from scorching to freezing. The kitchen really needs less cake stands (there are 2!) and at least one baking tray or a cheese grater of an adequate size. There was dust and grime in places i would have expected it to be clean (under sofas) and there were holes in walls where the large door handle had gone through. There was also no bbq that we could find. Many a toes were also stubbed on the hearth.

What would have made it what we expected? Table and chairs on the balcony. Hot water! Instructions to the overly complicated shower in the master bedroom, updated information booklet (doesn't look as though this has been done since 2011) and a guestbook as suggested in the welcome card which gets reused for every guest! A nice patio area outside would have been welcomed with a patio set, the outside chairs were grubby and no table. A fence up to the hot tub and games room -as a safety feature. One of our party isn't so good on their feet and we spent time worrying that the 3 year old would fall down. Honestly a good clean and a week being lived in by the owners would probably do it well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The lack of hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An absolutely must come back place seven days not enough”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Well what an amazing place to find with such tranquill surroundings very peaceful the house as well as the owners are very welcoming. There were myself and my wife and our two boys along with there partners we all had a great time here can't wait to come back ...........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NKParker
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We keep coming back!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic third stay here and the addition of the hot tub has just made it even more fantastic - sitting there on clear nights looking up at the stars was just perfect. As ever fantastic communication and such friendly owners who always make us feel so welcome - we've already booked for next year! Everything has been so well though through - lovely big social spaces, beautiful furniture and a luxurious but homely feel. Thanks so much again for making us feel so welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian7979
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic time enjoyed by all , such a lovely cottage finished to the highest standard surrounded by beautiful countryside even able to see the sea when it was clear . would highly recommend staying here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen size
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Ton
Newcastle, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent a lovely week in May 2013 at Cefn Berain Uchaf Cottage. Our party consisted of two couples and 4 children aged five and under. The cottage was ideal with two double bedrooms each with their own en suite which was a massive bonus. The other two twin rooms were perfect for the kids.

The kitchen is massive with a large kitchen table. We spent a lot of our time chatting and eating in the kitchen rather than the sitting room! French doors open out from the kitchen into the garden which circles the entire property. A kids slide in the front garden was a lovely touch! The kids loved exploring the grounds and were fascinated by the cows and sheep in the surrounding fields.

The surrounding area is very nice. The closest town is about 4 miles away and is called Denbigh. Here you will find a Morrisons Supermarket and petrol station (we made multiple trips here!).

The only minor issue we found was the lack of garden furniture. The weather was pretty good during our stay and the absence of a BBQ and garden furniture was a bit of a disappointment. The owners said there was a garden table in the shed but this was very large and we didn't feel confident trying to carry this down some precarious steps from the shed. This was only a minor gripe though and far outweighed by all the positives! We would definately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: two en suites!
Liked least: No Barbecue
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing