We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and i actually stayed here in June of 2016 for a part of our honeymoon.
We found this place on a whim visit to vieques and we were so happy we did! It's a perfect hidden gem of that island. We ended up staying for an extra 2 nights because of how charming this little place is. The rooms are beautiful, wonderful staff, and a breakfast to die for. But the thing that topped off the whole experience for us was the 24hr pool. My heart still melts a little when I remember our stay there.
We HIGHLY recommend this place and if we ever make it back, this hotel is #1 on our list.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank InscrutableDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard after Hurricane Maria to bring Hacienda Tamarindo back to the place you remember so fondly. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed three nights here and were pleased with the location, the service and helpfulness of the staff. The pool was lovely, and we loved relaxing there after a day at the beach,snorkeling or kayaking. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and we appreciated the tradewinds which kept us cool, even in August heat.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed four nights in the casita, #10. We really liked the property, the staff was lovely and so helpful. It was the perfect setup for us and our two kids. The bed was very comfortable, and the full kitchen was super useful. They did our laundry for a reasonable fee (yay!), and they have lots of beach gear for rental.

My only disappointment is that in August, it gets really hot, and only the bedrooms in the casita are air conditioned. You get hit by a heat wave when you leave your room to go to the bathroom., and the only place I could sit in the living room in any comfort was right by the fan. It may be only 86 or so degrees outside, but the humidity takes the "real feel" well into the 90s. Also, it could use a good deep cleaning.

Room Tip: The casita is great for families, but be aware there's only AC in the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adeleinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Sorry about the heat you experienced. Normally we find that we need air conditioning for sleeping, and the fans take care of the shared spaces.
Glad to know that you did enjoy much of the experience. I am sharing your review with the housekeeping staff, however, not until after hurricane Irma passes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed 5 nights in #5, and were so pleased with our visit. The breakfast each day was good and filling, the view from our balcony was beautiful, and the pool was lovely. The staff was helpful with recommendations, kept our room clean, and made us feel at home. Vieques was magical, and Hacienda Tamarindo helped make our stay memorable. We will definitely stay here again if we return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

That is one of our most requested rooms. So happy to know that you enjoyed it. We always appreciate great reviews! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

My husband and I just returned from a little over a week in Vieques, Puerto Rico. We stayed the entire time at Hacienda Tamarindo in Room 5. I would not have changed a thing about our stay at Hacienda Tamarindo. The room was perfect with our own small refrigerator and plenty of space. The bed was comfortable and included a mattress topper. The A/C was cool when we needed it to be, and not once did the ceiling fan rattle in that cyclical way that can drive a person crazy. The place was also exceedingly clean! Our porch was lovely and had a magnificent view in addition to being shaded later in the day. We were twenty feet away from the microwave, ice machine, honor bar / pantry, and library, so making a drink or heating something up when we decided to eat in was no problem. We enjoyed the breakfasts, which were perfectly sized and delicious. We also took full advantage of the cooler provided in each room so we could pack our own lunch and drinks for a day at the beach, though some days we spent in the hotel hammocks and at their pool. It feels wrong to call Hacienda Tamarindo a hotel - it was more like a bed and breakfast in a very large house. Hacienda Tamarindo was kind enough to provide reasonably-priced honor system chairs and beach umbrellas for rent. They seem to have thought of everything! I was most amazed by how friendly the staff were in addition to being helpful and seeming to get along with each other really well. I've stayed in about fifteen different hotels in the Caribbean, and never before have I seen this level of camaraderie among the staff and kind helpfulness towards the guests. This was even more amazing for the fact the owner was away the week my husband and I were there. We've stayed at a few places when the owners were out, and I normally wouldn't recommend that experience, but in the case of Hacienda Tamarindo, everything was still running like clockwork. It was all rather astounding. I highly recommend Hacienda Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clovis444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We appreciate your taking the time to write that lovely review. We hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
1.2 km away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
5.1 km away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
1.6 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
74.1 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
74.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: RM633 - RM1,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing