We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridgeway Guest House
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Spent 2 weeks at Highpoint doing some mission work and stayed the last night before we flew out in Montego Bay. We had chosen Ridgeway due to the comments on here and we were not disappointed. Colin Tatum is the real deal. He took care of us from the get go. Colin offered to take us to the strip and even recommended a restaurant he thought that we would like.

On the way he asked if we wanted to go on with him further downtown while he stopped by to see his accountant. We were not all that hungry yet so we went with him. He gave us a tour and told us many things about the area and then took us to the restaurant. We had a 4 pm flight the next day and he offered to let us stay until 2 pm at the hotel as he had no one else coming in. At the alloted time he came by the room and took us to the airport. What a great experience for a first time visitor to Jamaica......Colin Tatum, you are a Rock Star and thank you so much.
Jim Hendrix

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed for 3 weeks and I had a great time.
Really nice room, clean, great service, very nice people, great location.
Only 10 minutes walk to the Hip Strip and town a few minutes more.
Me soon come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiannedeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

You definitely get your money's worth at this hotel. Located across the street from Mo Bay airport, it's a great place to start or end your trip to Jamaica. A rental car company is on property, and the university cafeteria next door serves Jamaican breakfast. My room was clean and had a safe, microwave oven, and small refrigerator. It's an easy fifteen minute walk to the Hip Strip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettnButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My 9 day stay at Ridgeway 1st week January 2013 was quite enjoyable!. I found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable for the price, $70 + tax per night. Stayed in room #5 and the air conditioning was great!! It is true, there is not a lot nearby, meaning within a few blocks (except for the airport across the street), however 1 - 1.5 miles away ($3 - $4 taxi ride) there is everything at the Hip Strip. It is very easy to get a cab in front of Ridgeway. The restarant/bar at the Airport, I found the simple menu to be very good and the drinks too !! Bartenders/employees there VERY friendly and helpful and were helpful in providing information and directions. The Hip Strip has lots of restaurants, bars and shopping, and if you want to shoot pool, DonWay restaurant/bar is an indoor/outdoor bar/restaurant/ dance club, pool table outside by bar (I found to be a very nice atmosphere). A cab ride there is @$3. Make sure you establish the price of the cab for a one way/two way before you get in. You know the taxis because the taxis have red license plates and have taxi written on vehicle side. I found the surrounding area to be very safe and never felt scared or uneasy. Colin was available and very nice whenever I had a question which helped to make my stay a great one! Although I did not take advantage of the service, Colin will pick you up from the Airport and drop you off when you depart. Scotthies jerk chicken/fish is a great restaurant is about 4 miles away on the same road (Queens Dr) that Ridgeway is located. Also found a really nice seafood restarant called Chill-Out about 12 miles down on Queens Dr. - you can get meal for $15. Oh, can't forget MargaritaVille at the Hip Strip, a great time, atmosphere and view of the ocean. And, if you want to get the experience of the local market about 1 mile away is the Bevin Ave. market. I really loved my stay in Montego Bay and plan on visiting again soon!!! Colin, thank you for everything!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie36619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We just got back from Jamaica two weeks ago... great vacation. The price was right, the room was clean and simple. Colin was very helpful in directing us how to get to places and what to expect to pay for a taxi ride. He even let us borrow his phone for a call back to the States. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.7 km away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
135 reviews
1.2 km away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#38 of 63 in Montego Bay
250 reviews
7.5 km away
Silent Waters Villa
Silent Waters Villa
#28 of 63 in Montego Bay
39 reviews
19.8 km away
Emerald View Resort
Emerald View Resort
#2 of 48 in Montego Bay
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Guest House

Address: 34 Queens Dr | W.i., Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: RM 136 - RM 253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Guest House Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Guest House Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing