We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridgeway Guest House
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We just got back from Jamaica two weeks ago... great vacation. The price was right, the room was clean and simple. Colin was very helpful in directing us how to get to places and what to expect to pay for a taxi ride. He even let us borrow his phone for a call back to the States. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

I spent 2 weeks in September in Montego Bay, Jamaica. It was my second time to Jamaica. The first was to Kingston some 10 years ago. At first I decided I should "live like a local" I took a taxi cab to the centre of St.James Street. It cost $100JM which is equivalent to 1.25US. For me this was not the right choice but I was unaware of the sights. Then I met Colin...just by chance, on my way to the University. This was the right choice.

Colin operates Ridgeway Guest House. I found this place by chance on a visit to the university. It is about three minutes drive to the airport and certainly within walking distance for those with little luggage. What impressed me was Colin's generousity of spirit. He offered and on several occasions took my son and I to various shopping destinations. He showed us the Montego Bay we were looking for. Yes there is the HIP Strip and other tourist attractions but sometimes you prefer to see what a "local" lives like. I appreciated Montego Bay because of Colin. He shows you how to get around and in the end you learn more than just the tourist areas and you save as well. For those of you who like to incorporate the "living like a local " theme in your travels..get to know Montego Bay the safe way, Stay at Ridgeway Guest House...It is not for families with small children. it will work for couples or singles or friends staying together. There is a rental car company on the compound as well.

Room Tip: This is a guest house, not a hotel. There is no restaurant on the compound.The location is perfect f...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
5  Thank Sugarplantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Found Ridgeway on Trip Advisor while at the airport waiting for my flight to Montego Bay. Called several places in the "budget" category and Colin was by far the nicest. The price was right, too, but $70USD for one night seemed too good to be true. "We'll see when we get there," my friend said. We're both seasoned travelers and skeptical but our fears were quickly dismissed. Colin picked us up when we arrived and right away, we had the sense that he was good people. The guesthouse is across the street from the airport so if you pack light, you can walk there. The rooms are clean, the water was hot, and the staff was friendly. We walked to the beach (though I'd recommend taking a taxi if you don't want to walk two mikes in the sun), Hip Strip and the famous Pork Pit other reviewers have mentioned. I definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FAY0LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

stayed here for a week and couple days. i felt safe being there and i liked the fact that the airport is very close by and the hip strip is also not far from there aswell. the room that i stayed had a balcony and a small kitchenette, pretty decent. I got excellent service and i enjoyed me stay in montego bay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemar2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

After traveling around Jamaica, I needed to spend the night in montego bay to catch a flight th next afternoon. Colin, the owner of ridgewood, was fabulous. Honestly it was one of the most warm and welcoming experiences I've had in a hotel. The place is perfectly clean and convenient if you need toget to the airport. It's family-owned. Colin spent the morning driving me around the city. We ate porridge a juicy patties and he dropped me off at the pharmacy and beach. He went out of his way to make me feel comfortable, and was just a genuinely generous person. It was such a unexpectedly pleasant goodbye to Jamaica. Also the price is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizachka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.7 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 63 in Montego Bay
135 reviews
1.2 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#38 of 63 in Montego Bay
250 reviews
7.5 km away
Silent Waters Villa
Silent Waters Villa
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
39 reviews
19.8 km away
Emerald View Resort
Emerald View Resort
#2 of 48 in Montego Bay
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Guest House

Address: 34 Queens Dr | W.i., Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: RM 137 - RM 254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Guest House Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Guest House Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing