We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montego Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Montego Bay”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I loved it here. The piano bar was great with singing every night. The resort also had live entertainment every other night. I loved the food. The resort has a total of 9 restaurants. The World Cafe buffet was open for breakfast and lunch, it has a good variety of food. Himitsu is the sushi restaurant reservations only you sit at the table and watch the chef prepare your food. The resort also has a night club which was good to go to. The rooms were very comfortable and were cleaned every day of the seven days that I stayed there. I booked my trip through Apple Vacations at a very good price. Everything was all inclusive and was very worth what we paid. I loved that this was an all adult resort. 18+. Nice getaway. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,109
    1,339
    476
    138
    111
See reviews for
389
4,264
131
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,313)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Everything about our stay at Secrets St. James was wonderful. The staff was beautiful, both inside and out. Food was very good to good, I really didn't enjoy the Japanese place where you have to make reservations, but that was just me. Loved the French and Italian restaurants. The beach was just beautiful, and although some may complain that it is small, it seemed like a very nice expanse of sand to me. Rooms were lovely. Would I go back again? Absolutely! Thanks to Apple Vacations, and my local travel agent by the way, for assisting in the arrangements for this special trip. By the way, I loved that it was only a few minutes from the airport. Big plus, in my opinion. Not one bit of problem with theft.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sos1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Check in was one of few negatives, with staff trying to upgrade and going to a presentation, we all just want to get to our room as we have been travelling. Clean, clean property very impressive. Food, lots of choices and very good. Rooms, well done, lots of space, umbrella every room, room service box, clothing rack on deck, well done all great ideas. Beach, pretty good considering it is man made. Should have little cushions on beach chairs. Better little walkways to beach, dangerous little rocky areas. Coupon booklet...little hookey, just charge less for spa, we all chose all inclusive for that reason. Tipping, I do not agree in tipping at all inclusive because it does not balance out; the behind the scenes staff which there are alot of them do not receive tips as all tips are cash. Spa...very nice spa had a good massage. Tennis, my wife is a fanatic so with only one court it might have been a challenge but worked out we were fine. She had two clinic, Friday and Monday, the pro was good and she booked him for three private lessons...$50.00 per hour... little steep but he was good and she was happy. Beach on St. James side is nicer and quieter. Staff were very friendly everywhere, cleanest property out of 30 visits to Jamaica. Very good food top 3 in visits to Jamaica. Property just needs something to give it that Jamaican charm, not sure what that could be...maybe Reggae themed restaurant and more Jamaican entertainment, really not sure. Do not like the preferred club idea, it kind of seperates the resort. Defintely reccomend very high quality resort.

Room Tip: We were corner, 4th floor , beachfront. One of few resorts seemed not to have bad rooms. Well done w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St,Albert
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We cannot say anything negative about this resort. From the food to service to the housekeeping amazing!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Wow, 1 star vacation for a $6000 price!! Service was terrible, food was a 10 min trek away, power outages every day, no wifi, staff that get angry if yo complain, and I could go on and on. Don't be fooled by the coupons! You'll have to spend a$1000 to use the $200 in coupons. I'm just happy to be getting out of here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 km away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
19.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
21.4 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
20.3 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price range (per night): RM1,413 - RM3,284
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing