We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Nirvana”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Second time here in two years. Wanted the Sundeck Studio and thought we were getting a "private balcony", not as advertised; its not a "sundeck" (sine it has a roof!) and its not private in terms of privacy. Pluses: grounds are clean, security guards at night, you get your beach chairs without a problem. But i believe there must be better value for your money....In addtion to the room fee, beward of tax AND a manditory gratuity, which adds 25% to the cost of your room (this policy is not universal in Jamaica). And for this price your manager is not onsite after about 6pm, so any problems must be dealt with via a security guard.

2 of 3 days were accompanied by construction just below the apartment starting mid morning and running till early evening. Workers were asked to keep the noise down but it changed nothing. To be fair...on the plus side, the units are well outfitted for coooking and the bathrooms are nice. On the negative, BYOLB (bring your own light bulbs). Nirvana is using the worlds worst flourescents so all rooms feel like interrogation chambers...not that we spent so much time indoors, but still for this price there should be some ambiance...they do spray a LOT for bugs, i guess that can be considered a plus, however if you are senstive to the smell of insecticide, you might want to consider this practice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WorldOyster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

This place was excellent. On one hand I am reluctant to give such praise, because if it gets too popular, the wife and I may have a harder time booking the place next year. However, we must give credit where credit is due. The service, accommodations and security were all top notch. The staff immediately made us feel comfortable and were available when needed. The owners were very helpful in getting us prepared for the trip. The wife and I have routinely gone to Jamaica over the past 25 years. The island has changed of course (some good, some not so good). This was our first time at this property. We have stayed at all level of accommodations, from simple 1 room dwellings to luxury all-inclusives. We found the former lacking in amenities and security and the latter isolating, confining and often way too expensive. Nirvana was the perfect mix.

Some things to know:
-Pre-arrange transportation (airport to property) with the owners. The prices are reasonable and the drivers are very professional.
-Get a villa with air conditioning. You may think the ocean breeze will be enough. It won't be. We had the Owner's Villa ( a little pricey, but worth every dime).
-The housekeeping staff also cook (selected villas). This is well worth it. A great time and money saver. The food is authentic, nutritious and tastes great.
-Buy the 20 pound bag of oranges offered. The staff will make daily fresh squeezed OJ daily. Nothing like it.
-Contrary to what others may have written, we found the grocery store's prices and stock very reasonable (come on guys, we are after all on a tropical island and not the local suburban supermarket).
-The fresh fruit vendors come along every morning. They will cut the fruit for you. The coco bread man also comes every morning.

Things we did not like:
Whats not to like?

WARNING:
The wife and I went at the end of July/beginning of August. We were unaware of an ATI/RTI music festival 3 day weekend. IF YOU ARE NOT GOING FOR THIS EVENT, DO NOT STAY ANY WHERE NEAR IT. The music was so loud, it actually shook the property buildings and lasted each night until 4AM. This was not fault of the Nirvana owners in any way. However, you should be forewarned. In any event, we still had a great time and would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

i never write reviews... but this place was sooo good...i have to. First of all, I was greeted upon arrival (Rocky's is BEST transportation services... BEST..BEST) - the ladies were very pleasant and up-lifting. Big smiles and made me feel welcome (the big resorts are a bad joke+ the food is nasty). Rainbows right next door has amazing good jerk chicken and fish +other good HOME-COOKED food (off subject) We stayed in the owners villa which right on the beach=> UNBEATABLE... the good man Shine was always looking out for us at night time & giving us good advice. Both Shine and the gardener (forgot his name but has a bit of a stutter) are two exceptional people that left lasting impressions and gave me a new found hope in humanity (if you go to Alfred's, beware). Seriously, but all joking aside, I absolutely love EVERYTHING and every PERSON at Nirvana, Negril. We had the time of our lives! 9mile/mayfield/ysfalls/black river safari in that order remember Rocky's 4 best safe reliable transportation.

Room Tip: owners villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rex419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We loved this place! We lived in #1 Cottage and everything was perfect. We had fresh orange juice every morning (we bought 20 pounds of oranges from a village guy), the rooms were clean, the maids were friendly and accurate, the beach was astonishing and we really loved spending hot hours under the palm trees.

But you should know that all rooms and furniture are made from old wood and were not renovated for a long time but it really didn't bother us. The beach is 30 seconds away from the cottage. Beach amenities are great: chairs, pads, kayaks etc.

I highly recommend this place for family couples and loud companies!

Room Tip: Cottage #1 is the farest from the beach and WiFi connection there is not good as at other cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Timansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We love our time in Nirvana. It was our first family vacation with our 2 year-old. She loved the swings on the beach, the little play house, sand toys, and floaties for swimming in the ocean!

Our favorites were:

1. Eating dinner with our feet in the sand, having a glass of wine while our daughter played int he sand.

2. Eating all the food from the vendors walking up and down the beach...coco bread, fresh fruit that is all cut up, the little bananas are delicious!

3. Going shopping for fruit and veggies at the local stands...neat experience.

4. Getting to know the locals....staying here is VERY different than staying at all-inclusives!

5. The staff at Nirvana are great! They arranged for a babysitter one evening for our daughter and it all worked out great. Very experienced! They go above and beyond!

Advice - If you going with small children that need to nap/go to bed early it would be ideal to have one of the beachfront cabins. However, when our daughter was napping we hung out in the hammocks under the palapa and read books. it was lovely.

We loved the cabins, for us it was ver similar in style to the cabins we stay at here in Manitoba during the summer at the lake.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Uttn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 km away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
3.3 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
6.5 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#8 of 80 in Negril
1,162 reviews
0.7 km away
Negril Tree House Resort
5.6 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#4 of 80 in Negril
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Jamaica, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: RM565 - RM1,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing