We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Generation Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Recently spent a week at Beaches Negril with my spouse, our daughter, her husband and three grandchildren, two boys aged 10 and one granddaughter aged 17. All had a wonderful holiday.
The resort has ample activities to keep everyone contented. One grandson is into sports the other electronics and both had daily ativities as well as pool time and Snorkling time etc... There is organized activities for all age groups of under 18's . We also did some off resort trips, charter fishing, YS falls, Rick's Cafe.

Bonus is 7 mile Beach, a beach lovers paradise, where you truely can walk for miles. I love this Beach one of the best I've seen in years and one I will visit again.

Room Tip: We booked a two room suite for seven people each bedroom and the sitting room (where there was a pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olddog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,792 - 3,796 of 5,286 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

First time at a Sandals/Beaches resort and we will return. Sandals lounge was nice at airport, Landed at 6:30 Am (won't book an overnight flight ever again) from Regina, Sk.
Easy to find Sandals and were on bus in 20 minutes. Election day in Jamacia, lots of traffic but trip only took 80 minutes. At Beaches by 9:30, friendly greeting and because of time we were able to upgrade to suite with king bed and big pullout for 15 and 13 aged kids. Had booked room with 2 doubles. $500 upgrade worth it. Came with conceriege service and stocked fridge. Booked our snorkeling, boat trips and restaurants then. Restaurants were never full, not sure why other reviewers had trouble booking them. Maybe conceriege is worth the money.
Stayed in 701. Great location, great view. Quiet, clean, lots of water pressure all day. Always hot water.
Last 4 days we got upgrade to 112/113 adjoining butler rooms. Not sure why offered the free upgrade, must be my good looks. (yeah right) Bit of pain to move, but well worth it. On north edge of property, but still close to everything. Big rooms, we had king, kids had 2 large pull outs in their room. First time we have ever had our own room on holiday, 2 bathrooms, privacy from kids (very nice,wink wink). AC was quiet and worked great, set at 73 and didn't touch it again.
Amazing how clean rooms are. Updated, card entry, good water pressure all day. Great view. Whined a bit and got free internet, charged for it, then rebated as couldn't connect code on bill. Usually had to be on balcony to connect, but good service.
The food was great everywhere. Never had a bad meal. We don't expect exceptional at all inclusives. Burgers, nachos, ice cream, pizza all good too for snacks. Morning burrito/omelets were great.
Entertainment was good, Silver Bird steel drum band amazing. Didn't do any late night dancing, hard to stay awake that long.
The New Year's party was best we have ever seen. We have traveled last 10 new years and have seen many different ones. The setup on beach, the food and show can't be described, it was just amazing. I made a point of talking to executive chef the next day to congratulate him and his staff. He seemed quite surprised and happy that I had done that.
The staff is great, all very friendly with ready smiles. They go out of their way to make sure we are happy. The no tipping policy was great, I hate having to carry money just for that. They can lose their job if they take a tip.
We got a sunset photo session and bought a couple of the pics. Nicollette was great photographer, lots of fun.
Pools looked great, did the lazy river once, kids tried waterslides, but we didn't use them. We are beach lovers. Son liked the Xbox garage.
Negril beach is the best part. White sand, great water, lots of room to walk. Nice to be able to walk north and stop at Beaches Sandy Bay for a drink or food. We also used the shuttle bus between them and walked back. Just let the security at end of resort know you are going for a walk. It was nice to know they keep track of guests that way.
The beach peddlers were friendly and willing to talk too. We rented jet skis from Peter, he had best price. $40 for 40 minutes. Wife got massage from Janet, just north of resort. $20 for half hour. Beaches massage was $130 for 45 minutes.(way too high) Wife went twice to Janet, said she was amazing masseuse.
Didn't do any tours, but did all watersports offered, they were great.
Clients are Canadian(mainly Ontario) and American with a few Europeans. Everyone was friendly and well behaved. Lots of kids from tots to early twenties. Lots of laughter everywhere. Lots of chairs on beach, lots of shade if needed.
We had a 3 am bus to airport (again don't get an overnight flight, because return is very early). Trip took 1 hour, no traffic that time of day (surprise). Conceriege called night before to check on us. Asked me if we wanted sandwiches when we left. I said sure, thought we might be hungry. Sandwiches with crusts cut off, muffins, cookies, fruit. WOW. We shared with the 10 people in Westjet line at airport (got there before counter was open) They were amazed our resort had done that. Still had some left for snack before boarding..
Duty free liquor opens at 7:00 am at airport, our flight was delayed 1/2 hour so we could buy our take home booze ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We did all our research prior to booking this trip. We had our bug spray in hand, but as it turns out we did not even need it (we left it behind with the locals). We were met at the airport by a pleasant surprise of beverages and super service, both compliments of Beaches. We had an exciting cultural ride through Jamaica and was at the resort before we knew it. There we were greeted by live music, cool cloths (with a soothing lemongrass fragrance) and more prompt and attentive service. We were showed to our room and was pleasantly surprised by all the cedar wood (we did not recall seeing this in the pics). We booked the least expensive room for our family of four. We were happy with the accommodations (but also knew we were not there but to sleep and shower in the room). We were on the ground floor (a must for us) and conveniently located to everything. The food was fine; but must give shout out to dining on the beach. That was extra special. The karaoke was loads of fun, the Steel Drum Band was off the charts (especially the dancing towards the end) and we danced into the night at Liquid (not just for kids, they had adult nights). The beaches were breathtaking. The staff and their level of service was amazing. In particular, Denesha - the Cabana Queen. She listened to our every need (and we had 9 people in our group, some more needier than others) and made our vacation most memorable. Yes the locals are at the beach everyday selling their wares, but we chose to embrace them and actually made several new friends. We had a super time and hope to return again soon.
PS - if you read some of the negative comments, ignore them. If you expect too much, you will find negatives, but if you remember how fortunate (just open your eyes and look around you while you are there) you are to be able to vacation at such a beautiful place, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Ground floor a must for us ( we were always forgetting something in our room). We stayed in the 500...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank rwebb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at Beaches Negril for six nights. Overall, it was a positive experience, but we wanted to share some of the things we wished we would have known prior to travel.

First and foremost, this IS an all-inclusive resort, but there is a definitely hierarchy when it comes to what type of room you have purchased. You will be asked your room number over and over again, while inquiring about activities or amenities. This is because room numbers are associated with the type of room you have booked. Suites or rooms with concierge or butler services were very obviously given higher priority and more attention in almost every area. Perhaps the most useful bit of advice we can provide is to use tipping when you really need it. It makes a tremendous difference in your experience, from service at the restaurants, to water sports, to arranging transport for excursions, to bartenders, housekeeping, etc. They may say that they do not accept tips, but oh yes, they do - and it can make a BIG difference in your overall experience.

Van ride from the airport to the resort: Many people complain about the motion sickness and Jamaican’s unsafe driving practices. We had no troubles with this. It is difficult to get used to driving on the left side of the road, but it never felt dangerous.

Check-in: We had read numerous reviews from other travelers, complaining that their room type had been switched at the time of check in. We were concerned about this, and confirmed our reservation/room type numerous times prior to travel, as did out travel agent. We reserved a room with two double beds, which was important to us, as we were traveling with our two sons, ages 11 and 7. When we arrived, we were assigned to a room with one king bed and a pull-out sofa (which can NOT accommodate any child above the age of ten comfortably, let alone two children). Front desk staff said that all of the rooms with two beds were occupied. They offered to switch us the following day if something opened up. Ultimately, we decided to request a roll away bed in addition to the pull out. We stayed in this room, as it had a nice view of the ocean. Please be aware that there are NO guarantees when you are requesting a specific room type. It doesn't matter how many times you call ahead, or who you talk to. Once you are unpacked, a move across the resort is a hassle and wastes precious vacation time.

Room: Some rooms in the resort have been updated with card key entry, flat screen tvs, and new showerheads. We did not have these upgraded amenities. Carrying around a key (with your room number engraved on it), was a little disconcerting. As reported numerous times in these reviews, the water pressure is horrible. Prime time for showering is between 3:30 and 5:30, when people are transitioning from the beach to dinner. During that time, it is impossible to get hot water and there is no water pressure. You quickly learn to shower in record time. We had no problems with maid service. They were always finished by late in the afternoon, and generally cleaned the room well. * We did tip her at the beginning of our trip and I believe this made a difference. We have read about issues with theft on this resort. One day, my son forgot to put his itouch in the safe, and the housekeeper put it on his pillow. Despite this, make sure you use the safe. It was large enough to hold phones, wallets, jewelry, etc. Another important tip: bring an extension cord! There are nowhere near enough outlets in the room if you intend to charge phones and ipods overnight. We opted to purchase the Wi-fi service for the week ($42). It wasn’t worth the price, and we ultimately asked that it be refunded, as we never received a strong enough signal to connect to email.

Resort: The pool’s main swim-up bar was closed for remodeling during our entire trip, which was a disappointment. The lounge chairs at the pool are reserved by 8:30 a.m. every day, and there isn’t much seating. The pools were a little chilly, but the lazy river was fun. I am baffled as to why anyone would hang out at the pool for any amount of time when the beach is so amazing.

Beach: Unlike the pool, there are plenty of lounge chairs at the beach, which is simply beautiful. Use generous amounts of bug spray for sand flies, as they can be relentless. We rented a cabana for the day ($150), and wished we would have done this a second day. Breakfast and lunch is served by the cabana with a cooler of sodas and Red Stripe constantly restocked. Again, tip your server! Your cooler will be filled regularly and often! Concierge and butler services reserve some of the cabanas in the event one of their guests may want one. There are many days when there appeared to be open cabanas, but they informed us that they were all reserved. There are many beach vendors, mostly for jet skis. We eventually found Peter, who set us up with two jet skis ($60 for 50 minutes). The jet skis were a blast! They are NOT offered by the resort.

Water sports: The highlight of our trip was the catamaran trip, offered by the resort for an additional fee ($280 for four of us). It sailed up the coast, and allowed us to swim into a cave. They also stopped to snorkel, and made a brief stop at Margaritaville. The crew is fun and the music is awesome. The crew requests tips for this activity, so bring your wallet! We tried snorkeling, canoeing, and took rides on the glass bottom and banana boats. All were great. Most water activities are same-day sign up, so make sure you go early and schedule your activities before they fill up.

Eating: This was our biggest disappointment. The food was average (at best) at all of the restaurants. My kids lived on pizza and chicken nuggets, as they would at home if allowed. There is only one breakfast option (The Mill), and it was the same food every day. Service was sketchy (at best) if you wanted coffee, and we usually went and got it ourselves. Making reservations for the other restaurants was the most bizarre process we have encountered. Supposedly, reservations are made same-day, at a table located near the front desk. We were told to show up between 8 a.m. and noon to make reservations for that night. We arrived at 8 a.m. and were told that all reservations for Kimono’s and Stewfish were filled. (?) We were given a convoluted explanation about “wait lists” and were told maybe we could still eat there, but they would need to call us the following day…There were many angry guests making appearances at the reservations desk every day. On our first full day there, we were told that there were no open reservations for Kimono’s for the rest of our stay. We complained numerous times, and were eventually fit in, but it was a struggle, and very time consuming. The beach party (Thursday night) was fun, but seafood night (Friday night) was a disappointment, as there was very little seafood. We tipped one of the cooks and he made us some lobster! That same night, the resort has a chocolate fountain, which starts at 9 p.m. We arrived at 9:15 and there were no plates, no napkins, and most of the food for dipping was gone and never replenished. Our BEST dinner was off the resort, as Cosmo’s, which is located just up the beach from Beaches. They have wonderful seafood, and a lovely beach atmosphere. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Off resort activities: With strategic tipping, we were able to secure a driver for an afternoon of shopping. He took us to the big “mall” and the craft market. Be aware that the craft market consists of locals who display their goods in run-down shacks, near downtown. You can purchase some amazing souvenirs, but every vendor tries to get you to come into their shop, and pressures you to buy any and everything. If that makes you uncomfortable, don’t go! We also hired a driver to take us to Rick’s Café. I wouldn’t plan on eating there. The food is very average. Most people visit Rick’s in the late afternoon, and the place clears out right after sunset. We decided to stay longer, and wish we hadn’t. Another highlight is the massage service offered right up the beach from the resort. It is run by Ms. Hart, and her assistant, Crystal. For $25 you receive an amazing 30 minute massage right on the beach (compare this to the resort price of $60!).

Overall, we had a good experience at Beaches. We had read many of these reviews and had realistic expectations of the resort and the service. The service is consistent with the Jamaican culture – very laid back and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family stayed at Beaches Nigril our first time at a all-inclusive.We where greeted by O'neil after an adventurous bus ride with scented cool towels to wipe our faces.I knew at that moment our family was going to have a great time at Beaches.O'neil made us all welcome and showed us to our rooms and made sure our luggage got to us after the bus ride of 4 hours due to political rallies blocking the roads, but it was a learning experience for all the adults and my grandsons.Our rooms where just beautiful and spacious with no problems with A/C,but our son had problem with ceiling fan but it was taking care in a timely manorand no further problems.The family ate at The Mill Restaurant every morning and where greeted by smiling faces and made to feel right at home.All the staff were wonderful and they made the kid's day with fun conversations.Thirteen of us where at the beach everyday from 9 am til 5pm and enjoyed conversing with the staff . Anthony was always bringing us fresh drinks and picking up glasses and talking to us about his country and the schools in Jamacia. Opal was making our wonderful drinks and Tyron always kept the beach clean and beach chairs setup, he had wonderful conversations with the family about Jamacia and its people. The beach had fine white sand and went on for 7 miles or so. The water was shallow with litttle drop off but was warm and restful.We all went snorkling some for first time and everyone was kind to us newbies, Marcus lead the group and took beautiful pictures and the 4 yr old and 10 yr old loved seeing all the sanddollars ,star fish and coral.The second nite we had dinner at Kimonos and Niketa our chef and Latoya kept us entertained with wonderful singing and much laughter.We felt like we where at a family dinner with all our relatives there.We ate at Arizona and the jerk chicken was wonderful.My grandsons enjoyed the daily trip to get cheese burgers and cheese fries after there time in lazy river and water slides and Xbox rm.I prefered the Pizza at Dino's and was helped by Susan and she was right the veggy pizza was the best.Third nite there, My husband and I where treated to candle light dinner on the beach by our children.Stacey-Ann was our server and she was wonderful,taking her time and having wonderful conversations with us.The meal was marvelous and at the end Stacey-Ann asked us to stand up and hold each other and she played a song on her phone for us to dance to under the star's.This was a nite I will never forget. The day before the wedding all us girls had mani-pedi's at spa and it was a great time for all very relaxing. The wedding day was beautiful.The wedding was wonderful on the beach with all the staff taking care of us all so no worries, done just the way the bride wanted everything. Many pictures taken, then reception on the beach under canopy with a wonderful steel band and warm breeze from ocean.After the reception we all went and did karaoke and had some wonderful drinks in bar area near the Mill.Our last nite there it happened to be there Beach party and the beach was set up with table and chairs and a beautiful buffet was served.Wonderful music and dance by the staff ,and a parade with Sesame Street Characters for the kids.They asked all the kids to bring their mom's on stage to honor them ,then they had the kids sit down and the mom's didn't know it but it was to be a dance contest.Everyone loved it and my daughter won the Queen of Ragge which made my grandson's very happy and my daughter.This was a Wedding and Trip I can never forget and hope to go back to Beaches soon.

Room Tip: We where on first level in 700 block.Quiet and peaceful.Beautiful view of ocean and garden area.Near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
8.1 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
4.7 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.4 km away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
53.5 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
3.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: RM2,728 - RM6,445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing