We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$271
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$600
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Haven Condo Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Guest House Villa Mishkan(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Little Savoy(Runaway Bay)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$603
US$506
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$715
US$618
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,396)
Filter reviews
1,396 results
Traveller rating
513
442
202
114
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
442
202
114
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgilbert blackwoodhoneymoon suitewater pressuresmall resortfeel freebeach arearecommend this resortbeach towelsentertainmentjamaicavacationdiscobandcouplesrummamaalcohol
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 1,396 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Our trip was in 6/12. Arriving on the bus, the first impression was scary. The front entrance does not give the place justice. June is slow season so there were less than 50 people for the time we were there. The food was good and sometimes great. The room was of good size with a king bed. The place is not a 5 star resort but we didn't want the large club. We got what we wanted, sun, quiet and no children. We understand the club is under new ownership and management as of 6/1/12. The greatest asset of the place is the wonderful people who work there to make the club a happy place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We returned to CA May 30-June 6. New owners took over on June first and put in their own tour people and spa/massage team. The cost of a mani-pedi went from $30 USD to $90 USD along with increased prices for all the spa services. Other than that, the reguular staff was required to re-apply for their jobs. I was happy to see that all of them were re-hired(at least for the time being). The property still needs a good cleaning in the public areas and all round maintenance but the staff is as friendly and fun as usual. We were again in room 33 at the pool, Monica was our room housekeeper, and Lisa is still turning out great omelets, pancakes, and eggs cooked to order. Richard and Phillip are still manning the bars. Storm and Omar are running the entertainment depatment. We will return yet again. This is not a 5 star resort but is small (90 rooms) and fun.

Room Tip: The pool rooms are really big and have a patio right at the pool (and pool bar)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Traveler0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Small and friendly hotel. The staff really really make this hotel, nothing is too much trouble for them.

When I visited I was on crutches and nothing was too much trouble, they noticed when my glass was getting low and instantly had a refill delivered.

The rooms are clean and nice, not large, but just the right size.

The beach as described on other reviews isnt amazing, but then again I'm more of a pool person anyway!

This is a completely different experience to staying in a "mega hotel" in Ocho Rios or Negril. You will make friends of the staff here, nothing is too much trouble.

Just book it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dazzafoster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at CA in Mar 2012...... met by Mr Gilbert Blackwood whom we had met 6 years previously, just as though not been away ......... hospitality and food second to none, rooms spotlessley clean, bar staff outstanding .I could go on and on. The overall experience is excellent and would recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy Jamaican hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: ask for second floor in block overlooking the dive school
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Club Ambiance Review 4/7/2012
We just got back from a three night stay at Club Ambiance in Runaway Bay Jamaica. This was a guys only trip, done on a budget. We came from all over the U.S. so when you strip out the costs of the different flights and the $40 round trip transfers from Montego Bay Airport, we paid just under $50 a night per person for double occupancy, all-inclusive access.
At that money it was definitely worth it. This is a no frills resort for sure, but the food was good, the Red Stripe was cold/unlimited, and the Air Conditioning worked. Beyond that, many aspects of the resort need updates but don’t impact your stay unless you are picky.
The Good:
Nothing was stolen from our rooms, which we left unlocked the whole time, and we felt very safe on the resort. they have room safes you can rent for $3 per day. The snorkeling at the resort was excellent and free. We never had to wait for a drink. Dunns River Falls was a great excursion that we recommend ($85 - Cool Runnings) and if you go on a day that rains in the morning it makes the hike up the river more exciting. The food was very good, authentic Jamaican style. Resort was not crowded so we always had chairs, and could toke pretty much wherever/whenever we wanted. Adults only meant no kids, but no hot moms. Channel 5 was a nice touch (playboy channel). Legends is a pretty cool bar out on a pier, and even though it wasn’t operational, it was a great spot to bring a beer and hang out. Plenty to do besides relax, there is pool, ping pong, shuffleboard, chess, volleyball, in addition to the pool and beaches. The staff was friendly but not overly pushy trying to get you to participate.
The Bad:
The resort had very few guests staying, so bring your own party. We met some friendly people (suspected swingers), but for the most part the resort had older couples keeping to themselves. The food was very good, but only one buffet, no restaurants to choose from. There were multiple bars, but only one or two were open at any given time. Again this didn’t hamper us at $50 per night, but would have been a disappointment had we paid more. We are a beer crowd and had some rum and cokes and daiquiris, but not many and the booze was all Jamaican, no top shelf anything. You may have to deal with stupid stuff, i.e. the beach towels ran out (drip dry!), no stocked booze in the rooms (bring beer/water back to the room and put it in the fridge). Also the transfer to the airport when we left picked us up at 5:50am for a 10:50am flight out, which didn’t have anything to do with Club Ambiance, but I wouldn’t recommend the roundtrip transfer (Caribic). Instead order a cab or driver yourself so you don’t get stuck at the airport for 2.5 hours unnecessarily.
We read a lot of good and bad reviews, but the bottom line is that the place is safe and relaxing and very good value, plus it is more of a Jamaican experience than some of the other corporate resorts where they offer great rooms and more amenities, but you can’t tell what island you are on.

Room Tip: Honeymon or Club rooms were probably worth the upgrade based on View and Size.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews