We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Delight”
Review of Club Ambiance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Ambiance
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Arriving from Montego Airport along the main highway in what appeared to be a rundown section of a small village I was not impressed as we moved through the unattractive perimter wall and guard gate to this oceanfront hotel, which I had selected because of the affordable price when compared to so many others. However, once inside we were greeted with warm smiles and a very friendly staff. Although it it small, probably having only about 100 or so rooms, this unobtrusive all-inclusive, adult only resort is really relaxing and fun with all one needs to have an authentic Jamaica vacation ~ decent food, a great bar, very good entertainment, nice pools,
and (for me) just enough of a gym to meet my requirements. The room I stayed in was good size and well maintained. Great to have wireless reception. If you want a genuine all-inclusive Jamaica getaway without all the hassle of a big resort property, this is a really good, affordable choice.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pool and ocean or the main building. Rooms near the alternative nude be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Signe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Our trip was in 6/12. Arriving on the bus, the first impression was scary. The front entrance does not give the place justice. June is slow season so there were less than 50 people for the time we were there. The food was good and sometimes great. The room was of good size with a king bed. The place is not a 5 star resort but we didn't want the large club. We got what we wanted, sun, quiet and no children. We understand the club is under new ownership and management as of 6/1/12. The greatest asset of the place is the wonderful people who work there to make the club a happy place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We returned to CA May 30-June 6. New owners took over on June first and put in their own tour people and spa/massage team. The cost of a mani-pedi went from $30 USD to $90 USD along with increased prices for all the spa services. Other than that, the reguular staff was required to re-apply for their jobs. I was happy to see that all of them were re-hired(at least for the time being). The property still needs a good cleaning in the public areas and all round maintenance but the staff is as friendly and fun as usual. We were again in room 33 at the pool, Monica was our room housekeeper, and Lisa is still turning out great omelets, pancakes, and eggs cooked to order. Richard and Phillip are still manning the bars. Storm and Omar are running the entertainment depatment. We will return yet again. This is not a 5 star resort but is small (90 rooms) and fun.

Room Tip: The pool rooms are really big and have a patio right at the pool (and pool bar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Traveler0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Small and friendly hotel. The staff really really make this hotel, nothing is too much trouble for them.

When I visited I was on crutches and nothing was too much trouble, they noticed when my glass was getting low and instantly had a refill delivered.

The rooms are clean and nice, not large, but just the right size.

The beach as described on other reviews isnt amazing, but then again I'm more of a pool person anyway!

This is a completely different experience to staying in a "mega hotel" in Ocho Rios or Negril. You will make friends of the staff here, nothing is too much trouble.

Just book it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dazzafoster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at CA in Mar 2012...... met by Mr Gilbert Blackwood whom we had met 6 years previously, just as though not been away ......... hospitality and food second to none, rooms spotlessley clean, bar staff outstanding .I could go on and on. The overall experience is excellent and would recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy Jamaican hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: ask for second floor in block overlooking the dive school
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
1.2 km away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
77 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
4.2 km away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
2.9 km away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
54.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ambiance

Address: Main Road | Saint Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: RM719 - RM1,352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle Bus service attract an extra charge. Airport Transportation attract an extra charge. Free internet service only in lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Ambiance Hotel Runaway Bay
Resort All Inclusive Ambiance
Club Ambiance Jamaica/Runaway Bay
Club Ambience Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing