We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT GO DURING ATI CONCERT WEEKEND!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked a 2 week family holiday. Staff great and really helpful and friendly. Room was a suite and though dated it was kept very clean by housekeeping. ATI concert runs the same weekend every year in Negril Jamaica. Basiclly its 8 concerts that pack up and move about Negril during a 3 day period. I warn you now do not go whilst this is happening. The base started at about 3pm and then the DJ started screaming and swearing until about 5 am the following day. The local police and neighbours can do nothing to prevent this. The music was so loud no one in the hotel slept and i am not exagerating when i say it was so loud it couldnt have been louder if you where actually at the concert itself, it was horrendous. After ATI they then have independence day which is again the same story. The hotel entertainment isnt great especially in the evenings as nothing is really on when advertised to be and what is on is pretty terrible apart from The Silver Birds steel band which where fantastic. The resort itsef isnt value for money it is definatly not 5 stars. ATI runs anytime between 23rd July and 6th August every year depending on when the weekends fall. Independance follows straight after. Do not go during these dates you will regret it!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite with concierge service. Room was ok a king and then 2 fold down beds in the next room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,981 - 3,985 of 5,319 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

If I had to describe Beaches Negril in one word it would be "tired". The resort is in need of a makeover. My wife and I took our two kids for a seven night stay and we got an upgrade because we are repeat guests. The grout in the bathroom tile had mold stains throughout. The tub did not drain and the air conditioner blew room temperature air. It too had not been cleaned in some time. There were dust balls visible in the unit. The friendly staff did send someone up to make the repairs right away but still not a good start to our vacation. The first night we were there, a party on the next property began in the afternoon and did not stop until almost 5:00 am. We later found out that this was part of Jamaica's week and a half long Independence celebration. I wish Twinsburg Travel would've mentioned this when we were picking our dates. They played music and had what sounded like a motivational speaker speaking in tongues screaming into the microphone all night long. My wife said he sounded like an Iraqi auctioneer with a speech impediment on crack. His voice and the "music was so loud that it shook the walls of our room and rattled our windows. At around 2:00 am I went down to complain at the front desk about the noise and there was already a line of tourists at the desk complaining. Beaches staff said ther was nothing they could do because the party was not on their property. They said the police were called but they would do nothing. The concierge told me the next time I shoud not book a trip to Negril during the last week of July or the first week of August because it is like this every year. I'm thinking of avoiding Jamaica altogether. The kids activities were mediocre at best. My 10 and 14 year old were not impressed. The best time they had was when we hired a guy not associated with the resort to take us into town shopping and see how some of the locals live. He took us to the Times Square mall to do some local shopping and then he took us to downtown to some other local vendors that are not the typical tourist trap. Later in the week we hired another guy to take us snorkeling in the underwater caves at Ricks Cafe. The kids had a good time there and also got to do some cliff diving at the same place. The food at Beaches was decent but not extraordinary. Avoid Komonas which is a Japanese style habachi. The chefs try to turn your dining experience into a karaoke / cheerleading party style event. I just wanted a quiet well prepared meal. I felt anxious and irritated while I was there. We've been to other all inclusive resorts at other locations like Turks and Caicos, Bahamas, Dominican, and Mexico. Considering what we paid for 7 nights I would grade Beaches Negril at a C. I would probably not recommend Beaches Negril to a friend because there are better palces for the same or less money. You wont be entirely disappointed if you go but you probably wont go back. Food C+..Facilities C-..Staff A+.. Ocean/Beach B+..Entertainment C-.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeBDauphin_PAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I was married 5 years ago at Sandals Dunn's River Falls Resort and absolutely adored it. I have raved about Jamaica ever since. This time my family had booked this trip to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary and this WAS NOT worth what she paid . If I had done my research we would not have vacationed here. I have to say though, my wedding and honeymoon at Sandals Dunn's River was amazing and definitely 5 star.

I am going to list what is wrong with this place.
1. No-one greeted us upon arrival- we were walking around looking for where to check in.
2. It is very difficult to make reservations. Thank god one of our rooms was concierge because if it wasn't we would have never been able to make reservations. They were also not accomodating with reservations times. Most nights we were eating at 9pm (with our 5 kids). When we went into these extremely busy restaurants there was hardly anyone there eating.
3. Locals annoying you ALL day on the beach!
4. Very hard to make reservations for the Water Sports.
5. Very hard to get a drink at all. My husband flipped out at least 3 times because he was ignored by the bartenders when they weren't even serving anyone.
6. Very hard to get coffee with breakfast and drinks with dinner. Half the time we were getting our first drink when the food came out.
7. It cost me $10 to put sparkles on a shell for my 2 yr old and we thought kids activities we included.
8. The nightly entertaiment was amusing.
9. Bathrooms down by the pools were very dirty all day long. I know people were going in there wet but someone should kept up with it.
10. By 3pm the pools were dirty and smelled like urine.
11. On 3 days I had to call housekeeping to clean my room at 5pm.
12. One day they only left one towel.
13. The air conditioner leaked so much that it flooded the room and saturated my suit case.
14. My husband got food poisoning from Arizona's and the food was down right awful. They actually reserved a table for us and sent champaign and fruit to our room because we had such an awful experience there. Not to mention it took over 2 hrs to be served and there was no one in the restuarant.
15. The fish restaurant was good but it was on the beach at night and we were eaten alive by sand fleas.
16. Mosquitos eat your legs at breakfast.
17. I was followed to my room one night and acosted by an employee. I am still waiting for them to get back to me on the results of their investigation.
18. Staff hardly interacted with us at all. The never smiled and looked right through us. They were more interested in talking to each other.

I am upset that the travel agent recommended this resort because there are 358 average, poor and negative reviews. All which say the same. It was also very odd that no-one vacationing there looked truly happy. It certainly was not home away from home. While I had a good time with my family I certainly would never recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank renee2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRICS, Manager at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Warm greetings from Sandals Resorts International! You are very important to us and we welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please e-mail us at (customerservice@beaches.com). We ask that you include your TripAdvisor screen name, resort booked, and travel dates when corresponding with us. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This resort is old, dirty, rundown, and full of slow, pretending very little to care employees. Food very poor quality. Sand flees horrible and very painful. I've stayed at many fine resorts, and this was a complete ripoff. I was really looking forward to some good reggae but in over a week, there were no bands. There is no nightlife. Unless you count the occasional drunk husband wandering around. The county is beautiful, but the American dollar doesn't go far at all. We are told it's dangerous to go off the property, but how else can you have any fun since it's not to be found at the resort. We supposedly had concierge service, but when we called to find out any information, the lady was rude and didn't know about how to do anything. In this case, you don't get what you pay for. I filled out a long survey from the resort, providing details of what needed improvement, and in over a month, I never heard back. I've told many people to skip this resort.
PS). I'm curious about those individuals who have only good things to say about this place. Are people being paid, or just afraid to admit to they were very disappointed in their dream turned nightmare vacation. No proper air-conditioning for humid weather, plumbing smells like raw sewage, old beach equipment, hot tubs colder than the pool the entire week, flies on the food, housekeeping only showed up every other day, no kid club activities an 11 year old boy would enjoy to do without his parents. I didn't trust anyone to watch him, I couldn't even trust these called private beach, as every where we turned, locals were shouting out, mushrooms, cocaine, and weed. This is frightening. I don't appreciate that at all.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
8  Thank Bjorn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our family of seven visited Beaches - Negril and were under-impressed. We were not initially given the rooms we reserved and found someone was already in one of the rooms we were checked into. The problem was resolves after dealing with several layers of management which took time from our rest and relaxation. Next, when we went to make reservations at the restaurants we were told there were none available until the night before we were to leave. Again we had to talk to three or four people in order to relolve this issue. All inclusive.....nope! There are charges everywhere you turn. Even the advertised teen cruise which all 5 of out teenagers wanted to attend was $50 pp. Hair braiding, DJ acadamy, even to use the comfy beach front canopy lounge was $85 per day (and it is on the cover of the brochure--all inclusive??) . The food was free.....but mediocre at best. Beer was only Red Stripe or Red Stripe Lite. Frozen (smoothies) were nothing more than Icee machines with strawberry or coconut flavoring. What else can I say. Oh, and don't forget the beauty of long walks on the 7 mile beach.... My husband started to take a stroll and at the end of the resort property was a guard stopping us from walking down the beach. 7 miles my &^%%. We have travelled a lot and were really duped by this rip-off. We never even got a thank you for coming...have a safe trip home. :(

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chirorandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
8.1 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
4.7 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.4 km away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
53.5 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
3.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#3 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: RM2,719 - RM6,323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing