We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OMG! Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I cannot begin to explain how amazing the Golden Rock experience is! From Sarah Anne, who greeted us, gave us a tour and checked us in, to Pam, the GM, to the wonderful ladies who cleaned our rooms (and left fruit and chocolate goodies!), to the amazing men who work tirelessly on the IMMACULATE landscaping; this place is heavenly! Every step on the grounds is a joy; amazing plants and flowers, monkeys goofing off; a donkey braying nearby, and lovely songbirds who join you for breakfast. The spring fed pool was such a treat (no chlorine!) and the hiking trails are terrific! Now let's talk food... sorry, my mouth is salivating, thank goodness I can type! The food is AMAZING! Breakfast was such a wonderful way to start each day, with fresh squeezed OJ and fresh fruit provided beforehand; and do try the Bellini's! Dinners were 5 star as well! The service is incredible, they will arrange any type of trip you'd like & they have snorkeling gear available free for your use! We asked for a guide to hike Mt. Nevis and they called Iggy Ottley, a young man with a whole lot of local information, from flora and fauna to wildlife!
The "rooms" are actually cottages; ours was on the edge of the compound (we shared a "double" cottage with friends) and it was truly like a home away from home. We LOVED being nestled in the rainforest under Mt. Nevis, it was truly a dream come true!

Room Tip: You cannot get a bad cottage at Golden Rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
61
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I loved everything about Golden Rock! I have been to many islands in the Caribbean and I must say Nevis is my favorite. No crowded beaches,very friendly people,beautiful rainforests and fresh seafood everywhere! The Rock made such an impression on me and I will return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

we went to the Goldenrock for just 2 nights this year, but had been there before in 2010. The place is just magic. If you are looking for a tranquille get-away without TV or internet, great cuisine, a fantastic flora/fauna garden, friendly and accomodating staff, and a spectacular view - all for a resonable price, this is the right place. The rooms don't have air, but come with a fan (and friendly monkeys outside...). The menu is small but great, and the rum punch is the best. The place changes ownership later this year (after the current owner/manager retires after 40 years) and they are already doing some landscaping changes to the place - it's hard to imagine that the overall experience can be even better. Hopefully it won't be worse!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yardley pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Golden Rock is nestled into the hills of Nevis, and provides something wonderful for every sense. The colors, the sounds, the smells, and the texture allowed me to relax and enjoy nature in a way I rarely have a chance to do. The food was better than the Four Seasons, and delivered with grace by very friendly Nevisians.

It's a great value too!

I will definitely be back, and for my entire stay. We explored the nature trails right from our room, and the pool was a wonderful reward. The owners have done a wonderful job of merging the history of the Sugar Mill with modern amenities. I enjoyed the local furniture in the room, and the organic feeling of the whole property. It felt like home even though we only had a few days there.

It's the kind of place I will visit again and again, and know I will always find something new. Walking the property is like wandering in a wild botanical garden. At night, the lighting is incredibly romantic and peaceful.

Thank you Pam, and Sarah Anne, and Steven, and Julie, and Joy, and Clydella, and Alexandra, and all the others for making sure our days were very special!

Tracy from Yardley PA

Room Tip: The room in Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

My husband and I visited Golden Rock several times during our stay on Nevis. We visited the Sugar Mill suite, which was quite fabulous. The newly renovated landscape is amazing. There are new terraces, waterfalls, buildings and plantings all giving the facility a more modern feel. Pam Barry was on site when we visited and was extremely charming and engaging to speak with. She is passionate about the Inn and it shows. The new restaurant is very good and has a wide array of choices. Do not miss at least visiting and dining at Golden Rock on your visit to Nevis

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
5.7 km away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
8.4 km away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#3 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
32.4 km away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
7.8 km away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.7 km away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in New Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Property: Golden Rock Inn
Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price range (per night): RM1,129 - RM2,080
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis/Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing