We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Creek Resort(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piper's Cove Resort(Runaway Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (11,915)
Filter reviews
11,915 results
Traveller rating
4,402
3,764
2,001
973
775
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,402
3,764
2,001
973
775
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickengold clubdon pablothe grilla la carte restaurantstime sharedolce vitakaraoke barbeach snack barmain buffetnude beachair transatjapanese restaurantorchid buffetface clothsair canadatowel hut
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 11,915 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 7 days on Spring Break with my wife and son. Check in was flawless, but we had booked a grounds view in a building next to the kids water park. Orville was the desk supervisor and when he saw that we were adults with an 18 year old son, he asked us to take a seat, grab a beverage and he would see what he could do. You can see the results in the picture below. WiFi in the room is $79 for 4 devices, a little pricey, but worth it to us. Don Pablo ala carte French restaurant was terrific, as was the Italian, great food and good service, other than the Asian restaurant, still good service, but the food was below par.

For an early lunch, we went to the beach restaurant that has a really good buffet and cooling sea breeze. The pools close to the luxury side are away from the main pool entertainment, but the bartenders treat you well. I purchased an oversize mug for “beverages”. Breakfast and dinner are typical resort fodder and the wait staff try hard, but during this week, the hotel is sold out, so they are a little challenged.

Our room is a good size with a king bed and sofa bed. I have had to request restocking of the fridge only once so far and house keeping have been very nice. The hotel is very well kept up to High standards, Security is ever present, and they are very pleasant, give them a smile.....!

Book the ala cartes in advance, you can choose three per stay. Don Pablo is long pants for men, no exceptions, but the others are collared shirts and nice shorts. We have been to other Bahia resorts in DR, and we never considered buying in to the Privileged Club, but that’s up to someone who is a member to review.

We had booked a ride in advance from Top Choice Jamaica Tours (tcjtours); one of the best decisions we made. They met us outside the airport terminal with a warm smile and cold beverages. The trip took just over an hour, but it was a pleasant ride. The same trip by hotel buses takes over 2 hours and stops at the major resorts on the way. The driver showed up on time for our return to the airport. Total cost, round trip was $139.

All in all, well worth the stay.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to improve the quality service at our hotel.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, while on vacation at our beautiful resort. However, it is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies, as it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the head of the relevant departments, so they can take the necessary corrective and preventive actions. We appreciate the comments and suggestions of each and everyone of our guests, we see them as opportunities to continue working towards improving our product, quality and services.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future to experience our new services.

Best Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very beautiful resort, very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The service was very good. Edgerton harris, Antonio ,Adam and well everyone was very hardworking. There were aloof friendly faces smiling back at you. The restaurants had good food, my favourite was the grill house for breakfast, they make a great omelette. For lunch Piscis down at the ocean, the jerk chicken was to die for and I enjoyed the rice and peas. For dinner, donpablo was very delicious, chateaubriande. The beaches were plentiful and very well maintained, the crew worked hard to prepare it each morning. There are lots of lifeguards and security. The room was spacious and clean and pretty. The balcony view was not great, but I really didn’t use it. I would probably pay for a pool view next time. The front desk staff was very helpful, our requests for extra coffee for the room were accommodated and there was even a follow up telephone call to ensure we got what we needed.
I would definitely love to return

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank sdyet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests.

May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island.

Kind Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just got back from our sixth stay in the last 4years at the Grand Bahia Jamaica. My best advice is while on a private day trip I asked the driver what people thought of the place that we were going to that day and in true Jamaican fashion he said most people love it while some people don’t. So if you want to go to a great resort where most of the staff wants you to have a great experience and most of the food is wonderful( especially the Jamaican) the weather is mostly beautiful , then the Grand Bahia is the place for you. For most of the people who have negative reviews my suggestion is for you to go another resort that charges a couple thousand more a week , and you might get what you are looking for. I also would strongly suggest that you leave the resort .My wife and i always spend time off the resort and have fallen in love with Jamaica and especially its people .This trip we traveled from St Elisabeth to Portland .We have been to many different locations ,unfortunately ,more then most people who work at the hotel. We never have felt unsafe and always have felt welcome whenever we have gone .The country is so beautiful and the street food and restaurants are fantastic. I believe most people would love this experience. Thank you ( respect)Grand Bahia staff for another mostly great time.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests.

May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island.

Kind Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have really enjoyed our stay at this resort.

To start off the hotel is around a hour to hour and half from montego bay airport depending on traffic. I would advise NOT to hire a car as they drive like lunatics here and take no prisoners on winding roads with potholes. Best to use transfer bus or taxi as they know the roads and rules.

The resort is very well maintained with constant DIY, and cleaning going on with minimal disruption to guests.

The check in process was fairly stress free as they check you in a large group and hand out room keys and info packs to you without having to wait around (brilliant after long 10 hour flight from UK with baby)

There is a kids pool area which is brilliant as hotel staff are always entertaining with DJ and dancing. There are various slides and water cannons to keep kids entertained.

The rooms are typical Caribbean decor which is a little dated compared to UK but i have stayed in numerous Caribbean locations and they are all the same in my experience.

The food was lovely and if you cant find anything you like then you must be fairly fussy. It is rather repetitive but that didn’t bother us as we still had plenty variation and always found food to eat. There is a restaurant near beach which is also open
During day with a large variation and through night as a snack bar with just mainly burgers and hotdogs etc.

There are various al le carte you can book into either in reception or via an app you can download onto phone. They are all very nice, steak and Japanese being our favourites. You can go to 3 per week.

I will not that WIFI is only free in lobby and it is a very large hotel. You can purchase it to work all Around but it is charged at around 70$ per week and can be used on 4 devices. It is around 4mb/s speed and has good coverage around all
Pools and rooms.

The cleaners do a good job of cleaning room, changing towels and bedding every day. They are very grateful of a tip and we gave a few dollars every few days which is enough. There is a lady who fills up mini bar every day with 2 cans red stripe and a few bottles of pop and water.

The reception can be used for currency exchange but it is very busy due to wifi being free there.

You will be approached ok many occasions but sales people trying to offer you a free “tour of resort”. My advise is don’t go on it as they are merely trying to pull you in for a meeting to try and sell you a kind of time share package at around $12,000. Waste of 4 Hours and very pushy sales people.

There are security guards all over the resort constantly so it feels very safe and secure.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will likely return in future.

I only have 1 criticism and that is that the wheelchair/pushchair access is limited and you find yourself carrying pushchair down and up stairs to children’s pool etc as the alternative Routes are much longer.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests.

May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island.

Kind Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This resort is what your looking for, whether you have kids or not! The food was great with 3 a la cart meals for a 7 day stay. The rooms were a good size. The Resort was beautiful with a great island breeze off the water you could still feel at the pool. Be careful that breeze would at times mask how hot it really was my sunburn could testify.
The pool was big , real big! The partiers at the pool bar could do their thing and the kids ages (1-15) could do thei
r thing at the shallow end where they had the kids club that did daily activities pool side.
Nicholas Williams and his colleagues from the kids club were absolutely fantastic!! My son 4 years old would look forward to seeing him daily. He had this ability to make each child feel like they were special without leaving anyone out. He and his team are a big reason we will be returning and recommending this resort to family and friends.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank LondonBob1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BahiaPrincipeJamaica, Online Reputation Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Management and team members at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It is indeed a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort; your kind words have been shared with the team, they were happy to know they continue to create memorable experiences with our valued guests.

May I use this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to be your holiday destination in the Caribbean.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable retreat to our sunny island.

Kind Regards,

Stephan Ashley
Online Reputation Coordinator
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews