We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Home Away From Home”
Review of Villa Sonate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Sonate
Ranked #2 of 7 Runaway Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I can't seem to get enough of this little property. This was my family's second visit and believe me-it just gets better and better. Everything is just so awesome about this little property. From the , great deal of the price, security (Mr. Thorpe), to the landscaping team, to the rooms, to the front desk staff (especially Michelle), to the kitchen crew and last but certainly not least, the owner Ms. Taylor. We love it. Love it, LOVE IT!!!!!

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi is strongest when you are outside of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ryates2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2016

For the price, this place is great.
REMEMBER, a WIDE ANGLE LENS can work miracles with your property. And it did with this one. It isn't nearly as spacious as the pics make it appear. Also the colors are not as vibrant.

I'm glad that there weren't a lot of insects around while we were there. The bathroom windows are merely wooden slats that can be opened or closed.

The staff were absolute sweethearts. Breakfast was authentic Jamaican or American, your choice. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The place looked neat and clean, but the pool was cloudy enough that it offered NO temptation.

Not so sure the staff had any clue about suggestions of what to do in Jamaica. So if you don't have a clue, check it out before you get here. But they were sweet about locking up our laptops when we went out--the room safe didn't work.

We stayed 3 nights in a resort, and 4 nights here. Our best days were here, in spite of not being on the beach. OK. We really didn't spend our time here. But early mornings here, I could go sit on the balcony and read my Bible, pray, and meditate to the sound of birds, and view of the rising sun on flowers, trees, and neighboring villas. At the resort, they constantly played loud music (even when it was just instrumental) wherever you went so that quiet relaxation was impossible.

Hmm. But the beds weren't as comfortable as the resort's.

Call them direct for the best price. We paid $78/night, king bed, breakfast for 2. It's not always easy to find places in Runaway Bay to eat, but they did direct us to Cardiff Hotel and Spa. The meal we had there was delicious and very authentic. The atmosphere was lovely. Under the stars with linen tablecloth and napkins.

Wi-Fi was weak, especially in the rooms. But plenty enough if you are on vacation.

Oh, I nearly forgot. Their hot water went out. It is a good time to think about the fact you voluntarily went into icy falls and didn't mind. Or if you lived in countryside in Mexico, you'd always have cold showers.

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs are a problem, request 1st floor. But the balcony gives a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JG7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Friendly staff went out of their way to make sure we had all we needed. Good Jamaican breakfast. The lack of a bar could have been a problem but the staff very happy to find a drink for a night cap. The pool was in a sunny spot and we enjoyed it at the end of the day. As others have said the gardens were lovely and well cared for. The security was good with locked gate and a security guard on duty.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mickey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We are still in awe of this property. From the moment we arrived at the gate our eyes were witnessing all that we saw on the computer. Then when we made it to the front desk and checking out the property- WE KNEW RIGHT AWAY THAT OUR DECISION to stay at VILLA SONATE was a winning one!

Thanks to Michelle, the front desk staff who checked me and my family in and took the time to clear up and slight mis-communication that took place during booking. This property is not an all-inclusive but I give it 5 starts!! Well kept grounds, well secured, foods is freshly and deliciously prepared each day and the rooms are very clean and up to date with its furniture and amenities. I sent an email to the property and within days the wonderful owner by the name Sonia got in tough with me. We were so impressed by the property that we are already making plans to be back there for few days this year. We stayed there for only one night last year- December 16-17, 2015.
O and nuff respect to Mr. Thorpe the security personnel.

Sonia, thanks again to you and your awesome staff ... we will be back soon for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryates2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We just left villa sonate. We had a lovely time there. We booked on Hotwire so didn't know what we had booked till we paid. We weren't sure what to expect as runaway bay is quite small and the property wasn't on or near the beach. We really enjoyed ourselves here. The room was lovely, the breakfast spectacular and the people were friendly. It was a 20 min walk to the beach (a little more on the way back being up hill and hot). We were able to get a pass from the front desk for a private beach where you could rent sun beds for $2.00. There were very few people on the beach. The snorkelling off the beach was excellent for off the beach free snorkelling. There were sting rays that came right into the swimming area. Very cool. We had the dinners and a few lunches that were alright. We did walk to the Cardiff hotel up the street one night. It was quite good but bring a light of some sort as it is very dark on parts of the street. We booked a driver from the villa to go to glistening waters and the green grottos. Excellent trip. Glistening waters is very cool. I don't think I would want to stay too long at villa sonate as it wasn't near anything but if you are looking for a place to sit out in the beautiful garden and relax this is the place.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank CHEAPOTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Runaway Bay hotels
1.8 km away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 14 in Runaway Bay
124 reviews
0.2 km away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
77 reviews
1.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Silver Creek Resort
Silver Creek Resort
#10 of 14 in Runaway Bay
13 reviews
0.4 km away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
0.3 km away
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa
#5 of 14 in Runaway Bay
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sonate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonate

Address: 18 MarySunley Crescent | Cardiff Hall, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Runaway Bay
Price Range: RM351 - RM522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sonate 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Sonate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sonate Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing