We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunshine Suites Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$156
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$659
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
US$639
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$659
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,901)
Filter reviews
1,901 results
Traveller rating
1,165
562
123
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,165
562
123
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillacross the streetbeach chairsfish tacosyogurtgrand caymanwestin hotelhard boiled eggscontinental breakfastliquor storesmall kitchensister propertystove topminute walkfull size fridgeon site restaurantone bedroom suite
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,901 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No, it's not ocean front, but it's close, with all the amenities of the Westin without the high cost of the Westin. The grounds were as good or better than the Westin, the grass was like a golf green, the Sunshine Grill is one of the best places to eat on the entire island. The beach at the Westin is the best, chairs, umbrellas, towels, all included, the water is the clearest water in the ocean. The free breakfast helped with the expenses and lowered the price for food on the island. The scuba diving and snorkeling on the island is as good as it gets, contact Stingray Watersports for the best experience and prices on water activities, tell Duncan that Mike sent you. The staff at the Sunshine Suites were very nice, friendly, courteous, and professional. There's plenty of parking for your rental car and the location is right in the middle of Seven Mile Beach. I will be back.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better, no elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeH-at-LakeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for letting us know you would love to return and explore more at the Sunshine Suites Resort. We’re thrilled to see you had such an exciting stay, full of exploration and fun, in part thanks to the value we offer. We know that the chefs at Sunshine Grill will be happy to learn about your high praise and all of us look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Grand Cayman is an expensive place. The action runs along 7 mile beach, as a result prices at hotels on 7 mile can be a bit shocking.

I stayed at the Sunshine Suites for a week for under $200 a night. It was clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable the room large and well equipped. It had a full kitchen and while I did not cook it was a nice touch.

Continental breakfast was included. It was mediocre but adequate. There is fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt and fruit, hard boiled eggs and a waffle station. Pineapple juice, orange juice, coffee tea and water are also included.

Food on the island is expensive so a free breakfast is a good thing.

Facilities: They have nice small pool which did not get a lot of use while I was there.
Perhaps this is because there tables for the restaurant (the "Sunshine Grill") are at pool side.

The Sunshine Grill is a nice spot. It is little more that a screened building about a third of which is a bar. There are tables inside as well as poolside. It has a good island vibe and the food is tasty and modestly priced.

The hotel is affiliated with the Westin which is across the street. If you stay at the Sunshine Suites you have full guest privileges at the Westin. The Westin has one of the best beaches on 7 mile beach. The beach is world class you can claim a beach chair or book a cool shelter to spend the day swimming, kyaking, sailing etc. Every thing you need for an island holiday can be booked at the Westin.

A note, I got a headache while I was there and learned that hotels cannot or do not stock aspirin or any other form of medication. Make sure you bring some along.

The staff at both venues are friendly and helpful. I think it is the best value on 7 mile.

Room Tip: the buildings are three story with out elevators. If you have trouble with stairs get a main floor room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bloggster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Visiting the Cayman islands, enjoying some sun and waves, shouldn’t be something reserved only for the select few, which is why we are overjoyed that you considered us to be the best value in the area. From our breakfast to our renowned Sunshine Grill, we’re happy our dining options fueled you for your exciting days filled with swimming and kayaking, on the Seven-Mile Beach. The team at Sunshine Suites Resort would like to thank you for your warm praise and looks forward to welcoming you back once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our time at the sunshine suites. The free breakfast is nothing to write home about but it did the job. The location is awesome. Super easy to use as a base camp. We utilized our access to the Westin’s gym and beach every single day. I would suggest grabbing your towels and putting them on chair every morning around 7 to hold your spot for the day. The Sunshine rooms are great and allow you to make simple meals. Having the grill right next to the pool has handy. Happy hour is good and the tacos are even better.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Spencer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Whether it’s a cozy room to call home for a bit, or a kitchen to prep some light meals while you’re here, we’re excited you chose the value and amenities at the Sunshine Suites Resort. We’re happy to know you enjoyed your time here and would be glad to welcome you back in the near future, Spencer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the Westin many times and the Marriot as well. We visit Grand Cayman a few times a year and on this trip we finally decided to give Sunshine Suites a try. You benefit from being able to use the Westin’s beach, chairs, towels, etc....and you can even bill to your sunshine suites room through the Westin if you decide to purchase food/drinks. Sunshine suites sits at a more affordable price point than the others and it’s only a 5 minute walk across the street (or less) over to the BEST stretch of SMB ever. The rooms are a cozy bungalow style and you get a nice small kitchen to store, heat and eat all of your delicious left overs! (And any booze you want to buy and keep cold). It’s also super easy to hop onto a public bus right at the front of the property. The restaurant here has good food. -Not amazing, but good! Only downsides I can think of: No concierge. You have to make reservations to your favorite eateries/ entertainment on your own. We attempted to have the Westin concierge do it for us, and she did after some arm twisting...she did turn her nose up at us a bit knowing we were a Sunshine Suites guest. My husband and I had a good laugh at that experience afterwards. We have spent so much $$$ at the Westin over the years...she could never know! LOL...that’s the Westin for you.) Anyway, to make things a bit more complicated, our phone was inoperable in our room. So that was a tad inconvenient. -Especially with no concierge. The bathrooms are VERY tiny but functional (we were in the 1 bed suite with kitchen). When I say tiny bathrooms, I mean...you have to move your knees to the side when on the toilet to close the bathroom door. This, however, really wasn’t a big issue for us. We are pretty uncomplicated travelers. Anyway, everyone here at sunshine suites seemed very nice. That’s Caymankind for you though. The grounds are beautifully kept.

You will enjoy this place if you are the easy going, uncomplicated, laid back traveler. If you need the fancy ambiance, modern lobby, or just need to brag to friends about how fancy you are...spend the extra $$$ and stay at the Ritz, Marriot, or Westin. Having stayed at all of these, (except the Ritz...I just can’t!!!) I can appreciate them for what they are. I think you will be pleasantly surprised at how at home you will feel at the Sunshine Suites.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CaymanNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Knowing you only focused on having a fun and relaxing vacation thanks to the value we offer, is such a delight for us to see. We understand that not everything exceeded your expectations and appreciate your patience as we take every note to use as a learning opportunity. We hope your experience has made the Sunshine Suites Resort your staple for your return visit to the island, and look forward to making you feel comfortable and at home once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The Sunshine Suites was the BEST vacation spot we have visited so far!! The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the staff a very accommodating and friendly. The beautiful 7-mile beach at their sister resort is walking distance away, however they do provide transportation if needed. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We will for sure be making several visits back to the Sunshine suites. Thank you Sunshine Suites for providing us with one of the BEST vacations we have taken so far!! I highly recommend the Sunshine Suites, I promise you will NOT be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jhilgert2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

While we know the beauty of the island we stand on serves as its own invite, it’s incredibly exciting to see a guest feel so thrilled after visiting our property in particular. Your recommendation makes us glow and we know with every trip you will feel more like part of the family here. We’re ecstatic you are looking forward to returning to Sunshine Suites Resort and cannot wait to greet you time and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews