We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely place to stay!”
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2017

'We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and wanted something reflective of our honeymoon where we stayed at another sugar mill on another island. First of all, the grounds are unbelievable! Next, the staff is VERY attentive. Third, we felt as though we were the only guests and had the entire resort to ourselves. Not true - but we often felt that way. We loved the breakfasts and dinners (we dined here most nights due to the options/quality/attentive service). The GM's Genevieve and Roger were excellent hosts as well. We could not have asked for a better place and experience.
's

Room Tip: I believe almost all have a great view of the ocean while enjoying the hillside/windward breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

We heard a couple talking about this restaurant and decided to give it a go for dinner. Oh my goodness. Golden Rock is a former sugar plantation on the side of the volcano. So much of what remains was hand-carved in the late 1700's. The gardens surrounding the place are beautiful, the setting is simply indescribable, the food is fantastic (the best we had on Nevis), it is reasonably priced (as are the drinks), and the people are fantastic as they are across the island. This place is a "don't miss".

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lawilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We had lunch at the Rocks and walked the grounds. What a beautiful location! I could not get over the vast amounts of plants I've never seen before. Also, the setting is well off the road up the side of a mountain so the views an stunning. This place has a very magical feel to it.

I had the lobster sandwich for lunch and it was great. Large chucks of lobster and the homemade bread is light as air. The service was attentive and perceptive. We really had a great visit.

Although we just came up for lunch we've said that if we come back to Nevis we would love to stay here. It has a very special feel to it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Very special sanctuary in Nevis where you can soak up the natural beauty, the gentle architecture that absorbs both history and functionality, and enjoy great food and chill. Unwind to island pace and life, greet everyone as one no longer does in metropolitan countries... learn to be.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fourahbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Even though this is listed under resort, the dining experience is awesome even if you do not stay here. Anytime we go to Nevis, we always go to Golden Rock for dinner. It is an old plantation that has been semi-restored. They have a great garden area and several of the plantation ruins. The food is excellent and never has disappointed. Dinner is open air and what a wonder view. On a clear day you can see Montserrat too.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
3.4 km away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
6.5 km away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
204 reviews
6.9 km away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
7.9 km away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
407 reviews
2.5 km away
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
#2 of 6 in Charlestown
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range: RM 935 - RM 1,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis/Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing