We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Llyn Retreats

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Perfect Retreat! Your perfect 'Escape to the Country' beside the sea!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Your Perfect Retreat!
Your perfect 'Escape to the Country' beside the sea!
New fitted kitchen
Clean and fresh shower room
sunny dining room overlooking the private garden
Peaceful and tranquil decor
Stacks of logs and coal for your stay
Great pubs closeby if you dont fancy eating in
Regularly updated with new mattresses and bed linen and pillows
Plenty of books, magazines and games
Private garden with chimnea and garden furniture
Private and enclosed garden to relax in
Enclosed and private garden
Situated on a private 5 acre smallholding close to the beach
Llyn Peninsula - great pubs, plenty of activities and peace and quiet
Beautiful beaches on your doorstep
Stunning location
Perfect walks with views like this await you.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberdaron, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy T
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful welcome at a lovely cottage. Clean and safe beaches nearby. Cottage well equipped, clean and cosy. Nice sized garden to play in with space for a 15 year old and 12 year old to run around. Comfy outside seating area with sun well into the evening. Steph and Terry were very helpful with any queries and full of local information. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and so pleased you have already booked again for next year. Always great to know repeat bookings really do mean satisfied guests. See you next year! Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S
Peel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't wish for better”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted with homemade chocolate cake and a lovely bottle of wine. This lovely whitewashed cottage is situated on the Lleyn peninsula in North Wales. The countryside is beautiful. A twenty minute amble along quiet country lanes lined with wild flowers, takes you to Penlech beach, a huge expanse of white sand and stunning rock formations. Although rural, the cottage is not isolated. Steph and Terry, the proprietors are nearby, never intrusive but warm friendly and on hand if you need any help with anything. The cottage is really clean and well equipped., with a washing machine, microwave, electric hob and oven, and a fridge. There is also a large tv with lots of channels, central heating and a very cosy wood burner in the lovely spacious sitting room. Everything looks fresh and new.There is a large double bedroom and a smaller twin bedroom. There are great pubs and restaurants in the area, but not within walking distance, the closest being 10 + minutes away by car. I can recommend the fish and chips in Aberdaron...the best ever, we sat and ate them by the beach whilst watching a school of porpoises entertaining us. Pwhelli is the nearest town and is 20+ minutes away by car. It has several supermarkets, a Wednesday market and many smaller shops, cafes and a swimming pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly, but not intrusive proprietors.
Liked least: There wasn't anything I didn't like.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We agree Aberdaron is a fabulous place and the fish n chips are a highlight of our treats too! Wales' version of Lands End! How lucky to see the porpoises - i know they are also regular visitors to Aberdaron & we have glimpsed on occasion. You were so lucky with the weather again... long warm sunny days and we loved having you to stay! Its lovely when people arrive as guests (4 years ago) and leave as friends.... one of our favourite regulars!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike k
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Searched for a cottage to get away from the noise of Manchester for a few days, and after reading the other reviews decided to book this one. From our arrival to departure the sun shone and the birds sung and not another noise could be heard, and Steph and Terry could not have been nicer, friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The cottage is bigger than it looks has everything you need to enjoy your stay and is very clean and comfortable.
If you want to relax and get away from it all this is the place to stay, surrounded by beautiful countryside and minutes away from the coast, don't miss Aberdaron.
Steph and Terry aren't your only hosts as Tom's head will pop up at the lounge window to say hello and Daisy will sit patiently below waiting to say hello, two lovely dogs.
We will be back as soon as possible as this was the perfect home from home in the country with perfect hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hosts, comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. It means so much to us. Looking forward to seeing you both again as soon as you are able. Best regards from us both and love from Tom & Daisy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic getaway”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a real hidden gem of a holiday cottage. We originally booked when looking for dog friendly accommodation near to Snowdonia, receiving quick booking information from Steph who was very helpful from the start.
The Coach house is so quaint and homely, warm and cosy. All amenities and utilities were provided and we were also welcomed with fresh flowers and a yummy homemade Victoria sponge cake! We had a few problems with the TV, which Steph helped with promptly.
In a wonderfully remote location, about a mile away from the most beautiful beach. Also near to some lovely little villages Aberdaron and Abersoch. This is perfect for dog owners, people who like the outdoors, or anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.
Snowdon is about an hours drive away.
I only wish that we had stayed longer and will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
What wonderful comments - thank you! It makes all our efforts worthwhile when we can see how much they are appreciated. Look forward to seeing you all again next year. With thanks Steph & Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen s
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings, not to be missed!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on the Friday and was greeted by Steph, who couldn't have been more welcoming to us. We found the cottage to be clean, cosy and warm upon arrival. The views were lovely and the cottage itself was stunning. This was our first time away and would definitely recommend to others. Steph and Terry were lovely hosts and gave us ideas on where to go for days out, nothing was too much trouble. I'm sure we will be back again. Overall a fantastic place to go for a mini break for some peace and relaxation. 10/10. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy fire and the decor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was so nice to meet you and welcome you to stay. We do hope we see you again sometime later in the year, perhaps? Really appreciate your kind words. Thank you Steph & Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing