We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times with great people!”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Travelled at the start of February 2013 - flying with BA from Gatwick. Transfer by road took about 1 hour with a short break en-route to take some photos (great driver!).
Arrival at the resort was fine - bags taken to our rooms whilst we checked in down at the reception. Little disappointed with the initial check-in - thought that the drink and welcome should have been ready - and we had to wait around for a while - not a good first impression. However after that all went well- taken to our Garden Room which was excellent - great views of the garden and beach and well presented. Possibly one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in! There is no minibar - however we often took drinks back to the room with us - such as a caraf which we placed in the fridge.
The orientation around the hotel was good - however I would suggest a map in the rooms info would have been useful for new arrivals.
Food - Buffet was good for breakfast and lunch - staff very friendly and always wanting to help. I can only remember once having to wait for a table. Quality of the food was good - always hot - one of the best buffets we have had. We ate at the 'Trysting' three times during our stay and every meal was superb. The staffs attention was great- they even arranged us to eat with friends although we had booked separately. You can order from a good wine list in the Trysting -and we did - however the house wines were more than acceptable. The Chilean Sauvingon Blanc was excellent.
Entertainment was good on most nights, the beach party included the staff doing limbo and fire eating. Again the food - barbecue was excellent. Guests are encouraged to take part in limbo dancing for fun and prizes!
Other acts included local bands singing reggae, mowtown etc.. all decent.
The Champagne bar was a favourite - nice place to meet and talk to other guests prior to dinner and a nice place to finish the evening. Friday nights in particular are good - when the real champagne is poured!
The entertainment teams work hard - providing various games throughout the day. It may be worth them considering organising some garden tours - one we did in Jamaica 'Couples' was great and their would be an opportunity for the gardeners to 'show off' their knowledge and skills. Perhaps some cooking demos as well - this may cater for the less energetic guests? The walking and cycling tours are well worth doing -( thanks Deano and Clavey).
One point for me was that being a swimmer - none of the pools are suitable for doing lengths - they are all for sitting or splashing around in rather than for exercising. (The lazy river is a lovely place to sunbathe and relax with privacy - thanks to Trevor for eeping us supplied with cooling driks). It was a shame that we did not have enough guests for volleyball each day!
Trip wise - make sure you do the snorkelling on Wednesday down at the Pitons. There is a charge for the trip - but its well worth it - possibly some of the best snorkelling we have done anywhere in the world. The other guests who went diving were also full of praise for the Dive school.
The watersports are excellent - we had really good tuitionon the sailing - thanks Shane - and never had to wait for a hobbie cat.
We did the rainforest trip and its good for scenery - however not for photographing animals - disappointed - on got one hummingbird.
The Spa is worth a mention - its excellent and well worth a visit.
The beach was fine and no problems with the locals. yes we did see horses - but they did not cause any issues It was actually a highlight watching the locals play cricket and football on the beach.
We has a couple of minor issues - which were addressed very quickly and professionally by the management - well done!
Overall one of the best hotels I have ever been to - its not too large or impersonal, the staff are genuine and really want to ensure you enjoy yourself. Its excellent for meeting and making new friends and I can understand why couples go back year after year.
What could be improved - another restaraunt might be good to offer a further choice - I understand this is being considered? Also a swimmers pool would be good.
I recommend the hotelas a great holiday! More than happy to answer any questions.

Room Tip: Graden rooms are great and more than adequate. Many guests liked the veranda rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Durham_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,363 - 1,367 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

Our long term preferred all-inclusive resort was La Source on Grenada. When this closed in late 2012, we perforce looked around for an alternative.

Our travel agent suggested Rendezvous and the TA reviews seemed good, so we elected to try it for our 2013 winter sun holiday.

Compared to the five minute drive from the airport for La Source, anywhere was bound to suffer by comparison. We didn't fancy the idea of a 90 minute transfer across St Lucia, so we went for the helicopter transfer option. Glad we did - spectacular views and only 12 minutes between airports and a five minute cab ride to the Rendezvous.

We had the basic Garden Room, which was perfectly fine - well decorated, spacious and with a very comfortable bed.

Meals were of a universally high quality, but the reliance on buffets started to pall very quickly - same old choke points at the same meal times, which a little ergonomic planning could have avoided. The Trysting Place is a welcome relief from this where you order from a menu and are waited on at table - top tip... book as many evenings as you can when arrive, because demand exceeds supply.

There is a choice of 3 house white wines and 3 house reds all of which are very acceptable, with an impressive selection of other wines available at extra cost.

A fine range of other free drinks - although no single malt Scotch, and only lager on the beer front.

Sports and activities were a disappointment - the presence of an item on the daily activity list seems only a vague indication that it may occur, with none of the expert recruitment of participants from sun loungers which the La Source staff excelled at. As a result lots of adverised activities just never happened. Given our enthusiasm for yoga, it wsas unfortunate the regular yoga instructor was on holiday when we were there. Her replacement the gym instructor clearly knew less trhan we did, so we abandoned yoga after only one session.

Evening entertainments were fun but disorganised - the Motown Night kicked off with three non-Tamla slow numbers, one of which was Country!! Seemed to miss the basic point that with an older clientele who are jet-lagged and full of food and wine, if you don't get 'em up and dancing early, you're never going to.

Scuba - a very good dive shop with expert dive masters who rekindled my enthusiasm for the sport. The downside was a dive schedule that was difficult to understand, and featured dives at improbable times like 8.15am!

The spa is small but very good. My partner and I had quite a few treatments, of which only the manicure was below par.

Rendezvous is clearly a successful package with a loyal clientele, if the regulars who made up the majority of the guests when we were there were typical. However to the new guest it can seem a little complacent with a customer service ethic that could use a little polish and energy.

For this, and the reasons above, we'll probably continue our search for our new regular winter sun venue elsewhere next year. Shame - we so wanted to love Rendezvous.

Room Tip: The basic Garden Rooms are fine - no need to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Banker_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My new wife and I went to St. Lucia to get married and elected to stay at the Rendezvous because we wanted a less 'commercialized' location. We were there from January 27-Feb 4, 2013. The whole trip was fantastic, but here are some of the highlights we experienced!

First of all, we highly recommend the helicopter transport to the resort from the south airport, especially if you arrive during the day. Yes it's a little pricey, but the trip was only 10 minutes (versus 1 hr 15 min by car). We literally landed in St. Lucia, and were checked into Rendezvous half an hour later. Plus the helicopter provided a stunning view of the island!

We stayed in the Luxury Beachfront Room, and it was amazing. Part of the original hotel, it has the charm and characteristics of the original property, but has been updated with the modern amenities. Large four-post bed with chaise lounge, dressers, closet, mini fridge. Spacious bathroom with separate vanity. Private balcony with great ocean view!

We felt absolutely spoiled by the Rendezvous staff, especially Sandra the wedding planner. The services and extra features provided to wedding couples are extraordinary and definitely made our wedding week memorable and special. For those who ARE looking to get married in St. Lucia, you can't go wrong doing it at the Rendezvous! Sandra worked very closely with us to make sure we had the exact type of wedding we wanted. All the other staff made it a point to really treat us like family and we felt that way - we got to know many on a first name basis, whether it was from a trip into Castries (thanks again Clavi!), or our amazing massage therapists (Melinda), it was all about making sure that our stay was fabulous. The only slightly negative experience we had with the staff was upon our departure proceedings. The people in the reception room could have been more happy?... in order to make our farewell less depressing.

The food was exceptional. The main restaurant on the terrace is all buffet style. Breakfast is served from 7:30-10:30, lunch from 12:30-2:30, tea time from 4:30-6:00, and dinner from 7:30-9:30. There was always a wide variety of food to accomodate palates and eating preferences of all kinds. The only downside that between those times there wasn't much in the way of 'snack' food. It would have been nice to have fruits and snacks available 24/7 since it IS an all-inclusive resort.

Activities were top-notch. We left with about 5 new hobbies to explore! Tennis, archery, beach volleyball, sailing, and poker. What was great that while the staff were always encouraging of the guests to participate, it never felt forced. The instructional quality was also superb. We didn't participate in it, but the resort has free scuba diving and offers the certification needed. Since this is typically an extra cost at most places, it certainly is a perk!

With the resort being smaller than some of the others on the island, we never had ANY issues with getting chairs on the beach or by the pool. It didn't feel overly crowded or that the guests were packed in like sardines. Some of the other reviews state that beach access is difficult and that the resort feels 'run down,' but we strongly disagree. The beach is indeed public but there was never an issue with space or being "overrun" by locals.

In summary, we met a couple there who were also married there 25 years ago the same week we were who had returned, and we met countless couples who had stayed at various resorts on St Lucia until finding Rendezvous and they have only stayed there since - some have returned faithfully for 13+ years in a row! We met another couple from London and a friendship quickly blossomed and we were honored to have them stand up for us as witnesses of our wedding.

Yes, the resort attendees are about 2/3 English and 1/3 Americans...we found ourselves saying "bloody" this and "bloody" that a LOT after we returned! :) We had an extraordinary wedding/honeymoon/vacation, and we already have our dates picked out to return to Rendezvous next year for our one-year anniversary!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

One week in a hotel is not easy but staff were great, meals very good,service very good ,ovalue for money good bit hecksie with prices in the bar an lounge area but a good stay.In all hotel the hotel facilities were great .recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Higher is good an may have less noise with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The reviews give a clear idea of what to expect at Rendezvous and so everything seemed familiar to me when we arrived. We were in the seaside suites-the only ones available when we booked and would not have been my first choice however they turned out to be really perfect for us and I would book them again- few steps from the seaside pool, which is where we generally chose to spend most of our time - so convenient and beyond that a few steps more to the beach. We felt very safe there.
The room was well equipped, clean and spacious. Plenty of drawers and hanging space;comfortable bed; good Ren toiletries;powerful shower and heardrier; tea and coffee facilities - not sumptuous but perfectly OK ..very good even.
Really enjoyed the holiday- so relaxing that we neglected to do all the things we had planned before getting here. We had been to St lucia twice before but stayed at The body Holiday then. It was our first time at Rendezvous ,most people we spoke to were returners and I can see why.We'd been around the island and taken the tours on our previous holidays. This time our activities consisted only of walks along the beautiful beach(about two miles) every morning, swimming in the pool and the sea, and dancing in the evening. But there were plenty of activities arranged if you felt so inclined
We would certainly recommend Rendezvous but there were things that would have improved things for us. We like shade, being fair skinned and although there were plenty of sunbeds on the beach only some of them had shades ,these were booked quite early say by 8.30am. Can't understand why they couldn't provde every couple of sunbeds with shades as this would have stopped the sunbed booking and we could have all relaxed even more. Some were under palm trees but that doesn't provide adequate shade for us.

I would also have preferred if it had been waiter service in the main restaurant in the evening.We went to the Trysting place three times and the food was very good there but the restaurant is a bit dated and enclosed. We prefer to dine outside in the Caribbean and do like to eat from a menu rather than buffet. Buffet was mostly very good though and the desserts were wonderful- had to try a few each day!
If those two things were remedied I would say I'd be returning again and again but for now I will continue trying to find my perfect place in the Caribbean. Who knows I may be back some day It is one of favourite places so far.

Room Tip: Seaside suites are on the less windy side of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marsupites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
20.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
4.0 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.2 km away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.6 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
864 reviews
3.5 km away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range: RM1,983 - RM4,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing