We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Catcha Falling Star Gardens(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cliff Hotel(Negril)
US$275
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beach House Condos(Negril)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Boardwalk Village Hotel(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catcha Falling Star(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chippewa Village(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alvynegril Guest House(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bourbon Beach Hotel(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,589)
Filter reviews
1,590 results
Traveller rating
810
419
205
81
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
419
205
81
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond clubfitness teamtravel smartcalypso restaurantmain poolaqua fitdc poolhunters steakhousegourmet marchetex mexgrowing painsboot camppresidential suitemartini barwest indieskids poolkids club
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 1,590 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Royalton Negril.
The journey from the airport is a loooong one after a 9.5h flight so we were hoping for a quick check in. Although check in was quick, we did have to wait around for 2 other families to check in also before the bell boy would consider taking out bags to the the room. We snaked our way to everyone else’s rooms before arriving at our own.

ROOM
The room was really nice! The decor is European rather than Caribbean (light, bright and comfortable). Strange smell (musty/mouldy) on arrival but this cleared really quickly once the balcony door had been open for an hour or two. We were in block 3. Coffee/tea making facilities were great and replenished daily.
Bar was replenished daily and room was well cleaned every day. Towels were replaced if left on the floor but not if hung to dry on wall hangers.

FOOD
Food was amazing in the buffet and specialty restaurants. We visited tex mex, steak house and Italian. We had room service a couple of times which was fab! Took 30-40 mins to come but we didn’t think that unreasonable given the busy times we ordered.
Lunch in the buffet and Italian was great as was the jerk chicken shack and burger ‘van’ at the pool.

BARS
Basically you have to be patient if you aren’t willing to tip each time you are served at the pool and martini bars. There doesn’t appear to be a queuing system, staff can ignore you and prioritise those who tip which can be a bit frustrating at very busy times. Otherwise service and cocktails were spot on.

BEACH/POOL
Both the beach and pool were very well kept. In the Royalton area of the hotel, there aren’t enough beds for the number of people staying. You need to be up really early to get a bed!! On our last night we saw people putting towels out at 10pm to reserve beds/ cabanas around the pool.
The hotel is split into Royalton, Royalton Diamond club and Royalton hideaway. If you are staying in Royalton you are not allowed anywhere but in the Royalton. This includes the pools and on the beach. Security prevent you from walking on these areas of the beach which is a real shame as the Royalton is sandwiched between the diamond club and hideaway. Even more frustrating was the fact there were sun beds in these areas that were free but we weren’t allowed to use.
It was busier Friday to Sunday - we think maybe travellers from USA came for long weekends???

SELLERS
We were quite wary after reading some reviews on here. At the beach there were some guys/ ladies selling stuff but they went quite quickly if you were firm but polite. They didn’t really bother us. We never really bother with TUI rep meetings so only had contact on the day we left.

SUMMARY
Great food and cocktails. Staff in general really accommodating and friendly.
Some areas require a bit of a tarting up (peeling paint / grouting redone etc). In my opinion the sunbed issue needs to be addressed - we’ve never had this before while on hol so found it a bit disappointing for a 5 star resort.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Kate874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The good - We stayed at the Diamond Club. rooms are renovated and clean and quiet. The butler service was excellent, but this seems based on who your butler is. Our butlers, Kadeem and Melissa, were great but we heard of others who did not see their butler at all their entire stay. The entertainment by Sabrina was good as well - very energetic and engaging. The fitness classes were also excellent (Everton and aqua fit, boot camp in the morning). One gentleman, Dexter, kept the pool area clean and was constantly checking on the guests if they needed anything.

The not do good:
1. They frequently "ran out" of stuff, even in the Diamond Club - spoons, cheese sauce for the nachos, premium alcohol, banana bread, pot stickers, etc - all of which were on the menus, but not available. It was almost as if they were rationing the food and drink since it is an all-inclusive and only had a set quota for each day. Many of things ran out by mid-morning.
2. Ran out of towels frequently at the beach - we had to reuse towels one day at the beach, and the last day also did not have towels in the room.
3. Some people were very nice and pleasant, but some (especially at the bars) were very rude and seemed to hate working there
4. Restaurant service was extremely slow - seemed to be due to the kitchen staff. One night, when we had reservations at 6, we were told the kitchen wasn't ready and to wait 20 minutes to be seated. Often times, our 6 year old daughter fell asleep waiting for dinner (even though we arrived between 5;45 to 6 for dinner). We were told 15 minutes for a take away pizza during lunch (first in line), and it would take 35 minutes. In addition, the food was average and the selection at the Diamond Club lounge was sub-par.
5. The internet was extremely slow and at times would not even connect, from room or common areas. On the last day, couldnt access the internet at all.
6. Would pull entertainment and fitness staff from the Diamond Club area to other areas of the resort, forcing the Diamond Club guests to go to other areas to participate in fitness classes or have entertaining activities.

Room Tip: Diamond Club rooms would be more quiet, but further away from restaurants and other entertainment options
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ajreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmrng, Management at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Ajreddy,

Thank you for choosing Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team appreciates your feedback as this information will allow us to improve the quality of our services and resort facilities.

We appreciate your comments highlighting our Diamond Club facilities, assigned Butlers and fitness classes.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the sub-par service which you received at the bars and the waiting period you experienced at our restaurants, this is certainly not the typical circumstance and our team is working assiduously to prevent recurrence of the issues mentioned.

It is our sincerest hope that you will consider visiting us again and grant us the opportunity of serving you a future experience which will surpass your last.

Regards,

Royalton Negril
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

When we arrived at the Royalton Negril after a long day of travel, my mood was instantly lifted. The service was amazing and the views were absolutely breathtaking. The rooms are extremely spacious and clean. The view from my balcony was incredible, the beds were so comfortable, and the large rain shower was amazing.
There are more than enough restaurants on the resort. We went to as many as possible, and I enjoyed all of my meals. The restaurants range in style from steakhouse, to hibachi, to tex mex. I normally find the food at all-inclusives a bit disappointing, but this food was amazing! The buffet had so many delicious options, and everything I ate, I enjoyed.
If you enjoy spa services, I highly recommend this spa. It was extremely peaceful and beautiful. My massage was very professional and felt amazing.
The beach is located in a harbor, so the water is very calm and warm. This is nice for water sports such as kayaking and paddle boarding (which are offered for free) and just relaxing in the water. Sometimes I do enjoy bigger waves, so that was a little disappointing, but I can't complain much about this beach.
The workers always have a smile on their face and are happy to help. I had great fitness classes with Jermaine and Everton. They know what they are doing and make an effort to get to know you.
Shadiki, Junior, and Jermaine really kept things fun with entertainment. You can tell they care about all of their guests and are constantly upbeat and smiling. There are many poolside competitions and games throughout the day.
However, if you are looking for a place with a lot of night life, this is not the place. The sport bar, as they call it, is adults only past 10 p.m., but it was very dead when I went there at night.
That is really my only complaint. I was so glad we chose this resort to stay at. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahjz935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

So...we should have listened to the bad reviews on this one! Most of the complaints that other travelers listed, we also experienced. I'll start with the bad...the pool ran out of towels on 2 different days. I have NEVER been to a hotel and they have run out of towels at the pool. We booked 2 rooms, one room was great, but the 2nd room was super moldy/musty smelling, the ac did not get cool and the bar was not stocked. We were told upon check-in that the room would be cleaned again, NEVER happened. The bar would be stocked, NEVER happened. Finally after 2 days of complaining, we were given another room. My aunt could not even sleep in there and slept on the couch in the other room because the smell was so bad that it would take your breath away! Troy was one person who really helped us out and was great! We finally had to pay someone to stock the bar!!!!

Also, for this hotel to be only a year old, the construction is horrible. There are so many cracks, holes, mismatched paint, the grounds need watering, the pool cushions were super stained, the foot rinse by the beach didn't work for 2 days, the bars were NEVER properly stocked in room. We were told by some locals that this was the fastest hotel that has ever gone up and walls were collapsing and everything- you can totally tell that it was put up quickly. Don't ever stay in 6206 this was the bad room and they should really take it out of rotation.

The good... the food at Calypso and Gourmet Marche were good and also had great service. Grazie was good but super, super, super slow!!!!! Score had great drinks and good food. Andrew, the Bartender was really terrific. He always made a great drink, had a smile on his face and went above and beyond to provide excellent service. We also ate at Dorado on the Hideaway side. The food and service were excellent. We did not realize this was only for Hideaway guests but were accommodated.

Lastly, if you have kids, the kids club was EXCELLENT. My daughter (7) stayed there everyday for most of the day. The ladies in there deserve a raise because they were the GREATEST ever!!!!!!! They went above and beyond everyday to make the kids happy.

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank Santi0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmrng, Management at Royalton Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Santio0294,

Thank you for choosing Royalton Negril for your recent vacation and taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team appreciates your feedback as this information will allow us to improve the quality of our services and resort facilities.

We appreciate your comments highlighting our Clubhouse Kids Club, service provided by Andrew at Score Sports Bar, and the cuisine at Calypso and Grazie Trattoria.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, this is certainly not the typical circumstance and our team is working assiduously to prevent recurrence of the issues mentioned.

It is our sincerest hope that you will consider visiting us again and grant us the opportunity of serving you a future experience which will surpass your last.

Regards,

Royalton Negril
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

My wife and two children aged 5 and 12 have just returned from a wonderful vacation between the 22nd and 28th March 2018. A bonus it didn't rain at all.

I aways read the reviews on trip advisor before booking a hotel and feel it important to give feedback for others to make a choice.

We upgraded our room to a swim up suite which was worth the money. I do not believe the Diamond Club is worth it unless your a bit older, want to be catered to and not be around young children. The only plus point is there is a separation in the room in particular if you have slightly older children between 12 and 17.

The food was excellent with a great choice on a daily basis. There are a variety of good restaurants which you can choose from, however the buffet is very good also.

There were many families there mainly from US, Canada and the UK, our kids made friends easily with the other children.

The entertainers/fitness guys in the pool were excellent! I have visited Jamaica several times and I would say these were the best. Special mention to Junior, Jevon, Lorenzo, Andre, Everton, Shadiki and Kaffain. Wishart in customer relations doing a great job on looking after the customers. Spider keeping the poolside clean every minute of the day. Well done Royalton you have picked very well.

The evening entertainment was also very good and to an exceptional standard. The Musicians and entertainment were as good as any professional singer.

The staff were immaculately presented, the resort is modern, spacious, has a great beach location. You can do pool or beach within 60 seconds.

There are so many places within 60 seconds to get a drink or snack.

The resort is relatively safe for the kids and you can allow the older children a level of freedom.

What could be improved. There should be better control of the distribution of towels, we were never short of a towel, however we did hear of a few complaints of people unable to get a towel. There should be a greater number of umbrellas to the beds available. This would take pressure of trying to secure a cabana. The gym equipment could be slightly improved.

In summary if you want a luxury holiday for a good price with great amenities the Royalton is definitely worth a try! Save the Japanese restaurant to the last night, its a great experience.

Hope this review has been helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank HUGH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews