We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking!”

Sandy's Waterfront Bar
Ranked #18 of 97 Restaurants in Marigot
Description: Local Caribbean Food. Existing over 35 years. Family owed restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Local Caribbean Food. Existing over 35 years. Family owed restaurant.
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Terrible slow service. Amount of food very poor and the items are so overpriced. Make sure to say you want your change otherwise they will take it as a tip.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LolitaCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyacteole, Owner at Sandy's Waterfront Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

We apologise for you bad experience at Sandys.
We strive every day to offer our customers quality service. Our working conditions are very limited after Hurricane Irma this has indeed set us back some what. But we're still here trying every day to improve .
In terms of our prices.. We are not pricy at all our meat starts at €11 and seafood € 13 with an exchange rate of 1.15 depending on the day.
We do not keep a customers change as a tip!! We are honest people...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

We were shocked when we got the bill for our food, the prices were not on the menu. My husband loved his dish, but the rest of us just thought ours were okay. The people were very nice. We do eat gluten free, so maybe we would have been more comfortable experimenting with other foods had we not had to be concerned with that. We ate here while on an excursion on a cruise ship.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyacteole, Owner at Sandy's Waterfront Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

All our prices are listed on the menu.
The only prices that are not listed are our daily specials.
Our specials normally consist of a shrimps mania which is €20 or our seafood grill ( lobster, fish. shrimps at €28 our prices are in € as we are located on the French Side of the island.
We use the daily exchange rate..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Located on the French side of the island and a short taxi drive from port, well worth the trip! Food was served hot, lots of flavor and located near the water. The hostess was on point with all of the customers though it was very busy. Locals, cruise guests, families and college students; everyone seemed to enjoy their meal!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigRing0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our tour guide recommended Sandy's and it was a great suggestion.

The six of us all enjoyed our meals. Very tasty, freshly prepared seafood. It's not inexpensive, but is quality food.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We received our meals in good time, but if you wanted another drink, you had to attract their attention. A pleasant place to sit and enjoy the activity surrounding this busy location.

There is a large market behind the restaurant, which is convenient if some like to shop for souvenirs while others prefer to enjoy another cold beverage. (The rum punch was wonderful!)

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Average food and slow service. Nothing special here. The coconut shrimp was lacking flavor, the creole shrimp was well short of New Orleans, and the drink service requires hand raising to get attention.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandy's Waterfront Bar also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Sandy's Waterfront Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing