We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

OK, here I am at Choices Restaurant once again. I decided to bring our girls and even the youngest ate to his satisfaction. Jose at the bar is always a way above average and Mark can't be beat as a server. Wilfredo, the on duty manager is attentive to every detail. This nouveau cuisine to its best.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesusHuertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

“Consistency” You said it, we like to take our food to a level of excellence and exceptional quality like no other every single time. Our staff is always very attentive with his customers and aims high on service quality. Most of all I will personally make sure to recognized Wilfredo, Mark and Jose for going above and beyond. Our menu also has a kid’s option for little ones to enjoy. We are glad you brought them along; we always make sure you they are well taken care off. Thank you for reviewing Choices Restaurant.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,607 - 1,611 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Checked in at the hotel on 9/13/12 and was told they have no doubles left and my friend and I had to share one bed even though our reservation confirmed two beds. Despite being a Starwood Preferred Guest member, I was offered nothing. My other friend behind me was checking in and got a different receptionist and was given the option of a double or a single bed. When we checked in the room and later that night, we found out that most of the floor was empty, so they definitely had doubles still available. I checked back the next day and was still told that they could not do anything for me. So much for being an SPG member. The other clubs I'm part of will bend over backwards to make you happy.

We ate at Choices, the restaurant in the hotel. Out of the 8 of us there, we had to sent our food back 3 times. First, my dish (the Caribbean Bouillabaisse) had only 1-2 shrimp and barely any other seafood in it while my friend, who ordered the same thing, got twice as much food in his dish and things like scallops, which I didn't get. My other friend's pork chop was way too salty to eat and another who had the fried risotto balls received them still frozen in the middle.

All in all, the ambiance of the hotel is not bad, though the location is horrible (to Condado and Old San Juan). Hotel staff can't really do much for you either, regardless if you're part of their loyalty club or not.

If they're not loyal too me, it doesn't leave much incentive for me to be loyal to them, either.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for posting. We have shared your review with our management team so we can review what happened. We recognize all our guests have different needs and we strive every day to please each and every one of them. Feedback like yours is what helps us keep us in good direction. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another chance to serve you the right way on your next visit to Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great friendly staff at Choices bar/ rest. Jose (bar tender ) always pours good drinks and is very attentitive to anything you need. Jennifer the hostess is always pleasant, friendly and helpful. Great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSworld12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed Choices Bar "The Cafe" especially with the company of Jose and Jennifer.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

terrible. absolutely terrible. What a joke of a place. We got this place from priceline and wanted to cancel it because the poor location (we're a couple in vacation, wanted by the beach). we spoke with different ranks of supervisors, all not cooperative and rude. When we got here, we discovered that indeed for a couple on vacation there could be no worse place. keys did not work and we were stuck twice outside of the room (differernt occasions!) took them 20 minutes to send someone to let us in. Bathroom stunk from sewer. toilet stopped working (did not flush). bath tub broken despite supposed to be new hotel. and last day, when we were supposed to check out- we got a strange extra bill for 45$ because we booked through priceline. Noone ever told us about his charge and they were extremely rude about explaining why. The receptionist,Lissette, said (we were in the room, trying to call them) that the supervisor can not talk to us on the phone and if we want- we can come downstairs.
on our last day, we asked for another capsule for the coffee maker (as there was only one). They said that they will be happy to provide it and will send it right up. We finally got it after 50 minutes (!!)
All this and more problems- in 3 days stay only!
Also, not to mention that when we booked this place with priceline and had a problem and asked for their help to cancel- they were extremely rude ("you booked through priceline? It's your problem!!) including Mr. Matos, manager in "in house reservation" and the supervisor, Ms. Larochele.

Terrible experience- really. people are rude, not helpful, just trying to get their job with doing the minimum they can. bad bad location. Overall worse hotel experience we've had

Room Tip: avoid coming here
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yairu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for posting. We apologize for an unusual experience you encountered during your stay. Clearly there are some areas of opportunities for improvement. We’d love for you to contact us directly to 787-993-3627 or write us an email to prcc.sales@sheraton.com so we can better understand the issues and situations that you encountered, just to make sure this does not occur again. We definitely missed an opportunity to provide a pleasant stay for you. Our goal is to make sure every guest feels comfortable and has a pleasurable stay. We hope you welcome us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the service you have come to expect from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My hubby and I treated ourselves to a much needed nokidation (no~ki~daytion). I searched many reviews and pros/cons of nearby hotels. With ppl complaining about filth, rude staff, & theft. We were very pleased with booking the Sheraton thru orbitz and we rec'd a $75/food & beverage credit which we used at Choices restaurant in the hotel. The smell of the Brazilian steakhouse was mouthwatering. Smart choice is to rent a vehicle from Avis across the Street, the former Alaskan cop and his wife were extremely helpful and offered great advice. We visited Old El San juan, El Jabarito food is good, the forts and took great pics at El Yunque to Isla Verde. This hotel is in a 'remote area" where nothing is going on but the service was excellent, rooms cleaned, and infinity pool on the 4th flr is breathtaking (although the backdrop parking lot isnt quite a view). We used the gym and its 5 star fabulous). The casino isnt vegas but none in the isla are. The lounge is stunning and the a/c refreshing. Im very critical and did not have any complaints and although the location was not great, if we got a lil lost all we asked for was convention center and we were there. Cant wait to visit again with the ladies!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with the view of the pool, the view we had was boring, facing construction beams and flat...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlyShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Puerto Rico and had time to visit some of our treasures. Our rain forest; El Yunque is one of my favorites places, you can feel the breeze, connect with nature, take a swim in the fall and breathe pure air, what else you could ask for, right?

It was really great having you. We are truly happy to hear you had such a great experience in your Nokidation with us as well as Puerto Rico and certainly look forward to welcome you and your kids in your next visit to Puerto Rico. I assure you, they will enjoyed the infinity pool in the forth floor.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.2 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,188 reviews
1.2 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,909 reviews
7.7 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
7.2 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
2.1 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: RM746 - RM1,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. Our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico features a comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots, all for a premier place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing