We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moon Palace Jamaica
Nearby Hotels
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$384
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$902
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$599
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,895)
Filter reviews
1,895 results
Traveller rating
1,133
441
176
69
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
441
176
69
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloud barflow riderresort creditawe spawater journeykonoko fallsvacation plannersla gondolamomo restaurantgondola restaurantclub noirpresidential suitediamond conciergepalace memberspublic relationspalace elitemartini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,895 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I enjoyed 7 days in Ocho Rios at Moon Palace Jamaica Grand. It was an amazing 7 days and time seemed to stand still for that entire week. The food was terrific, the drinks were great and the service was top notch.

General Manager Clifton Reader and his staff are Top Notch. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like the most important people in the resort. The staff was amazing in going out of their way to make sure that my wife and I had everything we needed whenever we needed. They had almost any food you could ever want and at any time of the day too.

Lisa Johnson in Public Relations was extremely helpful and very professional...anyone visiting this Resort please seek out this young lady if you need help, she was terrific. When out by the pool the wait staff is great also, Keiron Walker is THE MAN!! He is very attentive and very funny...he will definitely take care of your needs.

Moon Palace Jamaica Grand is worth the money and time...AMAZING People and Resort.

Room Tip: South Tower or Cabanas
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevinlstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear kevinlstamm,

Thank you for sharing your magnificent review reflecting your amazing vacation achieved with us.

We are thrilled to learn that our terrific food, exquisite drinks and outstanding five-star service captivated your appreciation and exceeded your expectations.

Both our wonderful team members Mr.Reader and Lisa will be applauded for their above and beyond service extended to you.

Our team is thrilled that overall your vacation with us was a memorable one filled with lots of laughter and sunshine, we look forward to creating many more life-long moments with you and your beautiful family through future visits.

Warmest regards,
Chriistina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were married here on March 24th. Our wedding planner Nischelle was the best. She made sure everything ran smoothly. The wedding was beautiful and took place on the south beach side of the resort by Pier 8. Our bartender from Thursday made us special shots on Thursday and surprised us and our guests with them after the wedding. The drink was called Oochi, I didn't get his name but he works at Pier 8. Special thanks to him!

Thanks to Ricardo at Pier 8 also for requesting that our food be seasoned the way we like! Resort food can be quite bland as they cater to all sorts of preferences so request what you like, they will accommodate. The wings there for lunch are also really good.

ROWAN- the best waiter ever! He's usually on the beach were the paddle boats and kayaks are. I have been to Mexico, Bahamas, PR as well as other places and he has been the most hospitable, gracious waiter I have ever encountered. He waited on us and our entire wedding party when they arrived on the beach and all service was with a smile.

The 24 hour pizza was great as it accommodates kids as well as adults who are up late. The pizza is great and the sushi bar and desert bar next to it were also wonderful. The breakfast was great every morning. Omelets are made to order.

The teens club was cool and our teens visited there daily. The loud bar was also a great time! We requested music and had a great time there. The piano bar which is very chill was a great place for 1 on 1 time over great drinks. Our bartender was also great. I can't remember his name but the take it easy shot was good!

The jerk chicken on the beach is so good! Not sure why it was only offered from 12 noon until about 3. This should be all day.
Gondola was the best! We only ate here once, huge mistake as it was the best food! 13 of us ate here family style and had a great time.

The club was nice and played all kinds of music to welcome everyone. The bar there is also great. The catamaran ride was great! I can't remember our guys name but he took us and my parents out for a wonderful time.

Rooms were a bit small but bathroom was tiny! A bigger bathroom would have been much better but didn't stop our great time. The last day of the 7 there was disaster as the air went out in our room. We went out for the night and returned to a still 78 degree room. We called again after returning at about 1:30 am to a still warm room and unfortunately the fix did not fix it.

Overall, it was a great time! The most friendly people ever at this resort.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank ChrisTina_Fabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ChrisTina_Fabe,

We are elated to be in receipt of your awesome review describing your wonderful vacation attained at our property.

It is with sincere appreciation that we extend to you for having selected us to host such a magnificent event as that of your Wedding, our team is thrilled to have been given this gracious opportunity, a big congratulations to you both!

The highlighted staff who contributed to your vacation and Wedding being nothing less than spectacular will be commended for their above and beyond efforts.

Additionally, we are excited to be made aware that our facilities such as the Loud Bar, Wired Lounge, Disco Noir just to name a few offered total enjoyment to your travel group.
Your issue mentioned with your air condition is duly noted and we are working assiduously to ensure these inconveniences do not resurface to affect the time our valued guests have with us negatively.

Nonetheless, our team is delighted to have made this amazing milestone for you as special as it was intended to be ad we hope to host you to many more visits in our piece of paradise.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was an ok experience. At this price level expectation is to have 5/5 everywhere - so my intention is simply to help a would be tourist.

1. Do not let the "resort credits" sway your decision. They are quite worthless. For example in gift shop they have simply marked up a handful of items to $200 when they should not be $10 and you still have to pay 16% tax. Activities that are included - are over priced (270 for flyboard vs you google same activity it was 145) etc. So dont consider it when making a decision. Resort credits cannot be used for anything useful from gift shop.

2. In one restaurant we had to wait 2.5 hours and food was quite horrible. Momo restaurant was quite good. I think they need atleast one more good sit-down restaurant based on the amount of people.

3. Non motorized water sports was nice. Lots of fun stuff there.

4. Pools were good too.

5. Worst thing was their "wrist bands". They are made of plastic and not comfortable for wearing for 5 days. And since they are plastic - on sensitive skin your skin under it could get too sensitive and get blisters. And at this price level I dont want to see almost a "threat" of losing these. They will charge you an obnoxious price of $270 per day for losing this piece of crap. For me this was the worst part as my wife developed these blisters and had to see a doctor and all they did was to give her the same band and asked her to keep it in purse and same "threat" that you lose it - we will charge $270 per day.

So if you have people in your party with sensitive skin beware of this as this could mess up your vacation.

Overall I am not complaining - it was ok. Wont go there again though!

Room Tip: Building 2 is best. Building 3 also had good rooms. No balcony but when you open window on high floor the view was nice
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Saad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Saad A,

Thank you for the time invested to share your overall experience attained with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Water Sports activities and the multiple pools on property.

Your feedback is important to us, hence, we are saddened to learn that your expectations were not met throughout your getaway on-site, we are filled with dismay having learned of your unique experience had with the wristbands, we apologize for this inconvenience.as this was definitely not our intention.

We thank you for having selected our beautiful Resort for your awe-inclusive vacation and hoped despite your encounters to be bestowed the opportunity of hosting you to a more fulfilling visit than that of your last.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel offers free shuttle service from airport. When we left airport, we had to wait 45 mins for shuttle bus to fill up. It then takes additional 2 hrs to get to hotel.
Rooms-Nicely decorated, room service came daily in AM and once again in afternoon to restock fridge and give extra clean towels. Bring your own hair dryer as theirs is very weak.
Pools-Good pools with one blue slide and pool side activities for kids. Pool and beach chairs would be filled up by early AM.
Beach-beach is not very wide but clean(no seaweed on beach). You will feel seaweed at your feet in ocean. Water is calm.
Children Rooms-There is a playroom for little kids as well as a different one for older kids. There are a decent number of games and video games at both places. Children Playrooms are better than most resorts.
Staff-We encountered both friendly as well as indifferent staff. They all do run around and work very hard.
Resort Credits-they give you resort credits to be used for spa or excursions. The gimmick is that you still have to pay "service fee/tax(~20-25%)" of the resort credit amount. That's probably the real cost of the service anyways. Also u can only use limited credits at spa.
Restaurants/Food
Momos-Asian Fusion-excellent food and service.
Gondolla-Upscale Italian-excellent food and service
The boulangerie had great pastries, crepes, and ice cream.
Sushi and pizza place were great.
Beachside Jerk Chicken served in afternoon was amazing.
Breakfast is standard buffet. You can also get room service for breakfast.
One negative is that for hibachi place, you have to stand in a line for 45-60 mins at
1 pm to make a reservation for that day(u cannot reserve in advance). After waiting in line for 45 mins, I was offered only 445pm or 10 pm dinner reservation.
Second negative is that if you eat before 7pm(like we did), there is generally no wait at restaurants. If you eat closer to 8 pm, there is long wait as most people want to eat at Momos or Gondolla.
At the start or our trip, the resort was not too crowded but by the end of our stay, it became very crowded with lines for all food/drinks.
Overall a great resort(4.5 stars)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Aditya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Aditya777,

On behalf of the Management and the Team, we would like to extend our gratitude to you for taking the time to prepare a review of your vacation experience on TripAdvisor.

Our promise to you our valued guest is to offer services and amenities to facilitate your total satisfaction.

We have noted your comments about our cleaners and will definitely address to ensure an experience such as this does not take away from you our valued guest having amazing experiences.

Thank you for having made us your preferred getaway accommodation, we hope that these experiences do not deter you from visiting us in future in order for us to create a more tremendous getaway than that of your last.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Transportation from airport was courteous, clean and informative. Check an and bell staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was spacious, clean and luxurious. All the rooms have an ocean view. Free calls to US and Canada was a great perk as well as the wi-fi. We were there the week before spring break and staff were attentive and very friendly. Loads of choices for food and the drinks were plentiful. We felt pampered and spoiled for the whole week. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Building 1 is exquisite if you have a choice but mostly for members.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mckerrellway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mckerrellway,

Thank you for your exciting review expressing the luxurious awe-inclusive vacation achieved on site.

We are thrilled to learn that your expectations were most definitely exceeded as a result of the exceptional services delivered by our staff.

A whole-heartened thank you from each and every one of our team members, for expressing your appreciation had towards the unparalleled service you received throughout all our facilities.

Our team is ecstatic to learn that you have already considered visiting us through future vacations where we intend to extend nothing less than that of extraordinary service once agaiin.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews