We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
2
6
5
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
5
7
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We went to PAP, Haiti for five nights as a couple of well traveled veterans ,We drove across the border from the Dom. Republic, two and one half hour nightmare just to get in, We arrived at the Hotel about an hour later .This hotel was way over priced a$40 dollar a night for $80. The reception was OK but the room was very small ,the pool was nice but small, the service was slow and the breakfast was average at best, the meals for lunch and dinner were over priced and not good, only ate one meal other than the incl. breakfast here. I can not recommend this place or PAP . Richard K

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank skyhook33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

My friends and I are just back from a visit to Haiti and I thought it might be of some interest for you to get a free sample of the state of mind we are in.
1 - We are four friends, French, Irish and two Americans, spending usually 3 to 4 month in DR during the winter season. This year we decided to spend a week across the border.
1 - We came as 4 tourists, recreational tourists, and we came through Jimani border with my jeep, registered in DR. In between the real police and the fake one, Immigration taxes, Custom taxes, Agriculture Taxes, Special cross border Insurance and Daily stay taxes, on either side, we paid US$ 695.00 to get in and US$ 380.00 to get out.
All of that was paid to people with guns and official uniforms or badges. Some of them just disappeared as soon as they got paid.
Some officials told us we should not have paid anything out of the offices, but did not explain how to run over armed police in uniform…

2 - We managed to reach Ideal Villa Hotel, rated 3 Hibiscus, 2 bedrooms at US$ 100.00 a night each.
We thought at that price, we might get a decent service.
The staff was always all smile. That is the good side of the experience.
The reception desk did not have the first clue about what to visit, where to rent a car, where to eat or how to hire a taxi.
At some point, we came to the conclusion they did not even know how to use a phone.
This kind of hotel in DR cost anything between US$ 20.00 to US$ 25.00, but then comes with a working air-conditioning, XL bed, kitchenette, fridge and decent size pool.
Here you get cheap plywood furniture, windows walled, broken lamps, broken sockets and bare bulbs.
55 minutes to get a plate of potato trims and 90 minutes to get a tea bag with a cup of lukewarm water.
This hotel has no alarm bell and no evacuation plan. Both items that could come handy in case of fire or earthquake (Yes, that might happen…).
But it gets better. This hotel is completely locked at night with grills and padlocks. I had to get medicine from my jeep at night, but the guard did not have the keys to open any exit. Eventually, 40 minutes later, someone found a set of keys hidden behind the bar, but none of them worked. We were trapped as rats. Scary !!!

3 - We eventually found a taxi to pick us up at the hotel. The rates to get to Port au Prince were US$ 100.00 to US$150.00 depending on the destination.
When we expressed our surprise about such a high price, he said:
- Why do you care? It is not your money. I make you a receipt for twice as much if you wish, so you will make money too.
We did not understand immediately…
We met a lot of foreigners, but all of them were on a mission.
Some trying to get a kid out (also called adoption).
Many all inclusive rats spending all kind of charity money.
A good few engineers/builders busy with the reconstruction of the Tax Centre Buildings and churches, the first get money from the rich and the last get it from the poor.
Security? No problem. Even at night in the slum of Cité Soleil. Poorness is not contagious.
The poor… pathetic victims of an administration and a belief that keep them well under control. "Misery on earth, glory in heaven".
For as long as they believe in that, we are safe. Thank God!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our local Haiti logistics office booked this hotel. Only the front desk person spoke English. Cold bottled water was available for purchase. Common areas appeared clean and well decorated. Room was small, did not have fridge as advertised. Electricity and internet were spotty at best. Changed rooms due to non-working a/c (a necessity in Haiti) and non-working toilet. Seemed adequately clean. Little to no-hot water, no shower head and only 1 towel. Door locks were insecure and music played loudly late at night from a property nearby. Staff were friendly (but did not speak English), food was adequate and fairly priced. After two nights, we relocated to another property up the mountain it was more expensive, but still within our US government per diem rate.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Got married in July in Haiti! and I went to honeymoon at ideal. Since i had some business to do in Delmas ; so,i did not want to be to far because of traffic. I most say the waiter was very pleasure and courteous. the receptionist was ok, she could have done a better job. The cleaness of the place was super!!!!!!! I really enjoy the staying there. the room bed was a little to small for two people where i had to had a double bed and put them together making unto one. The size of the room was very good......the price was a little bit to high for the kind of was they have.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Earl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We started our stay with no hot water and a showerhead that had a poor spray pattern., The small refrigerator that was unplugged and the was no microwave in the room, but that was not a deal breaker as was the lack of facecloth and one of towels was stained. The bedcover also had a small stain too. The staff addressed most of our issues promptly and were friendly as well. The positive was the garden and pool areas, which is nice and clean, as was the main lobby and eating area too. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and there is an good variety of choices. The rooms do not merit the $113 per night cost even as walk in customers waiting for new flight accommodations.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gina114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews