We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$389
View deal
Hotels.com
US$389
View deal
travelup.com
US$292
View deal
Orbitz.comUS$389
CheapTicketsUS$389
TravelocityUS$389
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,337)
Filter reviews
8,337 results
Traveller rating
5,259
1,823
743
302
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,259
1,823
743
302
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preferred club piano bar wild orchid jerk chicken cart room service marlin bar world cafe secrets resort seaside grill french restaurant our honeymoon el patio hibachi grill preferred area turn down service welcome home ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 8,337 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went on our honeymoon to Secrets St James in Montego Bay. Jamaica and the grounds at this until hotel resort are beautiful but we cannot recommend this resort due to poor service.

The check in process is chaotic and unorganized. I’m not sure why it would take 3 hours to get a room ready after the standard check in time, but it was probably because this resort is severely understaffed. They had no idea of any of the perks that we purchased ahead of time and needed to be reminded several times.

Room service can take upwards of 90 minutes and required multiple calls to the front desk. However, the food at this resort is pretty good!

There is no reservation system for dinner, and no buzzer system, so if you want to eat dinner at a reasonable time, you are forced to sit/stand by the hostess. Wait times for dinner are typically 1 hour.

There are typically only 2-3 beach side servers for the entire property. You can imagine how long it takes to get a drink when a server has to cover 75 guests.

There are so many other resorts I would recommend over this one including any Melia resorts or even the Iberostar. We were able to make the best of our honeymoon, but we wished Secrets could have done better.

This is a review for the standard building. I assume the preferred section is better, but cannot comment on it.

Room tip: Either pay for preferred section or do not stay at this resort.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chaosen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauretta Blackburn , Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chaosen1,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your recent stay. We wish to extend our apologies for the delays experienced throughout your stay and this has been shared with the relevant department heads to ensure that necessary corrective measures are implemented.

I do hope that you were able to enjoy other moments during your stay, as you did with our food. It would mean much to us if we could be given the opportunity to host you again, so that we can meet and even exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Lauretta Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am happy that I am not the only person who had an awful experience at this resort. Everyone reading all the 1 star reviews, please believe them, they are 100% accurate. Started off with a horrible check in, had to wait 4+ hours to be checked into our room to only find out the room was still dirty, floor was dirty, shower head stained, bugs on the desk. Every person that works at the resort just does not care and move like snails, our room was not cleaned for 2 days, we called and they tried to convince me I had the privacy light on which was untrue. We too waited 2 days for towels, my girlfriend and I had to dry using beach towels from outside. We were preferred access bc we have a family member is who a UVC member and were able to use their membership, which is a joke, the whole preferred club and access is just a huge scam, they just take your money. Food at every restaurant was absolute garbage, even at breathless. Overall, just a terrible resort, definitely not 5 star, maybe 3(and thats being nice). Such a waste of money and a scam, I am actively trying to get a refund because it was by far the worst vacation/resort I’ve been on.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost, go to Negril, best part of Jamaica. Montego bay sucks
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 188gianlucai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauretta Blackburn , Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello 188gianlucai,

Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your vacation destination. It is however unfortunate to read that this stay did not meet the usual standards that we strive to provide to our guests. Your details are concerning and our leaders have already been made aware so that corrective actions can be taken immediately.
We appreciate you taking the time to rate us about your stay and truly regret that we did not fulfill your expectations.
It would mean much to us if we were to have another opportunity to provide you with our usual warm and excellent service.

Best regards,
Lauretta Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really don’t know how this place got so many good reviews. The service is the worst I have ever seen!! It took us 2 days to get towels, 2 days!!! I called numerous times, went down to the lobby, and still nothing. Then when we did get towels the lady the next day took them when they cleaned the room!? Wtf!! The people here must have a staffing issue as they seem Overwhelmed and you can tell morale is low from much of the staff. Never any coffee in the room and had to call for it, and still Didn’t get any. The food is mediocre at best except the Italian restaurant. Excursions are very expensive and not that great for the money you pay and that was the common census from all the other people we were with. We spent just under $4500 for a week here. Do yourself a favor and spend the little extra money for Sandals. Secrets sucks!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chrism8983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauretta Blackburn , Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chrism8983,

We are pleased to have had the opportunity to host you for your recent vacation. As a team we want all of our guests to receive nothing short of excellence and the warm and friendly service we are known for. There are many details in your review that are concerning as they deviate from our normal level of service and attitudes.

As part of our process, all leaders have received your feedback and are conducting a thorough review to investigate and address the issues you have shared. We remain focused on providing all our valued guests with excellent service.

On behalf of our entire team and management, please accept our most sincere apologies for the shortfalls in service which have resulted in your less than extraordinary experience.

It is our hope that you might visit us again in future and have a more positive and memorable stay.

Regards,
Lauretta Blackburn
econcierge1.sesmb@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Save your money and go somewhere else. This resort is very unorganized and understaffed.

Pros: Beach and pool are nice. Buffet is good but can get old after a few days. Beds are comfortable. Coffee shop was good. Band is awesome .

Cons: check-in is a nightmare, you will wait hours. Rooms are rundown and full of mosquitoes. House keeping is nonexistent. Bed linen has holes and stained. Wash clothes are unheard of, you only get two at checkin. Room service takes hours. Most restaurants are not open every night. No tablet or bath robes provided in our room.

Tips: bring wash clothes, bug repellent and sunscreen. Go to dinner early to avoid the wait. If you want a good drink go to the swim up bar. If it rains don’t order room service it will take 4 hours

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shaunj481
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauretta Blackburn , Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear shaunj481,
Thanks for your sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We truly regret that we did not live up to your expectations, as we always aim to provide the best experience. I have already shared your comments regarding the wait times experienced at our restaurants with our respective department heads so that the issues can be corrected.

We are pleased however to hear that you liked our pools and our buffet option as well as our bedding.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to meet and even exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind regards,
Lauretta Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there for 5 days. Really nice quaint resort. The staff was great. Room service was sketchy at times.The check out was very antiquated. You actually have to see someone to check out. A hotel type of checkout would make it easier. I say this because if multiple are checking out at the same time. And all are waiting for transportation, you may very well miss the bus. And the bus does not wait. I would definitely recommend this resort though and would go back.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrylw885
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauretta Blackburn , Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear darrylw885,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of Secrets St. James. The hotel is pleased to note that you had a lovely stay. We appreciate the feedback regarding our checking out process and we will pass it to the relevant department heads so that they are aware of your sentiments and prioritize them to implement any immediate corrective actions.

Thank you again for visiting Secrets St. James.

Kind regards,
Lauretta Blackburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews