We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous views from comfy hammock”
other travellers have booked this property
Palm Trees Veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Palm Trees Veranda
More views Veranda North View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Palm Trees Veranda
More views
Veranda North View
Front of house with garden
View from living room
Sunset
Paradise Beach
Sandy Island
Island of Carriacou
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carriacou Island, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jan229
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous views from comfy hammock”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The house is perfectly located with views from the verandah to Hillsborough Bay and Sandy Island in one direction and to Union Island in the other. Very quiet and peaceful but only a 10 minute drive into Hillsborough and a good restaurant 5 mins away. I think Sparrows Bay is nicer than Paradise Beach and we were usually the only people on it..
The house is well-equipped as a house that is lived in by the owner some of the year. Everything you could want is there, even down to a big plastic bottle to take to the beach to rinse you feet. And the outside shower and sink were very useful. Good internet connection. Set in a lovely garden with room to park our rental car.
Didn't want to leave and hope very much to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Dear Jan,
Thank you very much for your honest and positive review. We are glad that you found the reality lived up to the advertising, as we try to 'tell it as it is', and you obviously feel that it did! As you say, from childhood we learned that if you take a bottle of water to the beach with you to wash your feet, you can walk home from Sparrows Bay without gritty sandy shoes - so it seems natural to me to label the bottle, and leave it for our guests to enjoy the same comfort. Similarly, I leave the beach bag with a small first-aid kit in it, available for everyone. And when you get home after a swim, what could be nicer than an outside shower in the sunshine!

As to the rest of the house, we do indeed leave virtually everything, including a Crock Pot, food processor, baking tins etc all accessible to our guests, as we want them to have the best holiday experience possible at Palm Trees. We are delighted that you had a great holiday and didn't want to leave, and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Thank you again for your very complimentary review.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
Rocles
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So wonderful”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What can I say - great views in all directions, 2 minutes to the 'private' beach and such great connection with the owner it was everything and more than we could have expected. We were so chilled out it was back into last week and this didn't change throughout our 3 1/2 week stay. We'll be going back!
My wife didn't want to leave and (for once) I was totally "d'accord". The house is very simple but feels like a home-from-home.(from the other half - that's cos what it is, the owner's home!) I don't really want to be too positive in case someone else takes the plunge and falls for Carriacou. Who needs Mustique!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thank you for your honest and positive review. Palm Trees does not pretend to be what it's not, so I'm glad you found the ad tells it as it is - both a beach house, and our home-from-home, as I grew up playing on that same secluded beach. The emphasis is on simplicity with local artworks, and two veranda hammocks to aid total relaxation. The house is deliberately very open-plan to enjoy the magnificent sea views in all directions, and to take advantage of the cooling sea breezes.

I realise Carriacou is not the easiest place to get to, (but that is what makes it 'special' as there is no mass tourism) so I was happy to help by answering all your questions, and by giving lots of local tips. I hope that all helped to make a truly fantastic holiday. Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back!
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoyca
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views from every room.”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay at Palm Trees. We loved everything about it. On the day of our arrival, we were met at the ferry dock by our taxi driver Linky. He drove us to the house, and made sure we were all squared away before leaving. The property manager, Stenna, stopped in soon after to make sure we were situated-even giving us a ride to the local market for supplies. Once back at the home, it became hard for us to leave. I cannot begin to express how beautiful the view was. I found myself in a trance soaking in the amazing scenery. There were times when I looked out an open window, or the wonderful folding doors, and felt as if I were staring at a post card. The home was appointed with everything we needed during our stay, and was very cozy and comfortable. Our favorite thing was the proximity to the beach. You walk out of the gate, down the drive, take a left past the cemetery, follow the steps down, and you'll find your secluded beach. We found ourselves pretty much splitting our time either walking our stretch of private beach, or relaxing at the house soaking in the mesmerizing views. Everything about our experience staying at Palm Trees was top notch. We certainly hope to be able to return to Carriacou one day, and will more than likely plan our holiday around the availability of Palm Trees.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Thank you for the complimentary review you did after your stay at Palm Trees. I have said thank you to everyone who has written a review, but I've done it privately, and have only just learned that I should respond on here, so that others can see.
We are just back from 3 wonderful weeks at Palm Trees and only wish I could bring the hammocks, view and sunshine back with me!! The star deck has been completely rebuilt, and enlarged recently, and sadly we said goodbye to one palm tree that was just too near the house and blocking the view and the breeze. We'll be putting some new pics on the site soon, so do have a look and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palm Trees one day.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views and access to Craigston Beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morethana...
Chilterns
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional location on an island still to be discovered”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It is unusual to find such excellent accommodation for just two people (or a small family) anywhere, but especially in the Caribbean.

We have stayed on Carriacou on 21 occasions & since 1995 have always tried to stay at Palm Trees when it has been available.

When you encounter the wonderful panoramic (over 180 degrees) sea views from the wrap-around well shaded, large veranda, the three minute walk to nearest (usually quiet) beach for swimming and the home comforts provided by the owners, you will see why Palm Trees is highly recommended. The sunsets are also amazing from here.

We are reluctant to recommend this property in case it is fully booked when we want to return!

Although it does not have air conditioning, most of the windows are screened and the trade winds usually provide us with enough cooling for our comfort. There are also fans available if the breeze drops too low.

The kitchen is well-stocked with utensils, fridge/freezer, a microwave, full size oven & small counter top oven, so we are able to make all our meals here – apart from the occasional snack (usually a local roti) when in town. There are now some reasonable priced small places to eat.

This is a private and peaceful location but not too far from town and you can manage quite well with local transport – a ten minute stroll to where the shared local mini buses will stop - and maybe a taxi occasionally.
Car hire is also available if required.

Carriacou is a very friendly non-touristy island and the pace of change (fortunately for us) is comparatively slow. Nevertheless, there is still plenty to do – walking, hiking, snorkelling scuba & general exploring of the whole island (guided or otherwise).

We’ve stayed in several other places on the island but nowhere in our opinion can compare with Palm Trees.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: mosquitoes sometimes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing