We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a very convenient location”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 22 March 2012

In mid-March, 2012, four of us (two couples in our 60s) stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Milano for a very reasonable price. We arrived early and found it easy to store our luggage until check-in time.

The inexpensive continental breakfast on the top floor was nice, the coffee hot and staff friendly and helpful. The bakery items were of better quality than what is offered at the usual hotel continental. There is no coffee in the room, but you can go upstairs early (or send your husband!) to bring a cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate back to your room.

Lighting, outlets, temperature regulation, water pressure, hot water, and suitcase space were reasonable. Our room was quiet and furnishings were simple but spacious; security was not a question. Free wifi was best in the lobby downstairs, and average in its speed and stability in the room.

We did not have a car, and I’d recommend waiting until you leave Old San Juan to rent one! This old city is very small (one mile by 2 miles), streets are narrow (think of Columbus’ compatriots strutting down these streets in their conquistador outfits!), and the city proudly hosts all kinds of special events, so traffic is usually congested. The Hotel Milano is right in the middle of the old city, so you can easily walk to all points in a short time.

I’d highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 373 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

We booked based on the reviews we read on TripAdvisor. We were taking a cruise out of an Juan. Perfect location in Old Town. So much to do & see all around the hotel. Lots of cafe's, restaurants & sites to see. Not a fancy place but clean rooms with super friendly staff all for a great price. Hotel Milano is on a pretty busy street but we did not hear much noise. So much night life & lots of touristy stuff too. $20 cab ride from the airport to the hotel, $20 cab ride from the hotel to port, plus $1 a bag.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ymichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Had we not had to pay so far in advance, I would have left and gone to another hotel. We were not sure we could get a room somewhere else or if we could get our money back without a long wait and big hassle. The moldy smell hit me the minute I opened the door to the room. The carpet looked wet but I felt it and it was not. The airconditioner was horrible. I tried to turn it down and froze then turned it back up a little and it was hot and put out a lot of moisture into the air which was much unneeded. There were no windows in the room even though the pix on the internet showed 3 large windows. The "roof top restaurant with a panoramic view" was not a restaurant at all and there was no panoramic view. All we could see was old buildings and pigeons everywhere. We stayed there on March 3rd. It is now March 19th and I am still sick and on medication for the upper respiratory infection I got the first day at that horrible place. The elevator was a joke; there was no one to help take the luggage to the room; we were told to keep the glass doors on our floor shut and locked for safety purposes, yet everytime we shut them, a hotel person would open them and prop them open. It was easy access for anyone who wanted to break into our room. The TV was pathetic for the price we paid for that room, We found out the Sheraton just down the street charged a little less than the Milano and had beautiful rooms, cable TV, nice restaurant and a casino and a bellman to help with luggage. I could go on and on about how much I loathed the Milano but I think you have gotten the picture.

Room Tip: Do not stay here at any price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for one night on either side of our Culebra vacation. Staff were welcoming and efficient (tho' I noticed they would not call us a taxi on the final morning until we'd returned both keys and signed the credit slip!). Rooms on outside of hotel were nice and perfectly quiet (on a friday night), but those on the inside (cheaper) were rather cramped. For a nice old hotel in a historic downtown it's fine, and I expect the price is equivalent to what you'd pay for a similar hotel in Rome or NYC or Boston, but it's not cheap.

Room Tip: If you take an inside room, expect a rather cramped room equivalent to a U.S. cheap hotel (and tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel, which we enjoyed last year. We paid a year in advance, over $200 for a front queen, and had confirmation that we were reserved for room 408. Upon arrival there was an exchange in Spanish between the desk clerk and the owner, and we were given keys to room 308, obviously the room we had paid a year in advance for had been given to someone else. When we reached room 308 the air conditioning was not working. After several visits that evening to the front desk, we were told that there was nothing they could do and the only room available was a tiny, windowless room with a double bed. As my husband is 6ft 4 we had to make the choice between trying to sleep in the heat or sleeping with feet hanging out of the bed - the option we chose. In the morning, there was quite a struggle to get reimbursement for the room we had actually paid for a year ago and be charged for the inferior room we were alloted. This was not a good start to a special vacation which had been planned and paid for a year ago. We will not return to this hotel, even though we will visit San Juan again many times in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 km away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.1 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
230 reviews
4.2 km away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.1 km away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#25 of 47 in San Juan
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: RM380 - RM726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing