We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Apartment Espoir(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Suites(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aanola Villas(Castries)
US$68
US$54
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Poinsettia Villa Apartments(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Vega(Castries)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serenite Vigie Saint Lucia Limited(Castries)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$415
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Jou Hotel(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$188
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,740)
Filter reviews
2,740 results
Traveller rating
1,977
534
138
51
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,977
534
138
51
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy rivertrysting placechampagne barterrace restaurantverandah suitespa poolmalabar beacha la carte restaurantle sportmalabar restaurantbody holidaymain terracest luciaour honeymoonlocal airportmarine parksmall airport
Filter
Updating list...
1,491 - 1,496 of 2,740 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Our long term preferred all-inclusive resort was La Source on Grenada. When this closed in late 2012, we perforce looked around for an alternative.

Our travel agent suggested Rendezvous and the TA reviews seemed good, so we elected to try it for our 2013 winter sun holiday.

Compared to the five minute drive from the airport for La Source, anywhere was bound to suffer by comparison. We didn't fancy the idea of a 90 minute transfer across St Lucia, so we went for the helicopter transfer option. Glad we did - spectacular views and only 12 minutes between airports and a five minute cab ride to the Rendezvous.

We had the basic Garden Room, which was perfectly fine - well decorated, spacious and with a very comfortable bed.

Meals were of a universally high quality, but the reliance on buffets started to pall very quickly - same old choke points at the same meal times, which a little ergonomic planning could have avoided. The Trysting Place is a welcome relief from this where you order from a menu and are waited on at table - top tip... book as many evenings as you can when arrive, because demand exceeds supply.

There is a choice of 3 house white wines and 3 house reds all of which are very acceptable, with an impressive selection of other wines available at extra cost.

A fine range of other free drinks - although no single malt Scotch, and only lager on the beer front.

Sports and activities were a disappointment - the presence of an item on the daily activity list seems only a vague indication that it may occur, with none of the expert recruitment of participants from sun loungers which the La Source staff excelled at. As a result lots of adverised activities just never happened. Given our enthusiasm for yoga, it wsas unfortunate the regular yoga instructor was on holiday when we were there. Her replacement the gym instructor clearly knew less trhan we did, so we abandoned yoga after only one session.

Evening entertainments were fun but disorganised - the Motown Night kicked off with three non-Tamla slow numbers, one of which was Country!! Seemed to miss the basic point that with an older clientele who are jet-lagged and full of food and wine, if you don't get 'em up and dancing early, you're never going to.

Scuba - a very good dive shop with expert dive masters who rekindled my enthusiasm for the sport. The downside was a dive schedule that was difficult to understand, and featured dives at improbable times like 8.15am!

The spa is small but very good. My partner and I had quite a few treatments, of which only the manicure was below par.

Rendezvous is clearly a successful package with a loyal clientele, if the regulars who made up the majority of the guests when we were there were typical. However to the new guest it can seem a little complacent with a customer service ethic that could use a little polish and energy.

For this, and the reasons above, we'll probably continue our search for our new regular winter sun venue elsewhere next year. Shame - we so wanted to love Rendezvous.

Room Tip: The basic Garden Rooms are fine - no need to upgrade
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Banker_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My new wife and I went to St. Lucia to get married and elected to stay at the Rendezvous because we wanted a less 'commercialized' location. We were there from January 27-Feb 4, 2013. The whole trip was fantastic, but here are some of the highlights we experienced!

First of all, we highly recommend the helicopter transport to the resort from the south airport, especially if you arrive during the day. Yes it's a little pricey, but the trip was only 10 minutes (versus 1 hr 15 min by car). We literally landed in St. Lucia, and were checked into Rendezvous half an hour later. Plus the helicopter provided a stunning view of the island!

We stayed in the Luxury Beachfront Room, and it was amazing. Part of the original hotel, it has the charm and characteristics of the original property, but has been updated with the modern amenities. Large four-post bed with chaise lounge, dressers, closet, mini fridge. Spacious bathroom with separate vanity. Private balcony with great ocean view!

We felt absolutely spoiled by the Rendezvous staff, especially Sandra the wedding planner. The services and extra features provided to wedding couples are extraordinary and definitely made our wedding week memorable and special. For those who ARE looking to get married in St. Lucia, you can't go wrong doing it at the Rendezvous! Sandra worked very closely with us to make sure we had the exact type of wedding we wanted. All the other staff made it a point to really treat us like family and we felt that way - we got to know many on a first name basis, whether it was from a trip into Castries (thanks again Clavi!), or our amazing massage therapists (Melinda), it was all about making sure that our stay was fabulous. The only slightly negative experience we had with the staff was upon our departure proceedings. The people in the reception room could have been more happy?... in order to make our farewell less depressing.

The food was exceptional. The main restaurant on the terrace is all buffet style. Breakfast is served from 7:30-10:30, lunch from 12:30-2:30, tea time from 4:30-6:00, and dinner from 7:30-9:30. There was always a wide variety of food to accomodate palates and eating preferences of all kinds. The only downside that between those times there wasn't much in the way of 'snack' food. It would have been nice to have fruits and snacks available 24/7 since it IS an all-inclusive resort.

Activities were top-notch. We left with about 5 new hobbies to explore! Tennis, archery, beach volleyball, sailing, and poker. What was great that while the staff were always encouraging of the guests to participate, it never felt forced. The instructional quality was also superb. We didn't participate in it, but the resort has free scuba diving and offers the certification needed. Since this is typically an extra cost at most places, it certainly is a perk!

With the resort being smaller than some of the others on the island, we never had ANY issues with getting chairs on the beach or by the pool. It didn't feel overly crowded or that the guests were packed in like sardines. Some of the other reviews state that beach access is difficult and that the resort feels 'run down,' but we strongly disagree. The beach is indeed public but there was never an issue with space or being "overrun" by locals.

In summary, we met a couple there who were also married there 25 years ago the same week we were who had returned, and we met countless couples who had stayed at various resorts on St Lucia until finding Rendezvous and they have only stayed there since - some have returned faithfully for 13+ years in a row! We met another couple from London and a friendship quickly blossomed and we were honored to have them stand up for us as witnesses of our wedding.

Yes, the resort attendees are about 2/3 English and 1/3 Americans...we found ourselves saying "bloody" this and "bloody" that a LOT after we returned! :) We had an extraordinary wedding/honeymoon/vacation, and we already have our dates picked out to return to Rendezvous next year for our one-year anniversary!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

One week in a hotel is not easy but staff were great, meals very good,service very good ,ovalue for money good bit hecksie with prices in the bar an lounge area but a good stay.In all hotel the hotel facilities were great .recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Higher is good an may have less noise with great view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The reviews give a clear idea of what to expect at Rendezvous and so everything seemed familiar to me when we arrived. We were in the seaside suites-the only ones available when we booked and would not have been my first choice however they turned out to be really perfect for us and I would book them again- few steps from the seaside pool, which is where we generally chose to spend most of our time - so convenient and beyond that a few steps more to the beach. We felt very safe there.
The room was well equipped, clean and spacious. Plenty of drawers and hanging space;comfortable bed; good Ren toiletries;powerful shower and heardrier; tea and coffee facilities - not sumptuous but perfectly OK ..very good even.
Really enjoyed the holiday- so relaxing that we neglected to do all the things we had planned before getting here. We had been to St lucia twice before but stayed at The body Holiday then. It was our first time at Rendezvous ,most people we spoke to were returners and I can see why.We'd been around the island and taken the tours on our previous holidays. This time our activities consisted only of walks along the beautiful beach(about two miles) every morning, swimming in the pool and the sea, and dancing in the evening. But there were plenty of activities arranged if you felt so inclined
We would certainly recommend Rendezvous but there were things that would have improved things for us. We like shade, being fair skinned and although there were plenty of sunbeds on the beach only some of them had shades ,these were booked quite early say by 8.30am. Can't understand why they couldn't provde every couple of sunbeds with shades as this would have stopped the sunbed booking and we could have all relaxed even more. Some were under palm trees but that doesn't provide adequate shade for us.

I would also have preferred if it had been waiter service in the main restaurant in the evening.We went to the Trysting place three times and the food was very good there but the restaurant is a bit dated and enclosed. We prefer to dine outside in the Caribbean and do like to eat from a menu rather than buffet. Buffet was mostly very good though and the desserts were wonderful- had to try a few each day!
If those two things were remedied I would say I'd be returning again and again but for now I will continue trying to find my perfect place in the Caribbean. Who knows I may be back some day It is one of favourite places so far.

Room Tip: Seaside suites are on the less windy side of the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marsupites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had a great time, again, and the staff went out of their way to make our New Year stay just the best. The New Year's eve entertainments were brilliant. I don't normally like cabaret, but this was captivating, with a local dance troupe doing amazing numbers.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room, sitting on the balcony with a view over the gardens - you feel you're in paradise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IvanTriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews