We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Floyd's Pelican Bar
from US$107.00
More Info
from US$234.00
More Info
from US$50.00
More Info
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
461
135
37
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
135
37
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride black river names carved lobster unique experience red stripe on stilts license plates play dominoes once in a lifetime coolest place ys falls bucket list mixed drinks south coast caught fish rum punch
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We were taken there by boat - booked by our hotel and paid 80$ for both of us. Captain was funny and easy going. The ride takes about 30 minutes there. We got to see dolphins on our way.
The bar is literally in the middle of the ocean. It was quite busy but not crazy so we still had a spot to sit. You can swim here too, the water is not very deep. Really cool experience. We drove back as the sun was setting. Gorgeous.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Our trip to the Pelican Bar was AWESOME!! It had just rained so the water was a little cloudy, but that did not stop us from having a great time! If you are looking for a 5 star bar, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an experience that is one of a kind with awesome people, this is your place. The photos speak for themselves, but this place is definitely unique! There are not any frozen drinks due to lack of power and no blender, but there are mixed drinks and plenty of beer. It is a short boat ride from the mainland and well worth the trip! You can stay as long as you like and soak up the sun or play some dominos with the locals. Don't forget cash for the drinks and a small gift shop.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Natekctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Ahh don’t miss this place when traveling to Jamaica.the staff are very accommodating and served up a great lunch, lobster and seasonal-vegetables w rice and pea. This being my second time to visit was a little different, the wind was blowing strong and created a current that my guests were reluctant to swim. I however went for a swim several times. It was all good, after all the depth of the water is only 3’. You can stand. Lol. Floyd you rock it, when your not napping. Thanks for having us......will be back again. Regards “ The White Selector”

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank chefchaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

The Pelican Bar was definitely a highlight of visiting Negril. If you're looking for bells and whistles, this isn't the place for you, however, if you want to go somewhere that's super chill with great swimming, you'll find it here! Everyone was nice and easy to talk to. I wish I brought my snorkelling gear!

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We've been coming here since the Pelican Bar was opened. It used to be one of our very favorite spots--a bar/restaurant on a sandbar in the Caribbean, accessible only by boat. The local boat captains made it a point to bring their guests here for a Red Stripe, for a meal, for the camaraderie. Floyde, the owner (and the man who dreamed about it and then built it) was essentially a part of the community.

People probably thought Floyde grew rich off his inspiration. We knew differently. He worked and worked and worked. Sometimes he'd go an hour or two between paying guests. He was barely meeting his expenses.

Fast forward to a serious overdose of commercialism...There is now a Facebook page for the Pelican Bar. Large boatloads of guests from all-inclusives as far away as Negril arrive on a regular basis. The old sundeck has now been transformed into several small shops selling ugly tourist trinkets. The prices have gone way up, and the quality of the food has gone down. The noise level is annoying. It costs easily $20 (US) for a Red Stripe plus a plate of food that's mainly veggies.

Yes, the Pelican Bar is unique--and probably still worth visiting. Once. First-time visitors will enjoy their experience because they don't know better.

The prices could have been raised, but nearly doubling them while cutting down on the quantity and quality of food went way too far. And, really, it's no fun to share the experience in a crowded, noisy environment.

We're sad. But we're done.

Date of experience: November 2017
3  Thank KenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews