We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
All Nations Guesthouse(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Great Huts(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bay View Eco Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Family Inn(Port Antonio)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$45
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
US$50
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Geejam(Port Antonio)
US$575
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Blue Lagoon Villas(Port Antonio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
53
27
10
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
27
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep patheast indianprivate beachmango roomrestaurant hoursgood pointsdirect accessbig pooleggs and toastenjoyed my stayfull kitchenliving roomreach fallsfrenchman's covedonovanhillportland
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

I had 'THE' Best time at this resort, was awesome I enjoyed every moment I wish it could be longer ... Food was EXCELLENT, staff was really friendly, room was CLEAN AND VERY ACCOMMODATING, will surely be back. Keep up the good work guys

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Sharea,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we work very hard to ensure expectations are met.
The staff and I look forward to hosting you here again when next you visit Portland.

Warm Regards,
Tropical Lagoon Resort Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

After staying in several backpacker type places, we decided to spend 3 nights in a resort where we could be a little more pampered. Tropical Lagoon looked promising when we arrived but we soon learned that they had no wifi. They claimed due to weather, but it had obviously been down for months and was not coming back up soon. Our room was nice and big with toaster, big fridge and microwave. We were the only guests in the entire resort for 2 of the 3 nights. The water level in both pools was low and they were not being tended to daily. They claim to have a restaurant, but no one goes there. We ate there one night out of convenience and it was no good. I mean, you can't have fresh food when only two or three people show up a few times a week. Breakfast was fine. The walk to the lagoon is mossy and slippery but gorgeous and the bar by the lagoon and free access to kayaks is pretty awesome. There was no one to help you plan trips to surrounding sites and activities. This place has a lot of potential but it isn't any fun - maybe it used to be...

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello Katherine,

Thank you for your feed back. We apologize for the absence of the wi-fi and regret whatever inconveniences it may have caused.
The wi-fi however was not down for months as evidenced by guest comments on the wi-fi in the month of february 2018 where they noted that the hotel wi-fi is slow.

The hotel wi-fi is on property, not in the rooms so for most villas you would need to sit on your patio to access the wi-fi, some villas depending on the location of the modem actually receive a strong enough signal in the room itself but the service is slow and unreliable and not suited for business travelers.

Our service providers has promised an improvement in band width to Portland but we do not know how long before optimal implementation. At this point the hotel owners have already started running their own fibre optic cables to provide a better service to our hotel and other subscribers who are suffering the same fate. Recently there was a complete black-out on the Dekal wireless network (bought by Flow) from March 4 - 26, 2018.

You noted that you were the only guests at the hotel for two of the three nights, perhaps thats why you saw no one at the restaurant because we cater mostly to our in-house guests, though patrons from other hotels are welcome to make reservations. We are sorry that the meal you ordered did not meet your expectations but if you had voiced your concern to the Manager, the meal would have been replaced immediately. We are in the business of making guests happy, if we are aware of your problem real-time our staff will move heaven and earth to correct it.

The Front Office Staff, Donovan, Tara-Lee, and Felicia are available to assist with information on excursions and tours, a call or visit to the front desk will find them happy to help. Also there is list of places of interest in all the rooms on the coffee table.

We are happy to hear that you like the room amenities and that you enjoyed kayaking on the Blue Lagoon, if you have ideas that can improve the fun at the hotel dont be shy :) drop us an email at info@tropicallagoonresort.com, guest feed back is invaluable and many of the amenities we have were suggestions from our guests.

Please come again when you can, meanwhile we strive to improve and provide the very best experience for our guests.


Warm regards,

TLR family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Really enjoyed our private villa, everything was clean and nice. Wifi worked best in the lobby or restaurant but wasn't a big issue. Staff was very friendly. A nice bonus was the private entrance to Blue Lagoon and how close the property is to Frenchman's Cove (both of which I'd recommend).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Kyle,

Thank you for taking the time write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We would love to have the wi-fi working inside all the villas at peak performance but we are not quite there yet.

We would be happy to host you again on your next visit to Port Antonio.

Best,

TLR family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We chose this hotel based on the fact that it stated it had a path to the Blue Lagoon and a private beach. So you can imagine our sadness when the "path" to the Lagoon turned out to be a horrifically steep and slippery trail that was impossible to navigate for someone in our group who has mobility issues. So they could not even go down there. Then, for the rest of us, it was dangerous and scary to go up and down. We had envisioned our days spent relaxing at the lagoon, having drinks from the bar, etc..Nope. There is no way I would even have one drink and try and navigate this. I fell twice, scraped up my hands, and hit my hip really hard. And this is while wearing hiking Teva sandals. I was told by a staff member that we could go to the area with parking and get ferried over to "our" beach...yep, except when I tried to do that, I was told it would be $$$. I explained to the gentleman working that we were staying at the Tropical Lagoon Resort and he said "then use their path." Great.
The rooms were nice, a little musty but I know that happens in the tropics. All staff we met were very sweet and helpful, the cleaning person who was taking care of our room was super nice. The cook staff were great, chopping up some peppers when my husband wanted something to jazz up his eggs and toast. It would be nice if some sort of vege or fruit came with the breakfast. We enjoyed the small pool-the large pool was inaccessible for two of our party due to the many flights of stairs it took to climb it.
Unfortunately, when you take away access to the lagoon, it just becomes an okay hotel. If I was coming back to PA I would stay elsewhere. I did see on another review that they were looking at making the "path" less steep, however I saw no evidence of that as of last week. One more note-also thought it was odd that there did not seem to be very many people staying there, yet big pool had tons of kids in it. Maybe you can swim there for a fee if you are staying elsewhere? Not sure, only went up there once.

Room Tip: As this hotel is on a hill, make sure to ask for one with the least stairs if you have mobility issues
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachGrrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Public Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you for your review and feed-back,

Its true that the path-way to the Blue Lagoon is not for guests who have limited mobility and we are so very sorry to hear that you fell.
For guests who access the lagoon from the public side, ensure that you liaise with the office who in turn will call our beach attendant Becky at 1876 575 7381. Becky does rafting on the lagoon as well and there is a charge for tours but he will not charge to bring you over to our beach bar from the public side of the lagoon in order to avoid the path-way. The regular vendors not associated with the hotel will not be so accommodating and we are disappointed to hear that they were so ungentlemanly.

The alternative path that we are working on will not be ready soon but it is a work in progress. The children at the pool were having a birth-day party, they were repeat VIP guests in the larger suites overlooking the main-pool. You may use any of the two pools on property regardless of the villa here that you booked but the large pool is often used primarily by the guests staying in the suites that surround it. The villas are spaced far apart on the property for privacy so even when the resort is full you may not see many people unless you go to the restaurant or enter the area immediately surrounding their villa.

We are so happy that you enjoyed the rooms and the service offered by the staff and thank you for your breakfast suggestions, we will certainly discuss it with the directors.

Thank you for choosing Tropical Lagoon Resort and we hope you will come to see us again as soon as you can.


Warm regards,

TLR family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

After much research about travel accommodations in the Portland area, I decided that this would be the best property to celebrate my ladies special birthday. This property did exceed all my expectations. We were warmly greeted upon arrival. Donovan and his staff were awesome. We booked the East Indian Villa, a spacious large living area opened on to our veranda, overlooking the pristine blue lagoon. The room had a separate king bedroom. The villas are clean and well maintained. The chef and server/ bartender were on point. Always communicating on what we would like to eat and drink. We left our options up to the chef and he did not disappoint. We feasted on chicken, fish and fresh vegetables. When the hotel had no lime, our bartender went into the hills to collect some. We had direct access to Blue Lagoon, however the paved path was quite steep. But when you arrived at the bottom, you were greeted to a Tropical paradise. We had our own beach and a bar service from 10 a.m to 5 p.m. I will definitely return to this Tropical Paradise

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chefchaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical Lagoon... V, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hello Charles,

Thank you for your great review. As a guest you exceeded our expectations as well, very laid back and you obviously love and know our culture, pulsing reggae music constantly from your mobile and bluetooth speakers :)

The staff enjoyed your company and we will roll out the red carpet on your next visit, travel well until you can come this way again.

One love,

TLR family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews